We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Beachside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Beachside Inn to your Saves list
Beachside Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4500 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Edinburg, Texas, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nasty!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Customer service wasn't great, did not present himself,not professional, too much clutter on front desk, hallways felt muggy, bath towels had other persons hair and also floors,that was gross, We had to buy our own towels at a beach store. Some lights in the room did not work. The bed was old, dented, broken, was not comfortable with 2 pillows only which we're also dirty! Never going back. Don't spend your money here not worth it.

Room Tip: Don't come to beachside, it's crap
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    14
    1
    13
See reviews for
14
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SAN ANTONIO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a nice hotel to lounge in, this is not it. It serves it's purpose as a place to lay your head and that's about it. Close enough to the beach to walk but not on the beach like the photo shows. Complimentary breakfast was cereal and bread. Only bar soap provided in the bathroom. They do have a fridge and a microwave which came in handy. Not bad for the price but no luxury, no extras.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

One word will describe this hotel - disgusting. Definitely not worth the price. Would rather camp out on the beach instead. The floor was damp all the time and the bed linens did not appear clean. When paying over $300 for a room you expect to get a good quality clean room.

Room Tip: Clean rooms and update with new bed linens. floor was damp all the time
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Just got back from beachside. Its very good for the price. Location is great for me. Within walking distance to stores and restaraunts. Dont expect something luxurious at all. But its good and didn't have the damp beach smell like the first time I stayed there. Don't expect a actual continental breakfast but I'd definitely go back.Also it's not a noisy place, which I like!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Dirty, filthy, yucky... Bedspreads have holes, sheets are worn thin. I heated up some water for coffee and a cockroach ran out of the microwave. I reported it to the manager who promptly moved me to a different room and said he would spray. Room #2: went to plug my computer into my charger, and when I moved stuff on the desk saw another cockroach. I reported it at the front desk, and they didn't seem the least bit surprised. When I checked out the following morning, several days early, the manager did agree to refund my money, after he angrily commented that he'd never had complaints before. Upon visiting with other guests on the property, they said they had been killing bugs in their rooms, but hadn't realized what kind of bugs they were.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanata, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked this hotel on a shoestring budget. It was better than I expected as it was very clean. The staff were friendly and polite. Normally they charge for the pillow, but since there was only two pillows on a king bed, I was able to get them to give us one extra pillow. The room was clean, however the bathroom was dated and could use some updating. The room was a bit crowded; a single King bed barely fit. However the benefits much outweighed the drawbacks.
I liked how fellow guests enjoyed the public areas; the Winter Texans were very nice and polite. It really made me feel at home. Best of all, breakfast included crock pots filled with fresh hot buscuits, gravy, sausages and eggs with cheese. This was hands down the best breakfast we had all trip. I would definitely book it again, but bring my own pillow if I wanted more.

Room Tip: The single King room we booked was very tight. The TV was perched high on top of a wardrobe replaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Ok first of all there ARE refrigerators and microwaves, at leastthe in the room we stayed in, also showers in the bathtubs. Clean rooms nice housekeeping, but no extra blankets or pillows, they charge 5 extra dollars for a pillow! Also no blowdryer or iron in rooms. Continental breakfast is cereal and toast but if you come in expecting where it is you'll be fine!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Inn

Address: 4500 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beachside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This South Padre Island hotel is a 5-minute walk from the beach and 1 mile from Big Mother Bay Fishing tours. It serves a continental breakfast every morning and features an outdoor pool. Each room at Beachside Inn has cable TV, a refrigerator, a microwave, a coffee maker and a work desk. Guests at the Beachside Inn can relax in the outdoor hot tub. The hotel's front desk is staffed 24 hours a day and there are laundry facilities on site. The Port Isabel History Museum is 5 miles from the hotel. Long Island Golf Course is 6 miles from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Beachside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachside Hotel South Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.