We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super nice hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Houston/Sugar Land

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Houston/Sugar Land to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Houston/Sugar Land
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16730 Creek Bend Drive, Sugar Land, TX 77478   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Sugar Land
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Super nice hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed 7 days at this hotel and had a great stay. Bed were super comfy, staff was most excellent and you could tell delighting their customers was job one. Breakfast was great - although coffee could have been stronger. I love the small bar - perfect to grab a cocktail and head to your room. Rooms were modern and clean. Location was great as well - lots of choices for dining close.

Room Tip: Get the larger rooms - it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, Manager at Hyatt Place Houston/Sugar Land, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
We highly cherish feedback such as yours as it is very encouraging to our team here at the Hyatt Place Houston - Sugar Land. We very grateful for you recognition of the level of service you experience during your recent stay. Your feedback is invaluable and we promise to share it with our associates.

We very much value your patronage and we would be thrilled to be of service to you soon.

Sincerely,

Matthew Shine
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    52
    18
    1
    4
See reviews for
40
27
8
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I've stayed here many times on different client visits in Sugar Land. The staff is very friendly and remarkably stable. The rooms are very large and well-appointed, always spotless. The location can't be beat, especially if you don't have a car because it is an easy and pleasant walk across a long pedestrian bridge to excellent restaurants, shops and, perhaps best of all, a Whole Foods. The breakfast is adequate if not spectacular and there's often a lively little bar scene at the lobby bar, which also serves decent food, 24/7. I recommend the property highly. You wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake/river/whatever the body of water is at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, Manager at Hyatt Place Houston/Sugar Land, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Your detailed positive review of your experience as a recent guest of ours is very encouraging to our team here at the Hyatt Place Houston/Sugar Land. We are honored to have earned a perfect score from such an experienced traveler with 521 contributions on TripAdvisor with 73,155 miles traveled, including 21 cities and 10 countries. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we are highly grateful of your recommendation of our hotel.

It was our pleasure to be of service to you and we would love the opportunity to welcome you back home during your next visit to Sugar Land.

Sincerely,

Matthew Shine
Assistant General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I've stayed at Hyatt Place at another location various times and quite enjoyed it but this was my first trip to the Sugar Land location and the first time I've stayed at the Hyatt Place with my wife.

From what I hear and by staying at two different locations, all Hyatt Place rooms are pretty much the exact same layout. You get a bar fridge with a desk, a couch, a half wall separating the sitting area and the king bed, a wall mounted large LCD TV that can be seen from either bed or couch, a vanity area outside the bathroom with toilet and large stand-up shower.

When travelling alone, this room is great. Once you add a second person though, it can get quite cramped quickly. The bathroom itself is very cramped but overall it's a very good room.

The hotel overall was very clean but you could already see a bit of wear. This specific location was excellent, nestled in a quiet business park with a lake that surrounds it and a walking path. There are some excellent restaurants across the foot bridge and the Town Center and First Colony mall is across 59, mere minutes away by drive or shuttle (which they provided for free).

Complimentary breakfast is included. You get a variety of fresh fruit cocktail, yogurts, donuts, bagels, bread for toast, ceral, milk, juices and even hot sandwiches (usually and egg and ham sandwich) as well as waffles or pancakes. The food is nothing to write home about but it is convenient to have breakfast at the ready right downstairs.

Overall I like the Hyatt Place locations. There are better spots but you really can't go wrong with this.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, Manager at Hyatt Place Houston/Sugar Land, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
We genuinely appreciate your giving us the opportunity to be of service to you during your first visit to Sugar Land. We truly treasure detailed feedback such as you provided and we are grateful that you shared your impressions of our hotel on TripAdvisor. Looking at your other contributions, I'm delighted to see that you were able to take advantage of the hotel's location and experience the diverse restaurants that Sugar Land has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you again for sharing your review.

Warm Regards,

Matthew Shine
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at the Hyatt during a recent trip to Houston. After driving for hours, we were greeted by a crashed computer system, so we could not check in and had to just sit in the lobby until someone, somewhere got the computers up. Not a good way to start after fighting the horrendous traffic in the area. The staff was nice.

The room was nicely appointed and fresh.

I would suggest you go out to eat breakfast unless you only eat out of necessity without wanting to enjoy the food. There were a lot of guests there the Saturday morning that we went down for breakfast but the food quality was not as good as many lesser hotels. There was only one meat course and it was some lightly warmed ham slices about as thick as tracing paper. They did have some pancakes, but no sugar-free syrup, so I struck out. The eggs were obviously a powdered or liquified product because it cooked up like some sort of watery foam with a few burnt spots to give it some color other than yellow. The egg on toasted muffin reminded me why I don't like dry english muffins. The apple juice was good.

I really enjoy breakfasts while on the road and was sorely disappointed. I think next time I stick with HI Exp.

KB

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, Manager at Hyatt Place Houston/Sugar Land, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and for enlightening us of your dissatisfaction at check-in and our complimentary breakfast. We sincerely apologize for the delay at check-in as our reservation systems "crashed" for a brief period of time on the evening of Friday, October 18, 2013. Rest assured, we have resolved this complication and we have taken steps to ensure this particular malfunction never arises again. In regards to our breakfast offerings we have been highly attentive to our guest's feedback and we're excited to say that we will soon be implementing new changes to our current program.

We hope that we are given the chance to show you our new offerings and earn your trust in all aspects of the hotel. Thank you again for your valued feedback.

Kind Regards,

Matthew Shine
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roorkee, Uttarakhand, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed in Hyatt Place for around 35 days and it was a nice experience. The location is too good with lake surrounding the place. You get a very good view from your room window. I enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, Manager at Hyatt Place Houston/Sugar Land, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We sincerely appreciate your taking the time to share the impressions you had as a long-term guest of ours. We would like to express our gratitude and thank you for making our hotel your home during your business in Sugar Land. We understand the unique difficulties and challenges our long-term guests are faced with when being away from your home, family and friends for so long, so it's especially heartening to our team members to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It was a pleasure to be of service to you and we would love the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Sincerely,

Matthew Shine
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I try and stay in Hyatt's as to keep all my points in the same plan. So this is Hotel is closest to our Houston office. Although the traffic is a little rough headed to the office, I like the location. There are a number of great restaurants in the area and there are nice walking paths around the lake.

THe staff is excellent in this hotel and they remember me by name on my return visits.

The rooms are large and the beds very comfortable, though my wife thinks too soft.

Most of the rooms have a shower, though the last trip with my family in tow we had a room with a tub.

All the rooms have a sitting area and small bar fridge and include a mediocre breakfast in the morning. Perhaps that's a harsh, but I'm not fond of the hot food unless you get it right when it's set out. There's plenty of fresh fruit and cereals, toast etc.

Overall I like it and I'll continue to stay here on most of my Houston trips.

Room Tip: I generally try and get a room on a high floor or the end of the hall way. Rooms on the lake side h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, Manager at Hyatt Place Houston/Sugar Land, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experiences as a frequent guest at the Hyatt Place Houston - Sugar Land. Your detailed review of your experiences as a guest of ours is both useful and highly valuable to our team as it help in assessing our strengths as well as our opportunities of improvement. We acknowledge your concerns about our breakfast and we promise to work diligently to improve our current offerings.

We are extremely grateful for your continuous loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you soon.

Warm Regards,

Matthew Shine
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branchburg, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Let me preface this review by saying we stayed for five nights at the Hyatt Place on the Riverwalk in San Antonio, TX immediately prior to our four night stay here...so I am using that as a comparison.

The San Antonio Hyatt Place was MUCH better then this one.

Pros: Beautiful surrounding right on a lake. A Whole Foods store within walking distance. Very Clean.

Cons: BREAKFAST was a huge disappointment. The hours are from 6:30am - 9am. This is an early end time for those vacationing! We generally arrived for breakfast around 8am. There was usually three employees behind the desk and no one was monitoring the breakfast area? Every morning, we would arrive to find the coffee empty and many breakfast items already gone? We had to ask for more coffee each day and apparently the breakfast items are put out at 6:30am and when they're gone they're gone? Things like toppings for the oatmeal, etc. The bacon was chewing and tasted funny. The potatoes were barely cooked. The eggs were extremely dry and tasteless. The breakfast in San Antonio was FAR better. The morning staff is not that friendly either. TINY BATHROOM ...Too tiny for anyone! Door barely clears the toilet. NO IN ROOM MICROWAVE. LIMITED DRESSER SPACE.

Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, Manager at Hyatt Place Houston/Sugar Land, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
We highly value your candid feed and we would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to be of service to you during your recent travels to Sugar Land. We would like to sincerely apologize for the less than desirable breakfast and for not delivering the level of customer service that you very well deserve. Rest assured, we will address any and every potential discomfort that may affect our valued guests.

Your observations have been shared with our associates and we will use your feedback as a basis of coaching and mentoring. Thank you again for your much valued feedback.

Sincerely,

Matthew Shine
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Houston/Sugar Land? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Houston/Sugar Land

Address: 16730 Creek Bend Drive, Sugar Land, TX 77478
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Sugar Land
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sugar Land
#3 Business Hotel in Sugar Land
#4 Family Hotel in Sugar Land
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Houston/Sugar Land 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Place Houston/Sugar Land reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Houston/Sugar Land Hotel Sugar Land

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Houston/Sugar Land, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.