We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean; outstanding staff; close to beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6502 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Lubbock, Texas
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Very clean; outstanding staff; close to beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

To be this close to the beach (a quick half block walk) and this clean is nothing short of incredible. We arrived on a very busy weekend (Sand Castle Days) and stayed after the crowd went home. Fantastically clean. Large rooms. An enormous pool. Close to Clayton's, so it's easy to walk over via the beach and enjoy a cool beverage and hot food with a front-row view of the beach and ocean.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    53
    29
    7
    7
See reviews for
73
48
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located on the NE end of the island, which is fine because the free island transportation is so accommodating. No more than 5 mins walk to the beach. Hôtel is very clean and staff very helpful and polite. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife and I took our honeymoon to South Padre Island and chose Holiday Inn Express for our hotel, I would have to say it was the best hotel that I have ever stayed at in my life . We arrived on Sept 30th and was greeted by Karen the manager at the desk she was so sweet and professional, we check in our room and then ask her where she would recommend us eating on the island she told us Senor Donkey and Daddy's both excellent choices that I would highly recommend, then later that night I came down to the front desk and was talking to Karen and told her we were on her honeymoon I was very pleased with our room that we had, but she took it upon herself and moved us to what I would call a Honeymoon suite with a Jacuzzi tub, and even told us that her staff would come up there and move us. You don't run into great people and passionate people like Karen everyday, she is so driven and Holiday Inn Express I would say has a top notch employee and a very valuable one , one that when I come back to South Padre will always choose Holiday Inn Express as my choice of hotel wherever I go...Thank You very much Karen for making our honeymoon on the island a very enjoyable one!!!! Also the lady that cooks the breakfast she is wonderful, real good breakfast. overall Holiday INN express is topnotch first class, and should be ranked on trip advisor #1 and shouldn't be #2...Heres To Holiday Inn Express-South Padre #1 Hotel Thank you from the bottom of our hearts to all of you and look forward to coming back to the #1 Hotel on the island... Keep up the great work

Room Tip: Every room you choose at this hotel is exceptional and the staff is 1st class, this hotel is like st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Spent a long weekend here in July with my husband and our boys. Room has a great view of the water facing north if your room is on the parking lot side. It was clean, quiet, had a refrigerator and microwave, cable tv, wireless access, and bathroom has marble interior and clean. Across the street is Sea Turtle Inc, a donation only facility that rescues sea turtles. The beach is about a block away from the hotel, easy walk even with a toddler and carrying towels and beach gears. There is also an aquarium in the lobby my sons loved watching while waiting for us during check-in. The hotel has a pool in the back if you don't want to go to the beach but the beach water is nice and warm. It could get pretty crowded there but we didn't hear the noises since we are on a higher floor level. Breakfast is American with waffles, fruits, oatmeals, baked rolls, muffins, cereal, coffee, etc. It comes with the hotel stay so it's really convenient. The hotel is also a little off the main strip when you first cross the causeway from Port Isabel so the road in front is quiet at night. You can rent bikes to go around the area too. Try the sushi restaurants on the island and enjoy some lazy day at the beach! We will definitely come back. Discounts apply for military and federal workers.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher level for a better view and less noise from the pool in the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Talk about the location of this hotel! It is at the North end of the strip and may seem far initially. Spend some time here and you soon realize it is pretty cool.

Its walking distance from the beach, this segment of the beach is not as crowded, you can find chairs and umbrellas on rent. The Clayton bar is 100 yards away and you can grab food and drink from their, i.e. if you forgot to get your own. Clayton has a lot of shows from top artists and we sat on the beach to hear a Nelly concert for free!

It is close to the Parrot Eyes for boat rides etc. The Sea Turtle hospital and the nature center are close by too. You can head out further north to other beach locations that are more remote, but also have more sea weed.

You have to drive to the restaurants and bars, which may be a little inconvenient if you plan to drink.
Lastly, can not stop raving about the Jacuzzi inside the room, it was such a hit with us. The room facilities were great, they had Bath & Body works shampoo in the room, the included breakfast is plentiful and enjoyable.
All in all I would not have asked fir anything more for the price I paid.

Room Tip: Book early and save a ton, closer to long weekends the price of the room is 3 or 4 times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Was there for 2 days and it was a pleasant stay.Our flight arrived early an check-in wasn't until 3p but, they had a room ready and checked us in at 2p. Walking distance to the beach and a new place called Clayton's also on the beach (bar&restaurant)
I would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel was nothing special, mainly picked it because of the price and neither of us have been to South Padre before so we did not realize how far away it was from everything else on the island. The front desk staff was hit or miss, the pool we did not go in because it was about the size of my pool at home and crowded with children. The beach was fantastic although it was a little bit of a round about walk to get to. Make sure to bring lots of water, 50 plus sunscreen and aloe. Tip: cabs only accept cash and everything closes at 2:00am except Burgerfi and Dairy Queen I think. Not a bad stay I would just spend an extra $20 each and get something more toward the center of the island where everything is at.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear DePaul8407,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. It is regrettable we fell short of your expectations this particular day. Please be assured that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island

Address: 6502 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Padre Island's newest and finest hotel, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, invites you to travel Mexico & Texas in ONE VACATION to South Padre. You'll experience the white sand beaches and crystal blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico. As you enter our lobby, you will be immersed in tropical elegance. Check in will be a breeze as you and your family escape into our sea life - a 500 gallon aquarium. All our oversized rooms come with spectacular views of Laguna Madre Bay, Gulf of Mexico or our tropical poolside. If you're here for business, relax - we offer free wireless Internet in all public areas and high speed Internet access in every room as well as a complimentary full service business center. For the ultimate in convenience, all rooms have micro-fridges, coffee makers, dataport speaker phones and state-of-the art on demand movies/music and video games. Thanks to the latest technology, on demand movies can be paused/rewound so you'll never miss an important phone call. We are across the street from the Convention Center and close to championship golf, nightclubs, shopping centers and a variety of eateries. Visit Sea Turtle, Inc. or spend the day at Schlitterbahn Beach Water Park. The beach is just a short walk from your room where you can participate in deep sea fishing, horseback riding, parasailing, jet skiing or a local favorite - barbecuing on the beach. We are the perfect tropical getaway whether you're here for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn South Padre Island
South Padre Island Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.