We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grapevine Cafe & Coffeehouse

Grapevine Cafe & Coffeehouse
100 E Swordfish St., South Padre Island, TX 78597
9567618463
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $11
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Established in 1999, Grapevine Café’s original owners created a simple restaurant offering breakfast and lunch favorites from traditional Mexican and American recipes. Under new ownership since 2006, the Grapevine Café has grown considerably in concurrence with the beautiful and surrounding city of South Padre Island, Texas. In many ways, we are still that casual eatery that serves delicious, simple and affordable food. Today, our menu boasts a greater variety of choices. We have added healthier menu items that are vegetarian and gluten free. We also offer a full line of gourmet, freshly ground coffee drinks and teas from our popular espresso bar. We take great pride in serving food that is made in-house, fresh and daily from proprietary, authentic recipes.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Ate here twice for breakfast during our vacation and was pleasantly surprised. Friendly staff and some of the biggest breakfast tacos I have ever eaten. If your in town, give this place a try and you wont be disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    91
    38
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice quiet place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I stopped in and had a taco salad and a Island Burger. Food was fresh and very tasty. We will be back again for Lunch. They are open only till 2 pm. Enjoy a good lunch on SPI.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fatburnr, Public Relations Manager at Grapevine Cafe & Coffeehouse, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
We are glad you found and enjoyed us for lunch. However we are in fact open until 3pm for both lunch and even breakfast. You may also stop by just for coffee, espresso drinks or to cool off with one of our sensational frappes and iced coffee drinks. Stop by and try one. Definitely the islands best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“AMAZING SERVICE -- Unexpected kindness!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I went with two business associates who needed to meet with me outside of my business. We took up a table (but there were a few other empty ones) and had only 2 coffees and a water. The waiter, Justin, when asked for the bill cheerfully said oh that's OK, no charge.

I was surprised and told him I would be back for lunch which I did the very same day. I got the mexican plate to go. It was EXCELLENT and plenty of food. The price was really inexpensive for a resort area. Justin's little act of kindness will pay off big time. I'll be taking my staff for breakfast soon.

Thank you Justin .... and also Gino who was very nice to offer me coffee while I waited for my to go order.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, terrible service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We have spent two weeks in South Padre Island as we own a condo here. We have eaten at this cafe many times, but the last three visit here have been very disappointing. Our first visit was on a Sunday late morning. We must have waited for about 45 minutes or longer. The food is always good, but we had to ask for silverware, water etc. the next visit was on a Wed and there was maybe 8 tables, not busy at all. Again, we had to wait for everything. My husband asked for coffee 3 times, again no silverware and we waited and waited. I understand "Island Time", but we would like to enjoy it other than waiting here. Get some wait staff!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One on, one off breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

First time we went here it was a weekday. Great service, food was excellent. So we went back on a weekend. Very crowded and nowhere really good to wait. But were seated fairly quickly and the staff was running nuts keeping up.

Once seated, service was good but food just okay. Perhaps too busy to do things slowly/right? Or maybe we ordered something different that just wasn't as tasty.

I would definitely put this place on your list, but maybe pick a less busy time to visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grapevine Cafe & Coffeehouse also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Grapevine Cafe & Coffeehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grapevine Cafe & Coffeehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.