We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Dolphin Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Research and Sea Life Nature Center

Dolphin Research and Sea Life Nature Center
110 N Garcia, South Padre Island, TX 78578
+1 956-299-1957
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Nature & Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This nature center is a voice for dolphins wild and free, we do not keep them in captivity. We do have daily BOAT tours to take you out to meet them. Our facility has touch tanks and marine exhibits to help all who visit understand how we can help save our oceans. Our boats still go to meet our dolphins when the large tours do not have enough people to go we go for just four people
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous Dolphin Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Great tour with Scarlett and her dog to see the Dolphins and birds. With a small boat and 6 tourists, we were able to get quite close to the dolphins without interefering or harming them. The one and one-half hour tour was very relaxing on a perfect day. This was definitely one of the highlights of our vacation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    45
    15
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Funky museum in Port Isabel. Separate boat tour.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We love this odd little museum with hand-lettered signs and children's crayola pictures. Didn't take the boat tour this time, but have loved it in past years.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A must do!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We went to south padre in dec-12 as a couple. We decided to take the dolphin tour with Scarlett and Rozzie on 31st. We called them up and it was very easy to book with George ( Scarlett's husband) over the phone. They called back again to confirm and give directions. It's a small boat that seats 6 apart from Scarlett so is a fairly cozy setting and has a personalized touch. There were only 2 other people apart from us a lady and her kid. It's a 45 mins cruise. And the dolphins come out to meet you!! They play hide and seek with the boat which they know very well and Rozzie barks when he spots a dolphin. There was no better way to end 2012 than this. For $25 per person this is a must do at SPI. Highly recommended!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Better than I expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

When we first walked into this place, I didn't expect much, but it has lots of great stuff. You can pick up live starfish and crabs, and they have lots of other cool sea creatures to see.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“To observe dolphin in the best way!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We were with Georges on his boat to do dolphin observation.We were 6 on boards, everything was really comfortable. While it was a windy day and my wife is prone to sea sickness disease, the whole trip was easy and smooth and she never get any problem. This was amazing and we have seen a lot of dolphin playing together. They were recognizing the boat and reacting to George dog barking. That was a really good experience and respectful of nature. Anybody should do it if they go to Port Isabella or South Padre Island.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Research and Sea Life Nature Center also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dolphin Research and Sea Life Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Research and Sea Life Nature Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.