We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peninsula Island Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Peninsula Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peninsula Island Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   340 Padre Blvd. and Hwy 100, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 32 hotels in South Padre Island
West Columbia, Texas
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Needs updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Left the Pearl to stay here and it was a much better improvement. I could take a shower and actually feel clean. The room was outdated but the bed was comfortable. I don't know if i would stay here again because there are newer hotels on the island.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo D, General Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback and review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have taken your suggestion about being outdated into consideration and we are glad to inform you that we are currently in the process of refurbishing and remodeling all of our units. Thank You for taking the time to write about us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Gustavo Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    29
    18
    15
    25
See reviews for
47
33
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uvalde, tx
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights with our 2 teenagers. Upon arrival, we had to walk across the very long parking lot to get the attention of hotel staff to get us a golf cart for our luggage. Then we waited another 30 min. for them to arrive to our car! The property was pretty but it seemed like there was never anyone around when you needed them. The elevator was very slow, the room was fair at best for the $$$$ we spent. The key card had to be replaced 3 times, It was my birthday and we tried to make spa/restaurant reservations but NOONE ever answered the phone! We walked down to the restaurant..NOONE was there! EVER!! No happy hours, No maintenance people, we saw only one person for 3 days and that was the front desk clerk that barely spoke english. NO HOUSEKEEPING!! We should've brought a broom because sand was everywhere. The only plus was the closeness to the beach (the resort provided umbrellas/chairs) and the view from the balcony. We could've stayed at the Hilton for the amount we spent and had way more amenities. (we spent around $1200.00 for 3 nights.)

Room Tip: Bring a broom, you will need it for the sand as there is no housekeeping here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo D, General Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are deeply sorry that your stay was not very enjoyable. The details you have described have been addressed. We are now under new management and we are working very hard to improve the overall experience for our guests here at Peninsula. I am also happy to inform you that our team is currently in training to improve our customer service. Thank You so much for taking the time to write!

Sincerely,
Gustavo Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our original unit was close to construction and was loud, but the wonderful Siada Perez helped us get another location that was fabulous. If there is a need for more towels or anything ask, people were accommodating.

Room Tip: Gulf view rooms and units are very good. Building on left of pool facing the gulf is graciously appo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo D, General Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Gustavo Diaz,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

I booked my reservation on hotels . Com as I arrived hotel appearance was nice some construction going on... room was a 3 bedroom 3 bath
Hot tub was not working at all asked if it could be fixed was or moved to another room never even given answer... Sofa sleeper collapsed was fixed after 5 hours ...Faucet in kitchen sink not working properly... Don't even try to move beds very dirty under the beds ... Cleaning lady said she couldn't clean under beds
Too heavy.. Would try other hotels
Before I stay here again !!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustServProPeninsula, General Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We thank you very much for your candid assessment of your experience at our resort, as this help us out tremendously in helping us to improve our guests' experiences. I do assure you that we will be addressing these issues immediately. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We moved here from the LaCopa next door and it was the best voice I ever made. The place is not perfect but we really enjoyed staying here. The staff was great, they helped us bring groceries to our room and picked us up from the parking area with a 6 person golf cart. We were allowed in early to Change and enjoy the pool while our room was being tournedos over. If we return to SPI we will definitely stay here again. We were also upgraded to a 3 bedroom 3 bath condo.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustServProPeninsula, General Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
We thank you immensely for your kind review, and for having taken the time to share it on this site. We truly enjoyed having had your wonderful family stay with us and very much look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulshear, Texas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This 3 BR 3 bath unit was laid out very nicely on the beachfront, however, the maintenance is horrible. The sink faucet is not screwed down and falling out of the hole and you need two hands to hold it in place in order to turn it on and off. Two doors inside were locked so we had to call the front desk to have them opened. Then we had to call them again to get a sink stopper so we could fill the sink with water. The kitchen has bare minimum pots/pans/dishes and the dryer does not work. It is so noisy - like fingernails on chalkboards - and after an hour or so when the clothes are not dry you then need to spread them over all the chair in the place over night to get them dry. Makes you feel like you're at the coin laundromat with all the clothes drying around you. The WiFi is basically not working so we had to get the name and passcode for the neighboring property and use theirs, which is slower than dirt. The best thing about this timeshare is that almost no one else is here so we have the hot tub to ourselves, and it is warm enough since the pool is unheated and cold.

Room Tip: Beachfront in Building A would be the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustServProPeninsula, General Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
I do wish to apologize for your adverse experience while at our hotel. We had upgraded you from a standard oceanfront view room to an oceanfront 1692 sq ft 3 bedroom condo in hopes of having offered you a more comfortable stay. We are actually in the middle of our spring improvement program and regret that you had some issues with your bathroom faucet and wish your clothes dryer. We have since replaced these items and are in the process of upgrading our wifi signal as well. I hope that you will give us a chance in the near future in order to be able to demonstrate the significant improvements being made at our relatively-new property. We thank you for your feedback, as well, as this helps us to identify opportunity for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahlequah, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I are completing our third visit and second winter at Peninsula Island Spa and Resort. This last two month stay has resulted in a three month reservation for 2014. Even though we regret having to be away from our home and family, the Peninsula Island Staff have become so close and the gulf climate makes such a life changing diference to our health and disposition we have no choice but to spend the winter months at the greatest resort on the island, the Peninsula.

Room Tip: The two room units are great even for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustServProPeninsula, General Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
We truly enjoyed your time with us, and look forward to your arrival next year. It is so enjoyable to have you two visit us and keep us company for a few months a year. Enjoy yourselves in Oklahoma knowing that your South Padre family eagerly awaits your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Peninsula Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Island Resort & Spa

Address: 340 Padre Blvd. and Hwy 100, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#10 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peninsula Island Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the sea oats and sand dunes, and highlighted by the blue of the Gulf of Mexico, The Peninsula Island Resort and Spa South Padre Island, Texas is the perfect venue for a relaxing island escape. Located directly on the beach in the heart of South Padre Island's "hotel row", our upscale property opened in 2006, and combines the highest standards in construction with contemporary, tasteful design. The units are all well-appointed, and range in size from our very popular studio kitchenette units to our 3 bedroom/3 bath condominiums. With concrete walls, porcelain tile flooring, and leather furniture, our resort was designed to resist to mold, humidity and allergens all-too-often common near the sea. Our swimming pool is the largest infinity pool in South Texas, and features a convenient swim up bar. Each offers either a full kitchen or kitchenette, and everything else necessary to cook and serve a gourmet meal. If cooking is not your thing, Las Olas Restaurant Grill and Bar, located onsite, is considered by many to be one of the best restaurants on South Padre Island, and offers a variety of delicious homemade dishes available for in-room dining. All-in-all, the Peninsula is in a league of its own--offering the spacious luxury of a condominium, coupled with the service and appointments of an upper-tier resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Peninsula Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Island Resort And Spa
Peninsula Island Hotel South Padre Island
Peninsula South Padre Island
South Padre Island Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.