We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kirby's Steak House

Kirby's Steak House
3305 E Hwy 114, Southlake, TX 76092-9175
(817) 410-2221
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kirby's Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 107 Restaurants in Southlake
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Southlake Blvd
Coppell, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We have eaten at Kirby's more times than I can count. It is consistently and without exception a wonderful evening. When possible, we request Keith as our waiter. He has been taking care of us for at least 7 years. Steaks can occasionally be cooked slightly more thoroughly than requested so keep this in mind when you order. Wonderful wine selection. Salmon is consistently wonderful. Apple walnut chopped salad awesome. Live music on weekends is very nice but not so loud to be bothersome. The only problem we have ever had has been trying to get service at the bar. Esp. on weekend evenings it is a popular hangout for a slightly older dating scene and can be difficult if you aren't there for that type of "socializing". Make a reservation - esp. on weekends. Valet is prompt although a little silly as there is plenty of parking (very nice is it's cold or windy though). This is our go-to place for birthdays, graduations, or any night we are just ready for a wonderful meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    17
    9
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Quality didn't match price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We went on a Sunday night and found ourselves waiting for service a lot. We had a reservation and got right to our table and that was the quickest thing that happened all night. We waited about 35 min to get our drinks after we ordered them and then when we got our meal I thought the quality was far from the price I have had just as good of a steak at much less expensive places my wife had the filet and lobster tail it was good but not $95 good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Another Great Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Took the family to Kirby's last night to celebrate my son's promotion and his leaving tomorrow for his first operational assignment in Hawaii. I've been there twice before and the food was excellent and we wanted a "sure thing" for this occasion so we went back. We weren't disappointed.
Our waiter was good (though it wasn't very busy so it really wasn't a test of the staff) and very attentive (bordering on too attentive but it was ok). Three of us had the filet and my daughter had the Chicken Caesar salad. The filets were cooked perfectly and were very tender. (I like mine medium-rare but had never seen the option to order a steak cooked Pittsburgh. That's medium rare inside and charred on the outside. I tried it that way and it was very good.)
My daughter liked the taste of the Caesar salad with a couple of comments. First of all, why would you serve the leg bone of the chicken in the salad. I'm sure it has to do with the presentation but really? It kind of grossed her out. And secondly, the lettuce hadn't been cut up at all. So she had to really go after it with a knife and fork. Again, probably for presentation but not worth the hassle.
For sides, we had the mashed potatoes, creamed spinach and the mac and cheese. All were wonderful!
It wasn't an inexpensive dinner ($225) but it was worth it for this occasion. We will be going back but probably not until another special occasion comes around.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
2 reviews
“Sunday hangout ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

When it is Sunday, it seems we end the day at Kirby's. Max has done a great job taking care of us at the bar. He makes a mean Mexican martini if you are so inclined. We ordered their chopped salad which was excellent. We come here often and Definitely recommend this restaurant. Excellent for service and food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euless, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cronus”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I went to Kirby's for the first time in a number of years and I am sorry I did. The service was adequate but I was very disappointed with the steak. I do object to Golden Corral quality at Pappa's or Smith and Wolensky prices. My steak was tough and if it was half of the advertised size, someone had a thumb and three fingers on the scale. If you are in the area, go to Bob's or Silver Fox in Grapevine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kirby's Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Kirby's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kirby's Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.