We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, wonderful service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kohnami Restaurant

Kohnami Restaurant
410 Padre Blvd Ste O, South Padre Island, TX 78597
(956) 761-2446
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Carlsbad, New Mexico
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great food, wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had a wonderful supper here. Our waiter Jon Carlos gave us some excellent advise about which rolls to order and also the salads. He was pretty talkative and kept us entertained too.

We started with the cucumber salad and also the spicy octupus salad. There were 4 of us and the 2 salads were the perfect size. Cucumber salad was thinly sliced cucumbers and the flavor was delicious. The spicy octupus salad had very unique flavors and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

We ordered two rolls - Both rolls were good but one was served with a warm sauce over it and it was absolutely amazing. We ordered a second of each of these.

We also had their warm sake. I am not a sake drinker but my friends are and they said it was excellent. The owner came over to see how we were doing and even bought us a sake too.

When we go back to South Padre we will stop here again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    23
    9
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
romeoville
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Like the hibachi and sushi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

First time here. Waiter was not very knowledgable about menu. We went there with friends and order some cocktails ie rum and coke. The drinks were horrible. They never had sushi before and they loved it.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island, Texas
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“sushi and habachi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Sushi is as good as you will get in the area. And the grill offer a standard show of flaming onion volcanos and prestidigitation. One of my families favorite places to eat is at the grill.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spi
1 review
“Best sushi in spi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My family went to Kohnami restaurant having good dinner we order sushi and beef terryiaki everything was very good

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This place is not as good as the Sushi/Hibachi restaurants here in Houston BUT it is very good. Great service and atmosphere. Food came out quickly and had a great presentation. The Chef even said I was sexy! Lol good times.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kohnami Restaurant also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Kohnami Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kohnami Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.