We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Bend Casitas at Far Flung Outdoor Center

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Terlingua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Bend Casitas at Far Flung Outdoor Center
Save
You added Big Bend Casitas at Far Flung Outdoor Center to your Saves list
1 Adventure Lane, Farm Road 170, Terlingua, TX 79852   |  
Hotel amenities
Fredericksburg, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

After reading the other reviews, my husband I and decided to try these cabins. We own a Bed and Breakfast, so we are well aware of what it takes to please guests. I'd like to say that everyone from the owners to the staff were friendly and helpful... the cabins (we stayed in the "older" version) were very nice, immaculately clean, and the beds were comfortable. LOVED the sheets! We cooked outdoors on the grill and enjoyed the sunshine, the views were beautiful from the porch, an I photographed the sunrise... very peaceful, even during the Chili Cookoff! I was able to use Wi-fi, my hubby watched TV, and all was good with the world....Convenient to everywhere.

Room Tip: doesn't matter, new or "old". "Old" cabins are only a year old and very nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
53
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Angelo, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Having visited the Casitas at Far Flung Outdoor Center on previous occasions, we decided to try their newest additions. They have added six more casitas, but these new ones are built of cedar. As beautiful as the others that are only a little more than a year old. Ours had a porch facing the mountains and the view was spectacular. The service was splendid, but we have come to expect that. The 400 sq. ft. rooms have twin queen beds, with all the usual amenities. For a nice quiet stay this place can't be beat.

Room Tip: Rooms facing east have the best view of the mountains,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our first trip visiting Big Bend and our stay at Las Casitas was perfect! Very comfortable and convenient location with plenty to see and do. Eating at the Starlight was an awesome experience and the other places are just good. Everyone around is friendly and seems like a nice little tight community. Plan on visiting again very soon and make my stay longer than the first!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Everything was just that -terrific. Casitas were new and up to date. Kitchen was well supplied (maybe some microwave baking dishes could be considered) and the barbeques were clean and always available. The porches with the rocking chairs provided an opportunity to watch either the sunrise or sunset- or both. Lots to do and see and a great place to come 'home' to after hiking in Big Bend Park or visiting the Ghostown.
There are few shops in Terlingua but there is a well stocked store in Story Butte that seems to have almost everything. If you plan to cook in - you might consider shopping in a larger town before setting out.
It is by far, the best place to stay in Terlingua.

Room Tip: Request a casita with a back porch facing the back of the property to get the wide vistas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We loves the casitas. They were perfect. Immaculate and well equipped. There are two gas fired grills and an ice machine onside. The casitas contain all the crockery, cutlery and utensils that you need to grill. The location is perfect for access to Terlingua, the state park and the national park.

In Terlingua, try the Starlight Theatre and a Darren Special.

We had a brilliant trip and when we return, it'll be to the casitas. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We really enjoyed our four nights at Las Casitas. Our cabin was spacious, clean and modern and had (almost) everything we needed to self cater (a mini hob would be useful). It's a short drive up to Terlingua Ghost Town and about a half hour drive into the heart of the National Park, which is absolutely stunning.

We also went on a full day rafting trip with Far Flung which we would recommend. If you stay in the N.P. you would need to come out to Terlingua anyway to do the rafting so staying here makes sense especially when the accommodation and dining options in the N.P. are very limited. Don't worry about other reviews which say that the Casitas are near the road. They are set back about 50 yards and it's a really quiet road anyway - not a lot of people go to the Big Bend region and that's what makes it so great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have chosen this place after reading the Trip Advisor reviews. We really can recommend it. Reservation process was easy and the huts are modern and clean. You are very close to little shops, Big Bend and Terlingua Ghosttown. Also the tours from FFOC start right next to the huts. We booked a 1/2 day Jeep tour and a 1/2 day canoe tour. Excellent and professional guides.
We were a group of four in one hut. Just missing one or two shelves to put all our stuff out of the suitcases. Be careful if you sleep in one hut by four and need air conditioning: One of the sleepers has his head right besides (2ft distance) the very noisy AC. You have to protect yourself with towels laid over chairs (that is why we cant give all the points). We had hut no 6.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Bend Casitas at Far Flung Outdoor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bend Casitas at Far Flung Outdoor Center

Address: 1 Adventure Lane, Farm Road 170, Terlingua, TX 79852
Location: United States > Texas > Terlingua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Terlingua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Need a place to stay where you play? Look no further than Las Casitas at the Far Flung Outdoor Center. Located on the Far Flung property, each of our casitas (Spanish for "little house") offers 400 square feet of indoor space complete with full bath, two queen beds, kitchenette (with refrigerator, microwave, toaster and coffee maker) 32" flat screen satellite TV, maid service and free wifi. A porch to kick back and relax on after a full day of adventure and a courtyard with picnic tables and a barbecue pit. All casitas are non-smoking. Prices are double occupancy and seasonal in nature, so call our office for specific details or book online. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Casitas At Far Flung Outdoor Hotel Terlingua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Bend Casitas at Far Flung Outdoor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.