We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Terlingua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Bend Casitas at Far Flung Outdoor Center
Save
You added Big Bend Casitas at Far Flung Outdoor Center to your Saves list
1 Adventure Lane, Farm Road 170, Terlingua, TX 79852   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

The casita was just as pictured on the website. Rustic decor, great location, very spacious, very comfortable after a long day of activity at the National Park. Loved the front porch and the firepit every evening, great for stargazing! Everyone we talked to who was staying there had nothing but positive comments. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
59
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gulpen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Well, when you're arriving in Terlingua it feels like you're almost at the end of world so our expectations where not so high. But what a place. Friendly people. Beautiful spacious casitas. Each offers a deck with rocking chairs and a beautiful view. Clean rooms. Airco. Satellite tv. A kitchen. There's really nothing we could think of that was lacking. Well, internet connection sometime had a small hick up for a few minutes but hey, it's a small miracle that you have internet out here.

Room Tip: Ask for casita 10, it has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound TX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Rode Big Bend on Harley's the first weekend of April 2014. The first night we stayed at the El Dorado, which was VERY basic to say the least. To say that the Casitas was an upgrade would be an understatement. Our casita was in perfect condition, as clean as your own home or better, and had plenty of amenities. Far far more comfortable. Front and rear porch, rocking chairs, fire pit, horse shoes, crisp clean landscaping and rooms that are basically brand new. The Far Flung store is on the site offering various items. This is a can's mis no-brainer. Super close to the National Park too. Also, DO NOT miss the ride on TX-170 between Terlingua and Presidio. Stunning beauty and a great ride on motorcycles. One of the best stretches in the country, imho.

Room Tip: we stayed in #2. Quiet and super clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Huge bathroom, kitchen, front porch, HD TV, nice decor, quiet -- not much else to add beyond what everyone else has said. We were fortunate to get a reservation for one night here. It was a great way to conclude our trip to southwestern Texas.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The Far Flung Casitas are exactly as advertised on their website.

We stayed in Casita #2 right off the main road for five nights over spring break. Two comfortable queen beds, a more than adequate bathroom, a kitchenette with everything we needed except maybe a stove. For whatever reason, the casitas don’t have a stove but guests are allowed to use their own stoves outside. It wasn’t really a problem for us. There were two grills, an ice machine and two picnic tables available for our use in the courtyard that our set of 4 casitas shared.

In the open space behind our set of casitas, there was a covered area with plenty of tables and chairs along with a fire pit with 12 or so comfortable chairs around it. More than a few s’mores were consumed around that fire on two different nights while we enjoyed the company of other travelers from around the state.

The back porch of our casita was an excellent place to unwind and share a glass of wine while the kids watched TV inside.

The casitas are ideally located close to the National Park, all the restaurants in Terlingua/Study Butte and the only grocery store around. The kids actually walked next door to the Mexican restaurant on an emergency taco run. They were able to roam the property, play horseshoes, etc.

We would stay at Far Flung Casitas again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

There is no better place to stay while visiting Big Bend National Park than Big Bend Casitas. The place is so clean, comfortable and quiet! The people are VERY nice and accommodating.. We stayed in Casita #12. The views from our back porch were spectacular! There is a refrigerator and microwave in each casita. They have propane gas grills if you want to grill for dinner. Two of the three nights we stayed,there was a pit fire glowing in the common area. There is also ice and filtered water available. Make sure to book early - we could only reserve for part of our vacation and the second place we stayed could not compare to the Casitas.

Room Tip: Casitas 10, 11 and 12 are in the back of the property, all you see is beautiful mountain views from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Would have to agree with all the other excellent reviews. Super cute, extremely clean cabins are tastefully decorated. The outdoor porch with rockers and the lovely landscaping are so relaxing. Everything immaculately maintained. Will definitely be back yearly and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Bend Casitas at Far Flung Outdoor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bend Casitas at Far Flung Outdoor Center

Address: 1 Adventure Lane, Farm Road 170, Terlingua, TX 79852
Location: United States > Texas > Terlingua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Terlingua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Need a place to stay where you play? Look no further than Las Casitas at the Far Flung Outdoor Center. Located on the Far Flung property, each of our casitas (Spanish for "little house") offers 400 square feet of indoor space complete with full bath, two queen beds, kitchenette (with refrigerator, microwave, toaster and coffee maker) 32" flat screen satellite TV, maid service and free wifi. A porch to kick back and relax on after a full day of adventure and a courtyard with picnic tables and a barbecue pit. All casitas are non-smoking. Prices are double occupancy and seasonal in nature, so call our office for specific details or book online. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Casitas At Far Flung Outdoor Hotel Terlingua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Bend Casitas at Far Flung Outdoor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.