We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachside Inn aka Cockroach Inn” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Beachside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Beachside Inn to your Saves list
Beachside Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4500 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beachside Inn aka Cockroach Inn”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Dirty, filthy, yucky... Bedspreads have holes, sheets are worn thin. I heated up some water for coffee and a cockroach ran out of the microwave. I reported it to the manager who promptly moved me to a different room and said he would spray. Room #2: went to plug my computer into my charger, and when I moved stuff on the desk saw another cockroach. I reported it at the front desk, and they didn't seem the least bit surprised. When I checked out the following morning, several days early, the manager did agree to refund my money, after he angrily commented that he'd never had complaints before. Upon visiting with other guests on the property, they said they had been killing bugs in their rooms, but hadn't realized what kind of bugs they were.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimberly1069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked this hotel on a shoestring budget. It was better than I expected as it was very clean. The staff were friendly and polite. Normally they charge for the pillow, but since there was only two pillows on a king bed, I was able to get them to give us one extra pillow. The room was clean, however the bathroom was dated and could use some updating. The room was a bit crowded; a single King bed barely fit. However the benefits much outweighed the drawbacks.
I liked how fellow guests enjoyed the public areas; the Winter Texans were very nice and polite. It really made me feel at home. Best of all, breakfast included crock pots filled with fresh hot buscuits, gravy, sausages and eggs with cheese. This was hands down the best breakfast we had all trip. I would definitely book it again, but bring my own pillow if I wanted more.

Room Tip: The single King room we booked was very tight. The TV was perched high on top of a wardrobe replaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Ok first of all there ARE refrigerators and microwaves, at leastthe in the room we stayed in, also showers in the bathtubs. Clean rooms nice housekeeping, but no extra blankets or pillows, they charge 5 extra dollars for a pillow! Also no blowdryer or iron in rooms. Continental breakfast is cereal and toast but if you come in expecting where it is you'll be fine!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashjenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Pay attention to first impressions. Trash in parking lot, stairway, elevator and hallways. Strong smell of bleach in the lobby and through out hotel. Room appeared clean, however found hairs in tub along with roaches. Took over five minutes for front desk to acknowledge me and no one else was present. Very poor customer service and property very poorly maintained. Owners and staff should watch a few episodes of Hotel Impossible. There's no excuse for lack of cleanliness and poor customer service.

Room Tip: Book at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Padre Island hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for an impromptu Valentine's Day mini vacation in February. While the hotel was average, I did find it to be very clean and comfortable. The room small but I didn't expect much more for the price. Great location, walking distance to great restaurants and the beach. The pool was very refreshing and jacuzzi hot, although the view from was less than desirable being right on the strip across from police station. All in all, for the off season rate, I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cornchita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

reserved two rooms for two nights, but once we checked in and saw the condition of the property we cancelled our stay, paid the cancellation fee and found rooms elsewhere on the island. If you are used to Hampton/Fairfield/LaQuinta/Holiday Inn Express level accomodations, you will be sorely disappointed here.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CatChiMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle Pass, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

our stay on was horrible. the staff was rude and illiterate. the hotel wreaked like it was dirty. the room itself is old and very outdated. comforter on bed had holes and was dingy. sofa bed mattress had huge nasty brown stains and when we asked for another sheet to layer the mattress for my daughters to sleep in they questioned it and gave us a hard time. gets better, at 3:30 in the morning, i felt something crawl on my face. i swiped it off had my husband turn on the lights to find that it was a huge roach. these people are dirty. i would not even have my dogs sleep in these conditions. next time, we will pay a little extra to get alot more. good luck for those of you who plan on staying. when i confronted them about our incident, there was no reaction from front desk. guess this is normal...

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sita g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
1.0 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#16 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Knights Inn South Padre Island
Knights Inn South Padre Island
#17 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#4 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 976 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Inn

Address: 4500 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Beachside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This South Padre Island hotel is a 5-minute walk from the beach and 1 mile from Big Mother Bay Fishing tours. It serves a continental breakfast every morning and features an outdoor pool. Each room at Beachside Inn has cable TV, a refrigerator, a microwave, a coffee maker and a work desk. Guests at the Beachside Inn can relax in the outdoor hot tub. The hotel's front desk is staffed 24 hours a day and there are laundry facilities on site. The Port Isabel History Museum is 5 miles from the hotel. Long Island Golf Course is 6 miles from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Beachside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachside Hotel South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing