We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hanging in There” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2925 W Washington, Stephenville, TX 76401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Stephenville
TX
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Hanging in There”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Nice enough place. Actually, you'd think you were staying somewhere farther up the food chain of the Choice family (which actually I think this used to be) but for the fit and finish items. By that I mean loose light fixture, rusty shower curtain rod, carpet worn in places, etc. But its very clean, everything works, nice staff, good location, very large rooms, no smoke smell noticed on our stay. The breakfast was better than I've had in some higher end places.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
4
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

The rooms seem a bit out of date..Stayed a few times .. In the summer my room stayed hot..Staff is nice.. Location is ok..Next time I might stay elsewhere ..The bed I had trouble sleeping in..Room space was fairly large..

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
547 helpful votes 547 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at this property on a business trip. We thought saving $50/night by staying here instead of the La Quinta or Holiday Inn Express across the street would be a great idea. Now, I wish we'd have spent the extra money and stayed elsewhere.

The entire hotel smelled of cigarette smoke...including our towels. There were No Smoking placards on most of the hotel room doors, but it doesn't seem that policy is enforced in the designated no smoking rooms. The walls were paper thin. The shower head had no acceptable settings...either you got a wide spray with little pressure or a very narrow shower with good pressure. Water temperature was inconsistent. The toilet did not flush well. There were noticeable stains on the carpet in our room and in the hallway. The bed was not what I would call comfortable. Furnishings were outdated and included chipped furniture. Also, there is no elevator. While there are only 2 floors, it was a pain to haul all of our luggage up and down a flight of stairs.

To be fair, there were a couple of positives. Our room had a small fridge and microwave, and the location was good. In my opinion, the negatives far outweigh the positives for this property.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Had a nice stay. Check-in was easy. Lots of places to eat nearby. Breakfast was hot and very good. Rooms were out dated but comfortable. Pool was nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Its my first time to the area and i didnt know what to expect. My rate was only 63 bucks so i only booked one night so i could test it out. Rashelle took my reservation directly and uponb check in was very pleasant to work with. My room is clean, and totally prepared with the extra rollaway we had requested. They even offer complimetary toiletries if you forget something. Still astounded they offer smoking rooms, and this actually worked out great for someone else in our party. If i absolutely had to complain about something, i would suggest that the hotel cool their hallways a bit, dont book the room right above the stairs because you can hear and feel people stomping, and empower your front desk to offer discounts for extended stays in order to earn our business.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington tx
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

The customer service at this hotel was worthy of 5 stars. The room was fine clean simple
a small table with two chairs and a pullout bed/couch ..Bed was very comfortable , plenty of pillows..Bathroom large clean..The downside is yes there is no elevator but really unless you
are elderly or handicap it should not be a problem to walk a flight of stairs. While the room
was smell free....The Hallways did REEK of smoke and I do mean Reek..However the price location and outstanding Customer service front desk staff ..Louis gave me a discount on checkin for parents weekend ..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

This was a good clean place to stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. Yes the furniture shows some were, but i'm more interested in a clean safe place to stay and it was definitly that. The only negatives for me were that in a no smoking room our bed spread had 2 cigarete burns in it. It was clean and did not smell, but it would seem comon sense to take the bed spread out of service. There is no way a normal person would not have noticed it and it was the first thing i noticed when i looked at the bed. Why would you want a guests first impression of thier room to be negative? The bed is the whole reason for even visiting your hotel.

All in all it was a good experience and I will consider hotel if i am ever in Stephenville again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 2925 W Washington, Stephenville, TX 76401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Stephenville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Stephenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Stephenville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.