We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice in Sugar Land” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Land Marriott Town Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sugar Land Marriott Town Square to your Saves list
Sugar Land Marriott Town Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16090 City Walk, Sugar Land, TX 77479   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sugar Land
La Chartre-sur-le-Loir, France
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Best choice in Sugar Land”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I'd have rated the Marriot "Excellent" instead of "very good" if it wasn't for the unfortunate problem I had with noise from the adjacent room. That was either a problem of sound-proofing, or guest management (the suite next door to my room was the host to several parties during my stay....)

But apart from this, I can't really fault the Marriott, and in particular the service - all the staff were really friendly, welcoming, and went out of their way to help. I stayed a week, teaching at a course held in the hotel. So I can also confirm that the conference facilities and service are very good. The service and staff attitude is a big plus of this hotel.

The rooms are in the process of being upgraded - which is probably due - and that will only make the place a more attractive destination.

Wireless (and wired) internet is available in the rooms, although it is at extra charge, depending on your room rate. Breakfast is in the restaurant in the lobby (not particularly cheap, but well enough stocked). Or if you have access to it, there's the concierge lounge on the 8th floor which serves a simple (free) breakfast.

The beds are really comfortable with nice linen although I found the way it was made up a bit odd: the quilt cover was upside-down (with the opening at the head rather than the foot of the bed) and the top sheet was made very low. Nothing major, but a little strange.

The room facilities are good, everything worked and you have what you need, including an iron and board, tea & coffee facilities and a large flatscreen TV with lots of channels.

The hotel location is also very appealing; right in Town Square and within easy walking distance to shops, shopping mall, lots of restaurants and bars. There's not many places in Houston where you are able to spend a week without needing a car!

The Marriott is definitely my point of reference in Sugar Land.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms opposite the vending machines, they are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, Front Office Manager at Sugar Land Marriott Town Square, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that our team provided excellent service for you. I sincerely apologize for the noise issues from the surrounding rooms. Please forgive us for this inconvenience. If you are in the area again, we hope to host you again at the Marriott Sugar Land. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    61
    31
    15
    8
See reviews for
86
57
25
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Staff at this hotel makes it the best place to stay in Sugar Land. From the time you walk in the door until you leave everyone is smiling and asking how they can help you. I really like when they address me by name- make you feel your with friends.

The location is great. there is so much to do outside the front door of the hotel. no need for a car you have everything within walking distance.

I spent time talking with the GM in the lobby each day, he loves meeting the guest in the hotel. You can really tell he understands hospitality.

Room Tip: bit of a drive from the Airport- Free parking is nice. Love a square view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, Front Office Manager at Sugar Land Marriott Town Square, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and everything was comfortable for you! We take great pride in providing the best experience for all of our guests. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to our entire staff. We look forward to hosting you again in Sugar Land very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The Sugar Land Marriott is a wonderful place to stay. I stay there both for business and pleasure.From the minute i enter the hotel I always receive friendly welcomes,efficient service,and a spotlessly clean room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, Front Office Manager at Sugar Land Marriott Town Square, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and everything was comfortable for you! We take great pride in providing the best experience for all of our guests. We will be sure to share all your kind comments with our entire staff. We hope to see you again in Sugar Land very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed here for several nights and I do enjoy Marriott hotels. The staff was helpful and friendly in the lobby, restaurant and concierge lounge. The meeting space was also very nice and spacious. The beds were very comfortable and there was good access to wifi throughout the hotel, if you have Marriott rewards make sure you ask what benefits you can receive (I got complimentary wifi and access to the concierge lounge)

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, Front Office Manager at Sugar Land Marriott Town Square, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and everything was comfortable for you! We take great pride in providing the best experience for all of our guests. We hope to see you again in Sugar Land very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

It started with a warm welcoming smile and greeting from Aniel as we approached the front desk to check in. Immediately followed by a similar friendly greeting from Carmen who took very good care of us. She was not only hospitable but extremely efficient, recognized our requests in room preference and did all she can to accommodate them. Carmen genuinely cared about us, anticipated our needs and made us feel very much at home. Then in the mornings, Perlyn provided a consistent excellent service in your restaurant. She constantly checked on us to see if everything was in order or if we needed anything else, and always with a sweet smile.
Then there was your stunningly beautiful hotel. The attention to detail was amazing. Everything was spotless and in the right place. Lighting and ambiance were warm and inviting.
Your entire staff was all around professional and matched the look of your hotel. From your valet, to door people, to bell people, to housekeeping.
Our hats off to you and your management team for making all these possible. You are certainly a top ranking hotel and in my personal list of favorite destinations. A true home away from home.

Room Tip: Higher floor has a nice view. Nice thing about this hotel is the number of nice places to eat and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike S, General Manager at Sugar Land Marriott Town Square, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
On behalf of the entire staff at the Sugar Land Marriott we thank you for your recent kind review. We take great pride in not only providing excellent service but also being that special "home away from home" that you described in your review. We look forward to seeing you again here at the Sugar Land Marriott... your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over a weekend whilst working in Sugar Land as wanted to be in a more central and walk-friendly part of town. This hotel was spot-on as I never needed the car all weekend. There are so many places to eat drink or shop on the doorstep including a nearby shopping mall which is about 15 mins walk away. The hotel itself was very full but on arrival, I was 'guest of the day' which was a nice touch and it meant I had a free bar voucher, cookies brought to the room and free soft drinks. I checked to see if it was just a marketing ploy and given to everyone, but it didn't seem so, so was pleased with this. The hotel is well maintained and the staff are very friendly. The bar area is also very welcoming. The pool area is very nice and clean with free wi-fi. The room I had was of a good size and had all necessary amenities, though it did have a slightly mouldy smell (due to the humidity). Shower was adequate. Overall a good hotel in a great location. Enjoyed !

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike S, General Manager at Sugar Land Marriott Town Square, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of the Sugar Land Marriott!! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We take guest feedback very seriously and are already addressing some of the items you mentioned as opportunities. We look forward to seeing you again and thank you for choosing the Sugar Land Marriott!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLA.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I spent 2 nights there in October and was treated with great sevice and hospitality. Even though the hotel is not new, it is is great condition. There are many restaurants and shops galore. The evening streets are crowded in this upscale area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike S, General Manager at Sugar Land Marriott Town Square, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We strive for excellence in all that we do here at the Sugar Land Marriott. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Land Marriott Town Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Land Marriott Town Square

Address: 16090 City Walk, Sugar Land, TX 77479
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Sugar Land
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sugar Land
#1 Business Hotel in Sugar Land
#1 Family Hotel in Sugar Land
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Land Marriott Town Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sugar Land Marriott Town Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Land Marriott Town Square Hotel Sugar Land
Marriott Sugar Land

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Land Marriott Town Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.