We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Escape” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Village Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ocean Village Hotel to your Saves list
Ocean Village Hotel
310 Ocean Village Drive, Surfside Beach, TX 77541   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$20 off room rate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Houston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Nice Escape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The Ocean Village Hotel is a great spot to get away from the big City. In a 2 month period I stayed 4 times. The new property is very nice and the staff are very friendly. It is, however, the older 900 Building where I have the most peace. Every unit has an Ocean view. You are away from most everyone and I just prefer it. It is an older property but for reasons I escape, it is perfectly fine. I would suggest the Queen suite over the King. The shower is very small. ENJOY!

Bit ~ Houston

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam D, General Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
I would like to thank you for your loyalty and your repeat business. The 900 building in a nice getaway spot, a little more secluded and quite than our main site. I am glad to hear you can relax and enjoy yourself there, and we look forward to your next visit.

Adam DeVaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    53
    22
    9
    3
See reviews for
60
59
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Red Oak, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the honeymoon suite. Such a wonderful view from the balcony and from being lazy and laying in the bed! The rolling waves lulled us to sleep each night. We have found a new place on the beach for sure. We even want to secure rooms for our entire family next summer!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phyllis P, Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback! When you go to book again and you have the entire family coming you can call ahead and have rooms blocked to make sure everyone ends up in the same area. Can't wait for y'all to visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Right on the Gulf with a wonderful view and private decks! The beds were so comfortable and the restaurant was right next door!! Great price for two nights, as well! We will most certainly be back again!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phyllis P, Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and giving us your positive feedback! We hope that you come back soon to visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

A group of us goes to Surfside a couple times a year and decided instead of renting a house that we would do individual accommodations. When I started to search, up popped Ocean Village! It is in a prime location, has a great maintained beach with activities directly in front of the hotel. The attached restaurant was a tad lacking on dinner but had a great happy hour special. Breakfast buffet redeemed the dinner experience. We got to stay in the newer building and it was so nice! Great view, very nice beds, furniture and wood floors (something like wood). There was a great gathering spot under our building for evening cocktails and visiting. You get a free bag of ice with your stay and the staff was extremely nice! We look forward to staying here next time!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phyllis P, Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Glad that you stumbled upon us! We are currently updating our other buildings to have the same furniture as our new building and making many improvements over our low season. Come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the honeymoon suite and it was really nice. The mini fridge was broken but the replaced it within the hour. The bed was very comfortable and we had a nice view from our room. The only disappointing thing was the breakfast buffet. The eggs were dry, but they made fresh eggs for us. We enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam D, General Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for visiting Ocean Village Hotel. I am sorry to hear the mini fridge was down, but I am glad they were able to take care of that right away.

We just started doing the breakfast buffet and we are still working out some of the kinks. I am glad to hear the made new eggs for you. We hope you come back and visit us again soon.

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We love Surfside and Ocean Village Hotel. I have stayed with a large group for 3 years in a row. The staff from the Hotel and the Cafe work hard to make our visit special and requests happen.
I have also brought my family on occasions and they loved it as well. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. Most of our time is spent outside on the decks or on the beach, which is only steps away, and always clean. This is a place you can drive to and never have to start your vehicle up until you leave. The cafe is excellent for meals and there are a couple of other places to eat in walking distance. If you love the ocean and are looking to just relax, this is the place!

Room Tip: The 400 building is brand new. If you have a large group it is nice to all stay in the 300 building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam D, General Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are working hard to make sure that everyone has a wonderful stay here at Ocean Village Hotel. Please come back and visit us again soon.

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsicana, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Although our 1st night wasn't the best, the manager made things right and we enjoyed the rest of our stay. I would recommend Ocean Village. I also plan to rebook there on our next visit. Felt like home.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam D, General Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for the review, I am sorry to hear you had a rough first night but I am glad we were able to take care of everything for you and make it right. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Village Hotel

Address: 310 Ocean Village Drive, Surfside Beach, TX 77541
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The idyllic beachfront “Ocean Village Hotel & Resort”, Surfside Beach, TX 77541 is located 12 minutes from the Freeport/Lake Jackson Port and Commerce Center, a scenic 36 minute ocean front drive from Galveston’s fine dining and amusement parks, a leisurely 60 minutes from downtown Houston or a rustic 240 minutes from Austin, the State Capital. Surfside, recognized as one of the “Best Beach Communities” on the Gulf of Mexico, has many activities easily accessible from the hotels fifty nine fully detailed balconied “King or Double Queen” suites, kitchenettes, and standard rooms. “Dine Anytime or have A Reunion” at the boardwalk Café or Seaside Bar before you “Catch some Rays, Surf the Waves and Get Married” on the resorts sugar sand beach,” Fish for Reds” a half mile into the Gulf on the inlet jetty, “Observe the Fish” or walk the nature trail at the nearby Sea Center Texas Hatchery and Aquarium, “Watch the Birds” from your balcony overlooking the local preserve, “Launch your Boat” at the town’s inlet ramp or “Ride your Bike” to City Hall for a ghost guided tour of the Island’s Museum. Relax, walk your pet “See the Sun Rise and set”, then reinvigorate your life with the superior accommodations, extraordinary customer service and great food found exclusively at the Ocean Village Hotel & Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Village Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.