We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to the Hype” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mac & Ernie's Roadside Eatery

Mac & Ernie's Roadside Eatery
11804 FM 470, Tarpley, TX
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 restaurants in Tarpley
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Kerrville
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lives up to the Hype”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is the second place I've been to the Guy has visited and both have been excellent. It was about an hour from where I was located so I brought the whole family. My father got the regular burger, which he said was good, but I didn't try. My mom got the cabrito burger which she loved, (this is due to growing up eating it as a child) I had a small piece and it tasted pretty good, but it's not my thing. I ordered the antelope burger, and it was fanfrikintabulous. What a burger! I ordered it all the way, and it comes with blue cheese and the effect is just something you have to try to understand. This place is truly in the middle of nowhere, and that adds to the unique experience. Top the great food with a helpful & effervescent waiting staff, and you have a truly one of a kind food experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    18
    6
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Hill Country Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I've visited Mac and Ernie's both in their old location and in their new digs. Both have marvelous food. Innovative and unexpected selections. Any Hill Country vacation should include a trip to Mac and Ernie's. Dinner is more spectacular than lunch, but a yummy cabrito burger or axis burger with a cold Shiner is a great lunch treat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Head to the Hills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Autumn is a great time to travel to the Texas Hill Country. If you like out-of-the-way places and great food, try Mac & Ernie's Roadside Eatery in Tarpley, Texas. When we are longing for a beautiful drive, we head to Tarpley. The food is always excellent and the service extremely friendly. The menu varies, but there is always something for everyone whether it be quail, steak, chicken, or fried catfish. Very casual. We love eating under the majestic oak trees outside. Check their web-site for hours and daily menu.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food, Good times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

When you pull up on the place, you're kind of like "well no kidding they're the best food around, they're the only food around." Then you order and eat, and you find out that they really have some darn good food. Rather than serve up mediocre food at inflated prices, the owners have decided to serve quality foods, many locally grown.

I had chicken with sun dried tomato & artichoke relish, my wife had Salmon with a dill butter sauce. We shared a crab cake with sriracha aioli. Ate outside on a picnic table behind the place and got to people watch all of the locals (I think about 3/4 of the town shows up for dinner on Friday nights).

If you are in the area, go out of your way to find this place and have a really really good dinner.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good Grub @ Dive Diner in Tarpley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Mac & Ernie's serves up fantastic food. The setting is quite limited, so be advised - hardly no air conditioning, very cramped space, and the prices are probably a lil high ($40 for two folks). Also, they serve good wine, but they store it in the poorly air-conditioned restaurant, so who knows if the vino is good or if it's turned. But, the food is extraordinary!.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mac & Ernie's Roadside Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mac & Ernie's Roadside Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.