We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding beachside cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort

Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort
3616 Gulf Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597
956-761-2703
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $38
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Houston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding beachside cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I found the food to be very good and the service attentive as well. This is a must try for those visiting SPI.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    69
    22
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I had breakfast here on the last day of my trip. Good food, nice portions, reasonable prices. The cafe is located on the beach. When you are sitting down you can see the ocean. It is very peaceful! It is an open air restaurant with ceiling fans. I was there when it was hot, but with the ocean breeze it was surprisingly comfortable. We ordered the migas, and the egg, bacon, pancake platter. They were both great! Will definitely eat here more than once on my next trip down.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Pretty much the best shrimp that I have ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had just come over the bridge to look at the beach, had gotten stuck in traffic, decided that dinner was in order. We happened upon this place, and my grumpy attitude was corrected with their wonderful shrimp. I realize that many times, I enjoy shrimp because it is fried, and it is kind of like "an average goodness." This shrimp transcended that level, I could sense from the texture and flavor of it that it was a notch or two above the rest that I have had before. My wife had the blackened shrimp tacos, and really enjoyed them, also. Plus they had home-made potato chips that were very nice. If you go in the late afternoon, the outdoor tables will be in the shade, where we enjoyed nice breezes. Their iced tea was very good, plus somebody went out an put a temporary parking sign on our mini van for us, due some recent local snafus with parking.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmetty, Owner at Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We're so happy that you enjoyed our wonderful local gulf shrimp! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leander, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Seafood and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had the combo seafood basket and oh my, it was outstanding! BIG shrimp, oysters, and snapper strips were served with their specialty french fries. Small intimate setting. You dine alfresco with a stunning view of the Gulf of Mexico! Such a pleasing, restful experience. They get busy, so go early!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful beach dining.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Loved all the organic food! I had their signature salad and the organic berry smoothie. Actually it was so good I had two. My boyfriend had the lobster tail. Everything was perfect! Will be back next time we are in Padre.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.