We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Review” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Bella Resort

Save Saved
You added Casa Bella Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Bella Resort
5601 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597 (Formerly Casa Bella Resort Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor Review”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Upon entering the room, the first item that was a concern, the smoke alarm was beeping. The air conditioner was set so cold that we had to turn it off and open the door to warm up the room. There was a back door and window that were both unlocked, so we secured both of them. We couldn't get the lights to work over the beds so another call to the front desk. One of the beds had torn sheets. The next morning we found bed bugs on the mattress. The staff was concerned when we spoke to them about it. They are supposed to have a continental breakfast at 8:00 am but when we arrived at 8:20 we couldn't even get coffee. They were not prepared.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    3
    10
    18
See reviews for
18
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Let's start with the worst of this unbelievable nightmare. On the 6th day of a 7 day hotel stay we discovered that under a clean pillow case there was a pillow that been soaked with blood that had dried. We slept on that pillow for 5 nights. The room was musty, mildewed and smelled of smoke. The shower had a handle dangling from the wall. The hot tub was dirty and stained. The breakfast communal economy sized tub of margarine had a puddle of rancid liquid in the bottom and crumbs from other guests. There was no housekeeping for 6 days. We took our dirty towels to the Office every day for clean towels, mat and toilet paper. The bed was never made. The linens never changed. The dirty, stained rug was never vacuumed. The first 4 days the key cards didn't work and we had to go to the office each time we wanted to get into our room. One night we returned to our room and the office was locked. We had to call and wait 30 minutes to get into our room. The remote for the TV was missing. The button for the channel selector was missing. I asked for a different room the first day and the manager refused despite there being only 3 other rooms occupied. We left the Inn on the 6th day and I received a refund for the entire week. That hardly compensated us for what we went thru on what was supposed to be a windsurfing vacation. The only reason we stayed as long as we did, it was a couple blocks from the windsurfing rental. Oh yes, we are 2 responsible adults 60 yrs. old. We will pursue all options available to us in this situation. We'll start with the Corporate Office. And then.............?

Room Tip: The rooms are terrible, filthy, ill maintained, a health hazard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

NO SLEEP :( BEDS SUCK........got screwed over 150$ CRAPPY MATTRESSES, all they offered was to change to another crappy mattress\Room. Had to take out our sleeping bags to sleep on. DO NOT COME HERE! 0300....sleepless customer.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

I stayed here for a week during the off season, Feb 2012. The weekly rate was the best Ive ever had and the staff was friendly and helpful. My room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. I had a wonderful time and I will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011 via mobile

We drive into the hotel on a jam packed memorial day weekend and they're empty... That's weird, this is why. We got our room keys and headed up to the room and smack!! You are hit my a moldy wet smelling room. Hearing how bad the reviews were of the managers charging people for dirty rooms an towels( you even sign a rental agreement on this) I decided to take pictures of everything dirty or wrong with the room here's what I found... Dirty towels, only a bar of soap no toiletries ( thank god we packed our own) the lamp shades had an inch of dust and dirt on them, marker/paint/scuffs and marks all over the walls, dirty severely stained desk chair, and a spit ball on our wall... The place looks nothing like the pictures they show, there was no breakfast, far from the beach. The next two nights we stayed at suites and sunchase and it was amazing!!! A bit more expensive but very nice staff , rooms, and beds! If you see this hotel please save yourself and keep driving...

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rubenreyes, Manager at Casa Bella Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
I am so sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay, I have looked at the issues that you mentioned and have met with my staff, and have made sure that they have been resolved. I hope that you stay with us again so that we may show you what true guest service is all about.

Thank You

Ernest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We made the mistake of not booking soon enough to come down here, found a room, would have been better if we had not. The room ad no amenities except soap, threadbare towels and shampoo in a "ketchup" pack. Security is good, but it would be nice if they told you up front that the room will not be serviced during the stay except for towels.

Plan ahead and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rubenreyes, Manager at Casa Bella Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
I am so sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay, we have looked at the issues that you mentioned have retrained our staff so that no one ever has to go through this again. We will I hope that you stay with us again so that we may show you what true guest service is all about.

Thank You

Ernest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Bella Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bella Resort

Address: 5601 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597 (Formerly Casa Bella Resort Hotel)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Casa Bella Resort, the newest resort hotel on South Padre Island, is located on the water channel. It is our goal to provide quality, affordable, and unforgettable accommodations during your stay. Our Mediterranean-style courtyard features a swimming pool with ever-changing tinted lights, a relaxing hot tub, beautiful landscaping surrounded by romantic balconies with palm trees that sway in the breeze. Our lovely rooms come either with one king and two queen beds, desk & chair, microwaves, refrigerators, and twin sofa sleepers. Be sure to ask for the hot tub room which sports a king size bed and a separate Jacuzzi tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Bella Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites Casa Bella Hotel South Padre Island
Casa Bella Hotel
Hotel Casa Bella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Bella Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.