We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for kids w/o them still decent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Padre Island Dolphin Research & Sea Life Nature Center

South Padre Island Dolphin Research & Sea Life Nature Center
110 N Garcia, South Padre Island, TX 78578
+1 956-299-1957
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This nature center is a voice for dolphins wild and free, we do not keep them in captivity. We do have DAILY BOAT tours to take you out to meet them. Our facility has touch tanks and marine exhibits to help all who visit understand how we can help save our oceans. Our boats still go to meet our dolphins when the large tours do not have enough people to go we go for just four people
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
175 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“great for kids w/o them still decent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Very entertaining and informative. $3.00 to get in and pretty cool. You can pick up starfish and a few other live critters. Can do the building in 15 minutes to an hour depending on how hardcore you get into reading everything. Really cool sea horses in a tank. They have a pretty cool dolphin tour we heard, but were unable to make it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spisealife, Owner at South Padre Island Dolphin Research & Sea Life Nature Center, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
next time you must join me on our dolphin tour and we thank you for your support on behalf of our dolphin world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    56
    17
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Wonderful!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Loved it!!! Must do!!! The boat your was amazing. The most incredible boat tour ever!! The kids loved it. My husband and I loved it!!! Even Duncan out dog loved it. Saw tons of dolphins :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spisealife, Owner at South Padre Island Dolphin Research & Sea Life Nature Center, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
And we loved your dog Duncan, what a great dog! Thanks for bringing him along. Mama mia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fabulous Dolphin Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Great tour with Scarlett and her dog to see the Dolphins and birds. With a small boat and 6 tourists, we were able to get quite close to the dolphins without interefering or harming them. The one and one-half hour tour was very relaxing on a perfect day. This was definitely one of the highlights of our vacation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Funky museum in Port Isabel. Separate boat tour.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We love this odd little museum with hand-lettered signs and children's crayola pictures. Didn't take the boat tour this time, but have loved it in past years.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A must do!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We went to south padre in dec-12 as a couple. We decided to take the dolphin tour with Scarlett and Rozzie on 31st. We called them up and it was very easy to book with George ( Scarlett's husband) over the phone. They called back again to confirm and give directions. It's a small boat that seats 6 apart from Scarlett so is a fairly cozy setting and has a personalized touch. There were only 2 other people apart from us a lady and her kid. It's a 45 mins cruise. And the dolphins come out to meet you!! They play hide and seek with the boat which they know very well and Rozzie barks when he spots a dolphin. There was no better way to end 2012 than this. For $25 per person this is a must do at SPI. Highly recommended!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Padre Island Dolphin Research & Sea Life Nature Center also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to South Padre Island Dolphin Research & Sea Life Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Padre Island Dolphin Research & Sea Life Nature Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.