We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Texas Hospitality at It's Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Becker Vineyards

Becker Vineyards
Jenschke Lane, (US Hwy 290), Stonewall, TX 78671
+1 830-644-2681
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Attractions in Stonewall
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Activities: Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the Texas Hill Country between Fredericksburg and Stonewall, Becker Vineyards was established in 1992 by Richard and Bunny Becker. We are open for wine tasting, tours, wine gift purchases and picnics. We also host many events throughout the year that we encourage you to attend.
Wheelock, TX
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Texas Hospitality at It's Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We just returned from an amazing afternoon at Becker Vineyards. The facilities are beautiful, with a wonderful tasting room and ample porch, but what was really superb was the "Library" tour we attended. What an experience, to go behind the scenes of an award-winning Texas winery, listening to the stories of their road to success while tasting amazing wine! The tour ended with a tasting in the cellar, and each of the wines were "to die for". But the REAL treat was when Dr. and Mrs. Becker and their son, Joe, joined us on the tour. We felt as if we had known them all of our lives; they were that warm, gracious, and hospitable! We drank wine and shared stories and reminded ourselves that generosity and hospitality are alive and well in the beautiful Hill Country of Texas!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    55
    16
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, NC
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
135 attraction reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
“Experience shows”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is one of the Hill Country's older, better established wineries and the things they've learned in the last 21 years really make the place shine. They've worked out a lot of the kinks that plague some of the other wineries in the vicinity. Their wines are excellent. Their serving room staff is friendly and competent. And their tasting facility is first class. The tasting room is inviting but large enough to handle a crowd. The grounds are beautiful and serve as a venue for special events such as food pairings or live music.

It's probably best to schedule this winery last on a day of tastings. It's a good place to buy glass or a bottle and sit outside and enjoy the surroundings. You don't want to be hurried along to another stop.

Access is easy from U.S. 290 at Stonewall. The signing is excellent, so you won't have any trouble finding them. There is plenty of parking.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place to end a day of tasting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Saturday afternoon at Becker is the perfect ending to your day of tasting. The remodeled tasting room offers a festive venue for sampling some of Texas' best wines. Outside there's music, food and a great lawn for a party. Bring a picnic lunch, buy some wine, watch the sunset and savor the day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Texas wines..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We have been going to Fredricksburg TX for several years for visits to the Texas wineries in the areas. Becker vineyards is likely the biggest and most well known, especially after the Austin Statesman helped make them well known in these parts by printing a menu President George W Bush was serving to Russian President Puten at the ranch in Texas, during a visit by Puten, which included Becker wines for every course. I seem to remember those particular wines mentioned went up in cost and dissapeared from most retailers almost immidiatlly that year! But Becker is a must stop when in the area. They have an impressive selection of great wines, and the tasting has been remodeled and expanded to accomodate large crowd of "tasters". Typically they will have some sort of event each weekend, weather music or specialty chef sampling something, but the selection of wines is impressive for Texas. There are at least 6 more wineries within a few min. drive, so don't get too comfortable at Becker, although I think Becker has one of the better wines I have tasted. Also, don't miss their Port wine before leaving!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville TX
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“This is a perfect place to spend an afternoon - trying some wine and sitting around the porch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We occasionally are honored to come over and pour wine for the Beckers at their events. We love this place. They were having a special port and silton event along with the Texas Wine Trail event and every bachlorette party on earth. Becker Estates is a beautiful peaceful place and the estate is perfect for lounging, sitting on the porch or standing around sipping great Texas wine. I heard so many comments from the guests - This is a happy place - the other wineries we stopped at were SO serious! Folks sat around for hours on the estate enjoying the 80 Dec 1st day and the fine wine. Make sure you stop here when you get out Fredricksburg Way - you won't be sorry. Great people and great wine. You'll be glad you did!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Becker Vineyards also viewed

 
Fredericksburg, TX
 

Been to Becker Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Becker Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.