We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kohnami Restaurant

Kohnami Restaurant
410 Padre Blvd Ste O, South Padre Island, TX 78597
(956) 761-2446
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

The sushi is very good and fresh
Good place
Tepanyaki is good

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    20
    6
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
romeoville
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Great sushi and we loved the food that was done on the hibachi.
The fried rice was perfect.

The server was not very knowledgable about the steaks or menu in general. We went with friends and this was their first time here. The drinks we had were terrible. We mentioned it to another server. They gave us hot saki to make up for it. We were told that they werent going to charge us for the drinks. However they did. We weren't going to make a big stink about it. The server gave us the wrong bill. They need to work on their service. Might be back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Walked in late and seated, wife not hungry, but they brought her out soup also. Dish with shrimp and noodles was delicious and fresh, waitresses are very friendly. I noticed people eating sushi and others doing the eater tainment, we will be back again to try other options.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Where's da Fish!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Ok, 3 trips in 2 years to SPI and each time I let one of my guests or co-workers talk me into going to this unorganized, lack of sushi knowledge about their product & service. I can appreciate Island-time but people are usually starving when they've been out in the Sun, Surf & Sand all day. Kohnami,get better servers, selection of quality fish and get your Fridge on a lower temperature so my sushi isn't like a jello-shot at a Frat-party!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

You will get a lot of food here and the show is excellent! Try any of the appetizers, as you won't regret it. Having them cook in front of us was a great form of entertainment for the kids too!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kohnami Restaurant also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Kohnami Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kohnami Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.