We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool joint, Great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dirty Al's

Dirty Al's
33396 State Park Road 100, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6402
956-761-4901
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Cool joint, Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

There is a place on the South End of SPI that embodies the relaxed attitude & pace of the folks that live on the Island: Dirty Al's. No pretense here, folks. A funky joint on the bay side. Absolutely the best fried shrimp I've ever had in my 57 years...and portions? I ordered the 9 pc shrimp & fries; my Wife got the 6 pc. We had enough food for another meal at the condo. We had the shrimp baskets, 3 beers, and a glass of wine. The tab was $41 bucks!
If you're big on starched table cloths & fancy furniture, Dirty Al's is not the place for you.
If you want great food, cold beer, and friendly faces, all at bargain prices, head straight for Dirty Al's. Absolutely in our Top 5 on the Island.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    189
    136
    55
    27
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Shrimp!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is one of those out-of-the-way places I always take people to who come to visit the Valley. Took my mother there a while back and now she says it's hard to eat shrimp anywhere else (she's from CA). It's no longer a secret though... the place is always crowded. BUT... I understand they opened another one over in Port Isabel - so... maybe need to give that one a try next

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park
1 review
“It is what it is!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Dirty Al's is a great experience for the seafood lover. The atmosphere is of a dive and the service is nothing to write home about but the food is fabulous and well priced. If you want atmosphere, go to Daddy's which has recently moved into the old Garcia's building but you'll give up some menu options.Be aware, the clientele includes people from Mexico and they are known to dress provacatively. At The Big Donkey yesterday there was a family with the wife dressed in a lace on lace outfit that left nothing to the imagination. The restaurant can't control the mores of it's clientele to puritan standards without compromising their business.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not very flavorful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The boys went out fishing, caught some red fish and trout. We brought it to dirty Al's for them to cook it up for us. We were very disappointed in the flavor and the price. Next time we will go to blackboards.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Yummy!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Delicious! Best fish, shrimp, and oysters on the island. Love the buffalo sauce they have. Finger- licking good.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dirty Al's also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dirty Al's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dirty Al's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.