We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peninsula Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Peninsula Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Peninsula Island Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   340 Padre Blvd. and Hwy 100, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Austin, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Would stay here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I'm a pretty harsh critic and our experience here was NOTHING like the people who had bad experiences. List:

1. Location. It's so easy to get to. The grounds are nice and very resort like. Having the beach access was a blessing and their board walk was in great condition. The elevator is, as Sara T. said, VERY, VERY, VERY SLOW. It also has no air-conditioning and when it's 94% humidity outside and 92 degrees, it makes for a looong hot ride.

2. Our suite was really nice and modern! It was super big and clean. The bed was reeaally comfortable but their pillows were rock solid and had us tossing and turning our first night there. After that we just got our own from a store. Shower worked fine and the air conditioning in the rooms worked just as we hoped. The kitchen counters and the counter in the bathroom are granite and all with stainless steel appliances. The balcony was a decent size for two people and we had beautiful views of the ocean and pool. The walls aren't paper thin. I'm a light sleeper and I didn't hear anything upstairs or next to us. In the morning I could hear kids out by the pool but it wasn't terrible. We left the fan on in the bathroom all night to give us some ambient noise so that helped. One tip, bring your own towels. Theirs are pretty rough and I'm just glad I had ones from home to rub on my body/face.

3. Wifi wasn't the strongest. They should do something about that.

4. The pool was the perfect temperature and it was CLEAN!

5. Yes, it is a long way to walk if you park and don't wait for the guys with the golf carts. It's a nice walk nothing crazy and when we first arrived with all of our belongings they were there to get us and bring us to the resort. You can use them whenever you want(well 8AM-10PM), you just have to call.

6. The gym was actually pretty decent for being in a resort hotel and all.

I don't know if we'll stay here when we come back in a few months but I wouldn't rule it out. We just like to see what our options are :) We really enjoyed ourselves and are overall, pleased with our stay at this resort.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 404E and found nothing wrong with it. Just bring your own towels and pillows!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo D, General Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed feedback about your stay and for taking the time to write such a nice review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. The team at Peninsula looks forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
Gustavo Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    32
    23
    18
    28
See reviews for
52
45
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I've stayed in all kinds of hotels at all price points, from $6 a night hostels in the mountains of Peru and hideouts maintained by Jesuits in Cameroon West Africa, to suites in luxury resorts. If there is one thing they tend to have in common, it's some kind of honesty in advertising. In this case though, the name of the hotel is a laughable misnomer. The only word in the entire title that is accurate is "Island", which accurately describes the spot of dirt this building sits on.

When we drove up the the hotel, we wondered if we had the right place. The hotel appears to have stopped construction after the first two buildings, and a large dirt pad separates the small parking lot from the buildings. We were carried to the front desk in a badly beat up, extremely loud golf cart (I think maybe the engine didn't have any oil in it), where we were whisked into a make-shift office where the desk manager heated himself some chicken wings. After checking in and receiving our oddly unbranded key cards, we proceeded up to our room via some eerily-lit walkway, and each of us tried each of the three keys until we found one that worked. We opened the loose door handle, walked though the badly rusting door frame, and discovered that the safety lock had an odd repair which rendered it useless. The room itself was clean if spartan, the beds were adequate, and the a/c worked great. There is a little kitchenette which was convenient. Although there is a vertical sheer curtain, there are no blackout shades. We slept for a few hours, packed up, and headed to our early morning dive on the Texas Clipper.

While there was nothing terrible about the experience, there is a huge gap between what was advertised and priced at $229 a night, and the actual condition and service level this hotel offers, which is more consistent with a budget motel. If you are looking for a budget hotel for your family and happen to find a better rate than we did, this hotel might suffice. But if you expect a three or four star experience for $229 a night, I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo D, General Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are deeply sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. The scenarios you have described will be addressed with all staff members involved. We are working hard on resolving the issues mentioned. Thank you again for taking the time to write to us.

Sincerely,
Gustavo Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

When you first arrive the walk up to the hotel is long and confusing. The front desk isn't even an actual front desk, but more like a sales office. They had lost our reservation although they charged our credit card a month before our stay. The manager came out and said she would honor the reservation "this time".

When we finally got to our room the layout and space were very nice. Had 3 full bedrooms and each bedroom had its own bath. The kitchen area was pretty ghetto and the fridge didn't cool all that great. Most rooms had items missing from them and the hotel never replaced these items such as lamps and alarm clocks. The TVs in the bedrooms aren't even flat panel! This hotel was built in the late 2000's there should be flat panels in all the rooms. Needless to say none of the TV remotes worked except the one in the living room and that was held together with electrical tape. There's rust on all exterior areas and the exterior lights on the both building all turn off early and it gets pretty dark.

Needless to say we won't be staying here again. The restaurant food is awful and the majority of the staff could care less. It's sad because this place has so much potential but nobody cares!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo D, General Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are deeply sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. Your suggestion about the tv's has been taken into consideration and I am happy to inform you that we have switched to HD flat screen tv's on 80% of our rooms so far, and hope to finish switching them all very soon. The scenarios you have described will be addressed with all staff members involved. Thank You for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Gustavo Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I don't have much good to say about this hotel except for one thing, I was given a refund. After attempting to find the best place online for my family and I to spend a weekend at South Padre Island, I found this place. By the pictures and reviews the place looked like an ideal place at a reasonable price. I quickly booked a 1-king with a sleeper sofa and kitchenette. I was a little concerned about the sleeping arrangements since my wife and I have two kids. I called the hotel and asked them to confirm my reservation of the 1-king and they confirmed. My wife and I decided that we would have our smallest child sleep with us in the bed and our oldest on the sleeper sofa.

After driving all day, we reached the hotel at 9pm. During our drive, I called twice to confirm our reservation and to inform them we will be arriving late. At first, I could not find the place since it was tucked away from the road. I noticed that the parking lot is quite a bit away from the hotel. We were allowed to drive on the small golf cart road made out of pavers to the disabled parking lot. Entering the lot, I noticed that aesthetically speaking the place looked very runned down. There was severe corrosion on door hindges, paint peeling, and just looked plain dirty. I checked in at the office and it was very uninviting. It was basically a room with a computer desk. I checked in but I felt uneasy. I told my family that we would check out the place before unloading our bags from the car. To my disappointment, the room was extremely small and plain. First of all, the bed was NOT a king but a double. The so called kitchenette only included a sink and microwave. There were no decorations on the walls which made the place look like a dorm. The only good thing was the tile covered shower. The bed had stains and looked very filthy. We quickly ran down to the office as I was extremely disappointed. To no surprise, they were completely booked so we had no place to stay for the night. I told the lady at the front desk that I called to confirm several times and showed her my reservation printout confirming a King bed. She told me that it had happened before and she was sorry for the mistake. She was at least helpful enough to call her manager so she can get authorization for a refund. However, you can tell she was very inexperienced in managing a hotel. We were lucky enough to go to the Pearl next door and stayed at a great place.

This is the first time I've had this experience in my life. I've heard of travel nightmares but I never thought it would happen to me. In any case, we ended up at a much better place that had much better service. In my opinion, the people at South Padre Island have a lack of customer service for the most part. I'm sure most act this way because of the major tourists that have high demands but nevertheless, good customer service should never be a lack especially when you are in the service industry like hotels. I would NEVER recommend this place to anyone. I much rather stay in Port Isabel or better yet, visit some other place.

Room Tip: Just don't bother. It's a crap-shoot at best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo D, General Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

We apologize for not meeting your expectations. We truly appreciate your feedback and would like to thank you for all of your suggestions.Your comments have been passed along to our respective departments. We are working on resolving all of the mentioned issues.

Sincerely,
Gustavo Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

First of all, be forwarned that these people will begin to call in order to sell you TIMESHARE! We booked through Expedia and had gotten a fairly decent rate for July. However upon arriving we found out that no one spoke english. we walked in to a dirty unmade room then had some upset foreigner knock on our door and claim that we were in his room. He didn't speak english either. the manager never got around to see us. we weren't allowed to drink at the pool but everyone else that was from Mexico had their own ice chests. the bar couldn't sell us drinks to drink by the bar because they were out of plastic cups! again we couldn't even communicate with the restaurant staff because of the language barrier. the lobby is just a desk that you'd have in your study. we went to have breakfast and had timeshare sales people harassing us. this is absolutely the worst experience we've ever had at a hotel.

Room Tip: tell them that you are not interested in buying timeshare...maybe they'll leave you alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo D, General Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

We apologize for the inconveniences, we have relayed them to our respective teams and owner and hope to have good news to share soon! I assure you that we are working very hard to improve every aspect of the Hotel, Our goal is to create memorable experiences for all of our guests.

Sincerely,
Gustavo Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The thing about TripAdvisor is there are alot of complaints. I can tell you this much about this property and condos. For one, the three bedroom condos have more space than any other units you can rent together on South Padre Island. They also have a washer & dryer inside which you think you don't need but we used it alot. Yes, the appliances are white and not stainless steel. If that's a deal breaker to your vacation you shouldn't stay here. The views are great. The pool also is a walk in which is good for two reasons. 1.) kids, it's shallow and 2.) old folks. My mom has MS and shes ok to walk but...not really on climbing into a pool. That's a big plus. Yes, the service isn't like a Ritz Carlton, but the Ritz or Four Seasons is $400/night for a standard hotel room. Peninsula is $500 to $800 a night for a 1700 square foot three bedroom three bathroom condo that sleeps 10 people. I also noticed the showers outside at pool deck only ONE works, but with that said 5 of the 10 showers worked. It's real easy to point out flaws of course. As we live local and still stay at the property for mini vacations I have stayed here over 25 times and really know it in and out.

Room Tip: honestly even ground floor rooms have a view and with kids I'd ask if possible for ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo D, General Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this positive review. We hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Gustavo Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I booked a room here through a 3rd party 2 weeks ago. I called the hotel to confirm that they have indeed got our reservation and they told me that they can't check that since I booked through a 3rd party. If that's the case then I'm dreading check-in, how do I even know I have a room if they can't confirm it, and how do I know that they will not to sell my room to someone else if they can't confirm my reservation? After the unsuccessful phone call, I sent an email which they STILL haven't replied to! Upon contacting the agency I booked through, they told me the hotel would contact me to process my payment - it seems I'm being given the run around.- I'm a little concerned that these bad reviews are living up to reality, I had sincerely hoped they would be proved wrong. Not impressed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo D, General Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate your honest feedback, we have taken every suggestion into consideration and are currently working hard and training our team to improve our customer service. Thank you for your time.

Sincerely,
Gustavo Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peninsula Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Island Resort & Spa

Address: 340 Padre Blvd. and Hwy 100, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#11 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peninsula Island Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the sea oats and sand dunes, and highlighted by the blue of the Gulf of Mexico, The Peninsula Island Resort and Spa South Padre Island, Texas is the perfect venue for a relaxing island escape. Located directly on the beach in the heart of South Padre Island's "hotel row", our upscale property opened in 2006, and combines the highest standards in construction with contemporary, tasteful design. The units are all well-appointed, and range in size from our very popular studio kitchenette units to our 3 bedroom/3 bath condominiums. With concrete walls, porcelain tile flooring, and leather furniture, our resort was designed to resist to mold, humidity and allergens all-too-often common near the sea. Our swimming pool is the largest infinity pool in South Texas, and features a convenient swim up bar. Each offers either a full kitchen or kitchenette, and everything else necessary to cook and serve a gourmet meal. If cooking is not your thing, Las Olas Restaurant Grill and Bar, located onsite, is considered by many to be one of the best restaurants on South Padre Island, and offers a variety of delicious homemade dishes available for in-room dining. All-in-all, the Peninsula is in a league of its own--offering the spacious luxury of a condominium, coupled with the service and appointments of an upper-tier resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Peninsula Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Island Resort And Spa
Peninsula Island Hotel South Padre Island
Peninsula South Padre Island
South Padre Island Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.