We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive Wine Tasting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Becker Vineyards

Becker Vineyards
Jenschke Lane, (US Hwy 290), Stonewall, TX 78671
+1 830-644-2681
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 things to do in Stonewall
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the Texas Hill Country between Fredericksburg and Stonewall, Becker Vineyards was established in 1992 by Richard and Bunny Becker. We are open for wine tasting, tours, wine gift purchases and picnics. We also host many events throughout the year that we encourage you to attend.
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Expensive Wine Tasting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I paid $24.00 for a wine tasting - total amount of wine was 7 ounces each! We found out later by a local that you can purchase a bottle of wine at H.E.B. for $7.00. Although the winery is a nice place to visit, don't expect much from the wine tasting. Should you want to taste their wines there, you are better off buying a bottle on site to share. (yes, they will open it for you).

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    64
    19
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Indiana
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great stop in wine trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My girlfriend and I stopped here on our drive through the Hill Country. This was stop 1 of 3, and our favorite by far. Marti and Hunrie were the best and nicest people. Wish we could have stayed longer, or taken a few bottles home on plane.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“A great choice for a daytrip in the Austin area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Becker vineyards has performed very well over the years. It has a handsome tasting room with a courteous and informed staff and well landscaped grounds with a beautiful stand of lavender.
While not my favorite wines, Becker does have some very nice vintages and a reputation, having won a silver medal in the 2012 Lyon, France competition for it's Viognier.
There is a market day in the summer and a very nice multi course lunch for those who preregister . Occasionally the vineyard manager will tap you on the shoulder in the tasting room, and lead you to the tank area for a tour and a private tasting. I would definitely go again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Great place but here's the trick....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just like all the other reviews this place is great. Nice vineyard, nice staff, great assortment of wines and tastings are reasonable and fun. HOWEVER .... ONLY purchase 'only available at the vineyard' wines. Why? Because Costco has the same in house wines at a cheaper price! Tempranillo is my favorite and sometimes can be purchased at Costco/Specs for a cheaper than vineyard price. In don't know why but sometimes they are $2 cheaper and if you purchase a case it adds up. There's our trick to visiting. We've been on several trips and always find that this is our favorite winery.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is how a wine tasting and vineyard should be. This is the one to go to. Wish we would have made Grape Creek as well, but we ran out of time. Everyone was so nice and the wine was delicious. The grounds are absolutely amazing!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Becker Vineyards also viewed

 
Fredericksburg, TX
Fredericksburg, TX
 

Been to Becker Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Becker Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.