We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kohnami Restaurant

Kohnami Restaurant
410 Padre Blvd Ste O, South Padre Island, TX 78597
(956) 761-2446
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This place is not as good as the Sushi/Hibachi restaurants here in Houston BUT it is very good. Great service and atmosphere. Food came out quickly and had a great presentation. The Chef even said I was sexy! Lol good times.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    17
    19
    6
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Better Sushi From The Supermarket, Disgusting Chef, & SLOW SLOW SERVICE!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

THE SERVICE IS EXTREMELY SLOW!!! Our party of 4 was were the only guests in the entire place, but we did not receive our menus right away, was not greeted friendly. The chef also had a running nose... That's a health hazard, he should have been sent home and they should have had another chef. The food was mediocre... I have actually had better sushi from our local grocery store. We thought it would be great since they are located right on the coast but it was flavorless, ill prepared because the rolls were coming a part. The shrimp tempura rolls were COLD instead of being hot like they are supposed to be when served! Will never eat here again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Great Sushi and atmosphere. Wait staff was very pleasant and knowledgable about the menu. A must if you are hungry for sushi while visiting the island.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Don't blow your nose 3 times while making our food!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Well, where do we start? Came in on vacation for a nice meal. Sat at the hibachi grill and they had one hibachi chef so service was SLOW! During the chef preparing and cooking our food, he paused 3 different times to blow his nose!!!! DISGUSTING! Not once did he wash his hands, just picked up the utensils he was using on the food and kept on cooking. Then once he finished the food, he stuck a fork on my daughter's plate and took chicken off her plate and then put it on another person's plate that wasn't with us!!!! Absolutely not worth the money and I immediately got sick upon finishing what I ate. I was in the bathroom sick before we even paid out! Also, we were told that the kids hibachi came with a drink and when we got our bill, they charged us $2.95 for her tea that was very weak and watered down to begin with! We told our server we weren't paying for it and she said she had spent 10 minutes arguing with the manager and they told her they wouldn't take it off. We then complained and finally they took it off. When we complained about the chef blowing his nose, they acted as if it were no big deal. They took off $6 (sharing fee for splitting a meal) for the grossness. DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY ON THIS PLACE! Portions are very small for hibachi and the money!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Vista, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Kohnami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Excellent! Great menu. It is a little on the pricey side but well worth it. Seating could be at tables or you can sit with other people at the teppanyaki grill.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kohnami Restaurant also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Kohnami Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kohnami Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.