We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Poached Eggs/Yummy Waffles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grapevine Cafe & Coffeehouse

Grapevine Cafe & Coffeehouse
100 E Swordfish St., South Padre Island, TX 78597
9567618463
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $11
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Established in 1999, Grapevine Café’s original owners created a simple restaurant offering breakfast and lunch favorites from traditional Mexican and American recipes. Under new ownership since 2006, the Grapevine Café has grown considerably in concurrence with the beautiful and surrounding city of South Padre Island, Texas. In many ways, we are still that casual eatery that serves delicious, simple and affordable food. Today, our menu boasts a greater variety of choices. We have added healthier menu items that are vegetarian and gluten free. We also offer a full line of gourmet, freshly ground coffee drinks and teas from our popular espresso bar. We take great pride in serving food that is made in-house, fresh and daily from proprietary, authentic recipes.
south padre island, TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Poached Eggs/Yummy Waffles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Thanks Ana for the perfectly poached eggs on the eggs benedict ($8) this morning. I noticed others talking about service so i'd recommend Hopies's friendly service! She kept coffee/iced t filled and checked back several times. My bf liked his biscuits and gravy too (brought out hot instead of held for the rest). This is a great little cafe that makes their own tortillas, as well as delicious waffles (last Sunday). Be aware that on Sundays and holidays there can be a wait, but remember, you're on an island. :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    81
    38
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The food is good, the prices very reasonable. It has daily specials and there seem to be alot of regulars so that usually is a good sign.

The service is polite but slow. We felt like the wa itress had to dothe cooking. She politely explained their weretoo many people ( there was a flow but rarely more then 7-8 at a time) .

But in all we had agood meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolla, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“good food, good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Nice little breakfast stop. Food was good, reasonably priced. Service left a bit to be desired, waitress never checked on us or offered to refill my coffee until we were leaving.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

This was recommended to us for breakfast. We ate there 3 times for breakfast. Very clean an wonderful staff . Always fresh, not made ahead . Would definately recommend it.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“OK breakfast for SPI”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Average breakfast. I had Eggs Florentine and husband got a veggie omelet. Nothing extraordinary about either one. Daughter was happy with a pancake with mouse ears and mini chocolate chip eyes and nose.

Filter coffee not great. The Grapevine doesn't serve real espresso drinks, which is typical for SPI.

We also ate breakfast at Yummie's, and I'd rate both of them about the same.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grapevine Cafe & Coffeehouse also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Grapevine Cafe & Coffeehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grapevine Cafe & Coffeehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.