We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a repeat visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort

Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort
3616 Gulf Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597
956-761-2703
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $38
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Well worth a repeat visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This restaurant is one of our favorites on the island! We always come here, and we are never disappointed. I had coconut shrimp one time, and peel 'n eat shrimp a second time. Both were quite delicious! The happy hour margaritas was good also! I highly recommend the sweet potato fries. I love the outdoor seating with the beach view. The second time we were there was on a day that the ocean was its loveliest!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmetty, Owner at Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback! I'm so happy you love our shrimp and my new favorite....the sweet potato fries (yum!). And those happy hour margaritas are delicious!

It sounds like you had the perfect Island day.....yummy food and beverages while enjoying the spectacular view of the Gulf of Mexico. Pretty hard to beat!!

Thanks again. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    75
    22
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We ended up eating at the bar since there was a wait, but we had great service and were able to easily talk to our party of five. The crab cakes, cravat salad, tortilla soup, fish tacos were delicious! So far it is the best food I have had on the island.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Breakfast was good nothing that knocked my pallet to heaven. View was alright not great or awe there were some obstructions in the scenery. A bit over priced for the breakfast we had. Tried it because it had high reviews on trip adviser. I think it should be lower on the ratings but that is my opinion try it for yourself and find out for yourself.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmetty, Owner at Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
I'm so sorry we didn't send your pallet to heaven because that is our goal every time. If you have time, please let us know what you had so we can investigate. We work very hard to delight every customers with outstanding food and great service....and a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Mexico....every time. There aren't any buildings, trees or other obstructions between us and the beach, so I can't imagine what might have been blocking your view.

Please give us a call (956-761-1316) and ask for Katherine (our Resort Manager). She would love to receive your specific feedback so we can investigate. I hope you'll come back and let us try to "send your pallet to heaven" next time!

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Sweet surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed at the Palm hotel for 3 nights based on a friends recommendation. Glad we did - what a great location - and great value.

We enjoyed 3 meals at the Cafe while there and each was terrific. HH margaritas were good - and gotta try the turbo piña coladas! Staff was fun (Celina and crew) and service was great.

We loved our Eggs Benedict and and Migas breakfast.

We will be back.



Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful secret on the island...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Our server Celina recommended the seafood enchilada w/ tortilla soup, instead of my usual Veracruz style fish, with beachfront salad. She was not kidding!
The chef Luis came and explained the dish! Wow, the taste, texture and authenticity!
Delicious! But don't tell anyone, it only serves like 30 people at once...

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.