We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Texas BBQ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Eight BBQ

Hard Eight BBQ
1091 Glen Rose Rd, Stephenville, TX 76401
(254) 968-5552
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 62 Restaurants in Stephenville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating
Hamilton, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Texas BBQ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

It's alright. It's a neat place to take first time visitors to Texas as you can walk up to the pits and select which meat you want. The sides are dissapointing and could be so much better. Clean.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    62
    20
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Food in an Awesome atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I was in Stephanville the other day for a buisness meeting. Driving into the town you notice steak houses & eateries. We decided on Hard 8 vs. a Chilis which I was ecstatic about. Entering the resturaunt you start at the back where there are huge smokers. A bbq hand stands with the meat & trays up anything you might possibly want, a steak, sausage, kabobs, shrimp.. and of course brisket. Continue inside for all the sides & Fixings. The service is outstanding and the food delicious. I would love to return to Stephanville just to eat at the Crazy 8.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bring back free beer!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Excellent food and I love being able to see the food in the smoker as I order it. Wish we kept the free beer.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

A great place to eat in Stephenville. The meat is cooked in front of you. Free beans. Desserts are great! A bit pricy but you get what you pay for, one of the best places to eat in town.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
“no horse here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

A grand spot just off the highway where you can pick your meat and ask the guy to cook it the way you want,

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hard Eight BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Hard Eight BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Eight BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.