We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good fried catfish” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Al's Bar-B-Q Barn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Al's Bar-B-Q Barn
1220 West Avenue M, Temple, TX 76504
(254) 778-4621
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 133 Restaurants in Temple
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Temple, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“good fried catfish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

has fairly good bar-b-Q but trimmings are average. Has good fried catfish. good prices. Blue collar cafe. Veggies are average. Would just get the catfish to go with nothing else. Ranch type atmosphere inside.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    0
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great little hole in the wall for cheap eats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I recommend the brisket or the chopped beef sandwhiches. Great prices and you get your food as you order it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dont eat the CFS”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Worst CFS ever 4 of a party of 5 ordered CFS was horrible taste like it was heated up in a microwave , I have had there Chopped beef sandwich through drive thru will stick to that if I have to go there again.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Top Contributor
618 reviews 618 reviews
412 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
“Decent BBQ Place in Temple”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

I ate here with my wife for lunch on a Friday. I had really enjoyed their catered food at an event at my work. It is your standard Texas BBQ place, served cafeteria style. You first choose your meat(s) or sandwich and then your sides and drink.

I had the beef brisket, which was average to good - but not excellent. My wife had the chopped beef sandwich and fries. She thought the sandwich was good, but the fries were a bit soft, and not their best item. I enjoyed their baked beans, which were average in quality. I only tried the beef and didn't try their other meats and sides, so it would not be fair to comment.

BBQ is a personal preference-type of food. It was o.k. here but I have had better and certainly worse elsewhere in Temple. I would rank this place somewhere in the middle.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al's Bar-B-Q Barn also viewed

 

Been to Al's Bar-B-Q Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al's Bar-B-Q Barn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.