We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent wine, great staff and wonderful facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Becker Vineyards

Becker Vineyards
Jenschke Lane, (US Hwy 290), Stonewall, TX 78671
+1 830-644-2681
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Attractions in Stonewall
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Activities: Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the Texas Hill Country between Fredericksburg and Stonewall, Becker Vineyards was established in 1992 by Richard and Bunny Becker. We are open for wine tasting, tours, wine gift purchases and picnics. We also host many events throughout the year that we encourage you to attend.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent wine, great staff and wonderful facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The wine selection and quality were excellent, and the tasting room staff was fun and knowledgeable. They have one of the nicer facilities in the area, and it appears they are continuing to improve the venue. Very nice stop if you're looking to sample hill country wines from one of the larger and more established wineries.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    55
    16
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Tasting and Tour both Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

While in Fredericksburg celebrating our anniversary we went to Becker Vineyards to taste the wines and added in a short tour of the wine making process.
The grounds are beautiful and the tasting includes a wine glass, we tasted six wines( could have tasted more as the pourer didn't keep tabs on tickets)
After the tour we purchased some wine to bring back home and walked around the grounds. There were family's and groups enjoying the grounds on a beautiful day in the Hill Country.
Will return again as there are wines only available at the Winery or through the Wine Club.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Love this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

There is a reason we have a wine club membership at Becker Vineyard...we have a good time every time we visit! The wines are good, the staff pouring the wine is friendly and knowledgeable, and the wines are very affordable. That is a win-win-win for us. As much as we love Fredericksburg, Becker is a big part of the reason we choose to weekend there.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Canaveral, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice winery in the Texas Hill Country”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I came here with my family & husband. We got there just in time to take the short but informative tour of the winery & then we did some wine tasting. They have some good Texas wines and the staff was friendly! My favorite wines were the Viognier, Provençal, Raven, Fleur Sauvage & Moscato, I do like the sweeter wines in general. The winery has a Texas cozy relaxing feel to it. To end our time here we got a bottle of wine, meat, cheese and crackers for a picnic lunch outside listening to the live band. If I lived closer I would come back for some of their festivals through out the year.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Kansas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“"Ignored"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My wife & I arrived at Becker 50 minutes before closing on a Sat. night, but I still thought that would be enough time for a tasting. I payed for our tasting, & we had a woman start us on our tasting, but after 2 pours, & without saying anything to us, she went to the opposite end of the tasting area, & didn't come back to finish our tasting. We stood there for at least 5 minutes before someone else asked if they could pour us something. They charged the most for tasting fees out of the 8 previous wineries we had visited in the last 2 days, & most of the other wineries would at least apply your tasting fees towards your wine purchases. It was the worst winery experience of the weekend, & they had the most uninspiring wines.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Becker Vineyards also viewed

 
Fredericksburg, TX
 

Been to Becker Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Becker Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.