We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CASI Chili Cookoff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Becker Vineyards

Becker Vineyards
Jenschke Lane, (US Hwy 290), Stonewall, TX 78671
+1 830-644-2681
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Attractions in Stonewall
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Activities: Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the Texas Hill Country between Fredericksburg and Stonewall, Becker Vineyards was established in 1992 by Richard and Bunny Becker. We are open for wine tasting, tours, wine gift purchases and picnics. We also host many events throughout the year that we encourage you to attend.
Comfort, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“CASI Chili Cookoff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We attended a CASI Chili Cookoff held at Becker Vineyards in Stonewall TX the 4th of July. Becker's wines were great and the chili was superb. We had the opportunity to judge the chili from over 40 different teams. At great time with good friends, good wine, and good chili

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    55
    16
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wine in the Hill Country”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I won't really review the wine at Becker as that's such a subjective thing. So I'll stick to the winery experience. First of all, I'll give them the benefit of the doubt because it was the Independence Day holiday and they had a special event going on. It was just too crowded to get a good feel for how the experience would go on a normal day. One of the folks there did say that it was usually close to this busy on weekends too. My plan is to try and visit again on a normal weekday. Despite the crowd our tasting server did a great job keeping up and spending the right amount of time telling about the wines we were tasting. Once we were done tasting however, she was on to new customers so we didn't really have the time to talk more about their wines or winery with her. There was a free tour that was informative. This is a high-volume winery so they use a lot of automated processing. Overall the experience wasn't bad for such a busy day. I'll go back again and we'll see how they do.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Lavaca, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Favorite Hill-Country Winery/Vineyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Everytime we are in the Hill Country we make a stop at Becker Vineyards, it is honestly one of my favorite one to visit. The setting is great just to sit back, listen to some music, and drink your favorite bottle of Becker wines. Prior to taking a seat outside it is recommended to purchase a tasting, $10 for 6 samples and a complimentary wine glass. But be warned that the souvenier glasses are a lot larger than your average glass so you may "feel it" by the sixth sample or so, LOL.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Vineyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We went here during a bachelorette weekend and had so much fun! We went on the tour and then back inside for our tasting. Adam was our bartender and he was so helpful! Not only did he do a great job of helping us figure out which wines we wanted to taste and buy, he also took tons of photos for us and even with us! The service was great even though they were extremely busy that Saturday. We bought a bottle of wine and went to the patio outside. We stayed out there for a couple of hours and had a wonderful time. We loved Becker and will be going again soon!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful wine in Texas Hill Country”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We are from Massachusetts, and we visited this with friends from Texas who knew about this vineyard/winery. The building and setting are beautiful. The wine tasting room can be crowded on a weekend, but servers at the wine tasting bar were friendly and took the time to provide information and answer questions. We enjoy the drier wines (not Moscato fans) and found a Tempranillo, a fairly unusual semi-dry wine, as well as a Pinot Gris that we enjoyed. There are also lavender fields you can explore and picnic/seating area out of the sun. We would go back here if we were in this area of Texas again. There is a fee for the tasting - $10 for 6 tastes, which my husband and I shared. The fee includes a pretty logo glass.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Becker Vineyards also viewed

 
Fredericksburg, TX
 

Been to Becker Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Becker Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.