We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take Out Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taylor Cafe

Taylor Cafe
101 N Main St, Taylor, TX 76574-3638
512-352-8475
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 44 Restaurants in Taylor
Price range: $0 - $7
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Georgetown, Texas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Take Out Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We were returning on a trip and were coming thru Taylor. I had both read and heard of a great Bar B Q Place. it is a little hard to find, but it is kind of under and beside the railroad bridge downtown. its appearance will be shocking to most ladies and to older men, a reminder of days gone by.
Like I said this is a take out story and once inside the visual experience contained. We ordered sausage and brisket to go. (not to eat on the road, but for a later meal) The smell of that food in the car, was bad - something like torture. But we didn't eat it and had it for dinner the next day. A day later the sausage was good to good plus. The brisket was just good.
Take a time out and visit the Taylor Café and bring a camera.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liberty Hill, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Step Back in Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Recommended by the locals as a great place for BBQ, be prepared to step back 50 years - the building is twice that old- the furnishings are minimalist- no air conditioning except the fans- the menu is simply barbecue. Delicious and memorable. Bring cash- plastic not accepted.

The waitress left me a whole pitcher of ice water with my plate when I ordered water to drink- and told me the red sauce was hot sauce not BBQ sauce.

There is a sign on the register - No beer tabs. So... Be ready to pay.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Great BBQ in an old-timey BBQ joint hidden under the bridge by the RR tracks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I've been to Vincel's probably 30 times over the years and Vincel, the old owner (no disrespect intended, but he is old as he is over 90 and how many people do you know that age who are still working!!) has always been there working, making some of the best brisket, ribs, and sausage that we've had. Over the years, when we drove up HWY 79 from Austin, we'd stop in and enjoy some BBQ and atmosphere. We've sat at the counter and at tables in different parts of the little café and always been amazed at how all of the other patrons seem to be locals who are there eating, or if later in the day, drinking a beer. It always seems that people from every walk of life are all there and we always feel welcome even though most of the locals look up to see who you are because they're probably expecting to see some of their friends coming in the door. Vincel is always friendly and has personally shared many of his stories with us, and the wait staff are super nice and helpful. If you've ever lived in a small town like Taylor (especially the way Taylor used to be before people from Austin started moving out there as a bedroom community,) then you know that you know everybody and everything about everybody else. So in a sense when you're a stranger walking into a small town cafe, hidden under the bridge by the rail road tracks, it almost seems as if it's a hang-out for locals.

To make sure you know how to get there, going East on Hwy 79 from Austin, right downtown, you'll see an overpass going South that crosses the railroad tracks just off 79. Turn Right (South), but don't get on the overpass. Stay to the Right and drive along side the bridge to get to the Rail Road tracks. Then turn right this side of the tracks and park and you'll be at the cafe. Go through the old screen door which is usually open unless it's one of our very few really cold days in Central Texas. The rest of the year, just the screen door will be open because there's no air conditioning in Vincel's place.

You can get meat by the pound, or order plates with sides which are also good. The brisket is very good and while I don't usually like sauces on my BBQ, Vincel's sauce is good. His BBQ doesn't need it, but I suspect that years ago, he kept being asked for sauce so he made some good sauce. I'll have to ask him next time I'm out there whether he started making sauce when he first started making BBQ when he got back from the war. If you go, you can ask him and then put it in your review if you find out!!

The ribs are good and the sausage is exceptional. It has great texture and flavor.

This place reminds me a little of the Broken Spoke in Austin in that it's one of the few places in Central Texas where nothing has changed over all these years. When you walk in the door, it's like walking through a time warp into a former time because it looks the same way it did when you walked in 30 years ago. Or at least I haven't noticed any difference, except maybe a couple of new beer signs over the years.

When you go, try to spend some time just sitting and absorbing some old-timey, small town, friendly atmosphere. Sometimes you go to museums and they'll have a recreation of an old timey drugstore, or barbershop, or other type of store, and you can go in and look around, but not touch anything. Well, this is almost like that, but you can actually sit down in this museum and eat fantastic food there, served by really nice people. It's not Mayberry, but after a couple of beers, you can almost imagine that Barney, or Floyd, or Goober, or maybe even Andy might come walking through the screen door. Find this place and enjoy it while you can. I don't know that Vincel needs the money, but you need the experience!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Step back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

I have a feeling not much has changed here in years. Truly looks like you've gone back in time! Fantastic food!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Just got home from our first visit to Texas which was brilliant. Last Monday we decided to take the bbq trail in Taylo starting with the cafe. Wow what a great start....excellent welcome from very friendly homely staff. Got toeet the maon man who came and chatted with is about his life and how his excellent bbq all started. Had brisket ribs and beef and turkey sausages yummy! Brilliant experience and fab tasting meats enjoyed before having a couple of photos with the staff and kindly received a local newspaper containing stories of the bbq. Recommend to anyone to visit to see the real Texas bbq

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taylor Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Taylor Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taylor Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.