We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dirty Al's

Dirty Al's
33396 State Park Road 100, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6402
956-761-4901
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Harlingen, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This place is a great seafood dive joint with amazing food! The blackened calamari and fired shrimp are our favorites. The place is always packed which is a testament to how popular their food is among locals and tourists.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    166
    59
    30
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coppell, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Butterfly shrimp, oh my!! We love the food here. Not only did we live the food we bought some to take home with us. The atmos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

.Butterfly shrimp, oh my!! Not only did we love the food we bought some to take home with us. The atmosphere is laid back. You will enjoy it. Fresh oysters, fresh everything..

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Food was good, but ceviche was different. The tables were small folding tables. Don't bother dressing for this dinner....they didn't. They could definitely put some work into it. It's a little run down.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best fried shrimp I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This place isn't much to look at, but I almost cried when I tasted the fresh Gulf shrimp. I've never had such succulent shrimp in my life, and I was born and raised in Texas. I've been eating Gulf shrimp for as long as I can remember. The cook here knows how to handle these little guys. They were cooked perfectly and retained their sweet flavor.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Davis, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An average seafood joint”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Visited South Padre on the 12th of April and decided to give Dirty Al's a try, even though the reviews have been all over the place for this restaurant. We visited around 5 PM and got a booth in the back near the water where we could watch the boats come and go. That was the best part of the visit. We all had the fried fish and shrimp baskets with fries. The fish was so-so. The shrimp little better. Food was nice and hot. The fries were pretty good and lots of them.

Just as we got there, as luck would have it, the water got turned off out in the street in front of the restaurant. As a result restrooms were terribly dirty with stuff thrown on the floor. This was uncomfortable for the two ladies in our group who couldn't use the restroom. I guess no one on the staff ever went in there to see it. The place was not at all busy, service was not bad. Just ordinary. Nothing special.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dirty Al's also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dirty Al's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dirty Al's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.