We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst front desk” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Houston Sugar Land

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Houston Sugar Land to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Houston Sugar Land
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12655 Southwest Freeway, Stafford, TX 77477   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Stafford
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst front desk”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

I travel often and have seen it all. But this took the cake. Not being from the area I thought the local front desk would be able to get me a cab, help me find a good eatery and and a wake up call. Incorrect. I had a girl named Kaitlyn I think. She gave me the number to yellow cab so I could call myself, sent me to giant computer for dinner with no further instruction or reconmdation and was told I couldn't have 2 wake up calls and had to pick one. She was very distracted with the computer In front her. I'm not normally one to complain. Customer service training would do this hotel some good.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olga1002, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Houston Sugar Land, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us, we definitely apologize that it was not our usual level of customer service. Kaitlyn is one of our top guest service representatives, so this information is very surprising. However, with your feedback we will bring it to her attention, and as you recommended, maintain our efforts to always continue training our staff. Next time you're in town, I would appreciate it if you would please give us another opportunity to do what we do best. Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    20
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
5
6
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ruidoso, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Once again a great stay at one of my all time favorite hotels anywhere. Two women , kids of different ages , good time had by all. These people are so gracious , so nice, this is what the service industry is all about. Every door opened, a smile and friendly nod from everyone to everyone,( five year olds, seventeen year olds, fifty year olds). Safe, lots of dining choices, all within a stroll from your front door. Always something going on in the square. Chances of seeing an amazing wedding party going on run high on the weekends. The breakfast buffet is delicious . Great people watching in a newly updated lobby. Thanks for another great weekend, we're never disappointed.

Room Tip: We love overlooking the square, can be slightly loud, but can't beat the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olga1002, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Houston Sugar Land, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you so much for all the lovely thoughts and comments about our hotel! We are so happy that we make you and your family feel that way. It is our goal to make all our guests feel comfortable and like family, we are thrilled to have accomplished this. We can't wait to have you back to see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

It was a great visit for my Dad's 88th birthday celebration. All my 3 adults children were there with my hug family reunion. The hotel is closed by and very convenient for visited. Also, many restaurants nearby. We had a great time for BD party, shopping, enjoyed great food and a comfort place to rest. Highly recommend Courtyard if you are coming to Stafford / Sugar land.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olga1002, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Houston Sugar Land, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful review with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed the hotel and that you found our top notch staff to be friendly and helpful. Your recommendation means a lot to us, please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Beds are great and staff very friendly and helpful. Some people were not happy about paying for breakfast. Location is right next to freeway but room was still quiet. Close to many places to eat that have a variety of prices.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olga1002, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Houston Sugar Land, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to give us your thoughts. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, we look forwrd to having you come back and visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a really nice hotel and the beds are very restful. We stayed there for our daughter AAU basketball tournament. I would definitely encourage those on business to stay in this location, but for a group of young lady basketball players and their families the pay for breakfast is a bummer.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olga1002, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Houston Sugar Land, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We are delighted that you found our beds to be comfortable and that you would recommend our beautiful hotel to others. Thanks so much for taking the time to comment on your stay. I understand the cost of breakfast for so many young girls, but we feel that the Bistro is very well priced and has items to fit any budget, I hope you found that as well. We look forward to having you come visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I were here overnight and Kaitlyn at the front desk was super-friendly and helpful. One staff member made a special trip to find a cart we needed.

The lobby is gorgeous and up-to-the minute with small flatscreens by some booths with a remote-- you can choose the channel so that you didn't have one big screen with what you didn't want to watch blaring at you. Lots of outlets too, plus complimentary coffee and tea; you can really camp out there and get work done if you need to.

I also appreciated the well-stocked little fitness center and wifi which was easy to access. Having a lobby coffee bar with a limited Starbucks menu was amazing! And it was convenient to have a little bistro with selection of drinks/snacks/sundries. The hotel was also well-designed in that the hall to the pool and gym were directly off the lobby rather than down the hall from rooms so that people weren't tramping past all hours of the day and night. Our room was very clean, bed soft, smooth elevator, nice quiet hallways.

The only drawback was not having a minifridge in our room. All other annoyances were minor: There was mildew/water damage starting on one of the bathroom pictures, and the handle of the shower was cranked so tightly that if my husband weren't there to unstick it, I don't know what I would have done. Food at the bistro wasn't great but at least it wasn't outrageously priced, and our server remembered the "regular" order of the guest behind us, which impressed me. When we checked out there was some drama with the bill; we tried to use a Visa gift card for part of the bill but it was rejected by the system for some reason. If we'd have had the time I guess the staff might have called and figured it out, but we were on a tight schedule and had to run. So I lay the blame for that one mostly on Visa.

In all, very good stay; I would definitely stay again and recommend it to friends. Thanks Courtyard :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olga1002, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Houston Sugar Land, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you very much for the great things you said about our hotel, we’re so happy that you found all the amenities to your liking. I am however disappointed that there was a little of annoyances with your stay and I truly hope that you told our front desk about these things so that they can be communicated to the right person, ensuring that it doesn’t happen again. We would have loved to put a mini refrigerator in your room for you; we have several that we use for just guests with these needs. The other issues our maintenance department would have been able to fix it right there and then, or we could have moved you to another room. We strive for a 100% wonderful experience for all our guests! Once again, thank you for your comments, and we hope to have you back again real soon, please contact me prior to your next visit so that I can make sure your room is inspected by our Manager to make sure that next time you are no small annoyances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I was happy with all aspects of our stay, but I was especially impressed with the staff, from the "Bistro" who served guests before officially opened as they were setting up, to three different front-desk staff who greeted us enthusiastically, joked with us as we checked out and graciously offered toothpaste and a band aid when needed. The hotel was clean and very well maintained.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olga1002, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Houston Sugar Land, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We love our staff too! Thank you for taking time to letting us know how we did and how pleased you were with everything. We hope that you come back real soon, we'd love to have you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Houston Sugar Land? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Houston Sugar Land

Address: 12655 Southwest Freeway, Stafford, TX 77477
Location: United States > Texas > Stafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stafford
#5 Business Hotel in Stafford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Houston Sugar Land 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Houston Sugar Land was recently renovated to provide greater flexibility and choices for guests staying in this Sugar Land, Texas hotel. Ideally located just off the Southwest Freeway, just 20 minutes from downtown Houston, this hotel provides easy access to Houston's top destinations including Minute Maid Park and NRG Stadium. The welcoming lobby offers flexible spaces for work and socializing, free WiFi, and easy access to the latest news/weather via the touch-screen GoBoard™. Guests love to dine in at The Bistro, where they can enjoy a delicious breakfast or a dinner menu paired with craft beer and wine. The guest rooms feature new HD TVs with premium cable, large work desks with ergonomic chairs, and the luxurious Marriott Bedding that is sure to offer the perfect night's sleep. Your stay at the best of Sugar Land, Texas hotels is sure to be more comfortable, productive, and enjoyable than ever before at the Courtyard Houston Sugar Land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Houston Sugar Land reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Houston Sugar Land Hotel Stafford
Courtyard Stafford
Courtyard Hotel Stafford
Stafford Courtyard
Stafford Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Houston Sugar Land, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.