We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, basic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stephenville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stephenville to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stephenville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   121 Lockhart Street, Stephenville, TX 76401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Stephenville
Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice, basic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is the perfect place to stay for a comfortable, clean, low frills hotel. Hot breakfast is good, rooms are nice, and staff is helpful and friendly. The only small problem I had is that the A/C seemed to take quite a while to cool the room. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Make sure you turn left at the Whataburger; the road sign is very hard too see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
7
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mustang, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hotel is a newer facility, very clean, and friendly efficient staff. I would recommend and stay again. As others have stated, the areas that could be improved are. The A/C has such a wide temperature operating range I kept kicking off the sheets, and then covering back up before it would shut off. The bed is very firm. The front of the hotel early morning traffic from the street is very noisy. The furniture looks nice, just not very comfortable. The entry drive has a large bump and a low sports car will high center. I would stay again but request a room facing the rear and take the A/C off automatic and leave the fan running on low if this is possible.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I am staying at this HI Express on an extended work trip. The hotel is nice and well kept. The pool is clean and fitness room is nice. However, they do not have coffee available very early in the morning, I leave for work around 5:45. This hotel is in a good location in Stephenville.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldspring, Texas
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We got reservations here through an “on line negotiator”. This is one of three motels in this “class” in Stephenville. We have stayed in all of them. This one is best. It has nice, clean public areas, modern, comfortable appointments, clean relaxing rooms and it is very quiet. All in all exactly what my wife and I are looking for plus – the price was right! We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here in Aug. ,so the AC ran constantly. It was an under-the-window unit that kept us either freezing or burning up. The room itself was pretty, but the trendy chairs were uncomfortable to sit at the desk and work, or try to read a book in the side chair. I finally went down to the breakfast area and watched TV there. The exercise room has nice equipment that has been allowed to get tired, so that the treadmill has lumps in the deck and the bike rattles. The bed was lumpy and hard. We ate at Pastafina which is across the street and everyone loved the food.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I agree with past reviewer-- the noise was quite loud from both the street as well as other guests in the hallway. Also, the bed was not very comfortable. Our ac unit was very loud which was fine while it was running but it would cut off when it reached the set temperature and when it did, it woke me up every time. Breakfast was good though. The place was clean and everyone was friendly. The pool is covered which I thought was odd; no sunbathing around the pool here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stephenville, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear drbw1169,

Thank you for taking time to write your review. I am pleased you enjoyed our breakfast and the staff service was at par with your expectations. Please accept my sincerest apology for the noise levels and air conditioning issues you experienced. We will address these points and I hope when you will return you will see the improvements made.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This was a business trip on a Monday night. I've stayed in this hotel before, but this trip wasn't as good. My room was on the "highway" side and noise from the window overnight was quite loud. Will request a room on the far side next time I stay for business.

Breakfast buffet was complete and good, but numerous flies BUGGED throughout the meal. Bed was comfortable, but I found the pillows a little squishy. Bath facilities were in good working order.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stephenville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stephenville

Address: 121 Lockhart Street, Stephenville, TX 76401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Stephenville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Stephenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stephenville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Stephenville, TX is located in the 'Cowboy Capital of the World'. Ideally located off Hwy 377 South, our hotel is just 2 miles from Tarleton State University & minutes from Cross Timbers Country Opry & City Limits, the largest private Country & Western club in the state.Whether you are visiting for business or pleasure, our hotel will make you feel right at home with our Texas Hospitality. Our Stephenville hotel's convenient location provides easy access to a number of recreational activities. Stroll downtown to Cowboy Capital Walk of Fame & Heritage Square or shoot over to Lone Star Arena, home of the US Calf Roping National Finals, rodeo events & barrel racing. A short drive away is Dinosaur Valley State Park, & Dr. Pepper Bottling Co & Museum. Business travelers will appreciate that we keep you connected with our free wired & wireless high-speed Internet access as well as copy & fax services in the 24-hr business center.Nearby corporate offices include St. Gobain Abrasives, FMC Technologies, Outlaw Conversions, Caporal Industries & Rayloc.During your stay here, you can enjoy our choice hotel amenities including relaxing in outdoor pool, working out in our well-equipped fitness center, keeping caught up on laundry in our on-site guest laundry facilities & enjoying a complimentary Express Start hot breakfast bar featuring our delicious cinnamon rolls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stephenville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Stephenville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stephenville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.