We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Bend River Tours

Big Bend River Tours
FM 170 West, Terlingua, TX 79852
432-371-3033
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 11 Attractions in Terlingua
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1979 Big Bend River Tours outdoor outfitter has offered river trips, guided park tours, backroad tours, hiking and backpacking and now horseback combo trips as well. Come join us in the beautiful Big Bend of Texas. Open every day, 365 days a year. Come discover the magic of the Big Bend!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Beaumont, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Wonderful and organized operation. We had great tour experiences that our whole family enjoyed. First was an all day canoe trip into Santa Elena with a fun and educational hike into the canyon in the middle. Second was a half day saddle tour into the State Park which was equally wonderful. Both guides were great and the horses were wonderfully trained!! great family fun!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    13
    2
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio TX USA
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Temple Canyon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I have no experience in canoeing and what little summer I have spent in Terlingua made me wary of a summer river trip. One of the girl guides looked me straight in the eye and said, "you are gonna fall in love with the river." More prophetic words have not been spoken to me in a long while. Our guide trained us well from the starting point, was very encouraging, gave excellent clear directions that empowered us to feel a level of mastery I did not expect to reach in one outing. The weather was incredible! The food was amazing prompting one of the other guests to comment, "I expected a guide that could cook, I didn't know we were getting a cook that can guide." An amazing experience that I intend to repeat (in any season!) frequently. Rivers are restorative.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Boomerang River Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Big Bend River Tours led us and a small group (8 people total plus 2 BBRT guides) on a great and exciting canoe trip on the Rio Grande into Santa Elena Canyon. The trip included a 3 mile paddle into the canyon, a refreshing lunch (included with the trip) and then a really adventurous hike into Fern Canyon. The hike really was more than just a hike - it was a rock scramble, crawl through caves, wade through pools of water, and a great add on to the day.

After a refreshing swim we all got back in the boats for the return trip. The sun came up over the canyon walls and made the afternoon a bit warmer, but quick jumps into the river were a great answer. Since one of the guides shuttled the van to the take out, we were able to canoe an extra mile back to the take out point making for a fun and rewarding 7 mile day.

The guides were great and knowledgeable and ready to answer any questions. Since one of the boats were new at canoeing, they even tied up the boat for part of the trip.

Overall a great experience and another way to see the beautiful Big Bend area.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hillcountrytexas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Afternoon Canoe Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Great guides! -- knowledgeable, easy-going, and fun! My boyfriend and I were with a small
group that totaled 10, including the two guides. We had a wonderful afternoon, easy paddling with just a few spots where they help if you need it. Nice little snack break about mid-way provided great fresh fruit, crackers, cookies etc. So beautiful along the river, even if it is low.
Amazing to see the canyon walls from this vantage point -- we put in a couple of miles up from
the Teepee Roadside park. We are anxious to get back and take a much longer trip with these folks. It was a great addition to the birthday trip for my boyfriend. Thanks again to everyone at Big Bend River Tours!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Canoe trip on The River was so much FUN!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We drove to the B B River Tours office- Andy and Kelsey took a small group of us on a canoe trip to Black Canyon. We stopped and ate a snack in the canyon and continued on. The river was only a small trickle, very shallow, slow- but beautiful and a really enjoyable and do able adventure. total time was about 3-4 hours.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Bend River Tours also viewed

 

Been to Big Bend River Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Bend River Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.