We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quirky Place But We Keep Going Back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6502 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Helotes, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Quirky Place But We Keep Going Back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel has seen its better days, but honestly, you can't beat the location and the courtesy of the staff. The facility was updated a couple of seasons ago, and they work hard to maintain the property--rooms are clean and they keep it reasonably fresh despite aging A/C equipment. The dining room is basic--so is the food. But it's a good value and the staff--from the chef to the servers--try hard to accommodate guest requests--even oddball ones. We've been there multiple times and will go back again. If you want to experience the Gulf Coast with no hassle, this is the place to stay. Beautiful beach is just steps from the hotel door. People who seem to care about what they are doing.

Room Tip: A/C units in the rooms can be annoying, regardless of class of room selected. View rooms are nice b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    53
    31
    7
    7
See reviews for
73
48
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McAllen, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel room was extremely comfortable and clean. The jacuzzi was in top working order, and was hot and relaxing. The pool was clean and had a small waterfall which makes it fun for kids. But the main attraction for me was the breakfast buffet, which had everything you can imagine, from waffles, to eggs and sausage! The coffee was hot and the food delicious. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saginaw, tx
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

northern end of island so a little less traffic. beach was 4 minute walk. room was spacious. free breakfast was ok. There is a woman named Carolina that works in breakfast area that was actually running around making sure all the breakfast foods were out. One day we walked down and she was holding a guests baby. She was outstanding and the hotel is lucky to have her. Only incident we had was got locked out of our rooms one day before checkout. The front desk reactivated our card. Comfortable bed. Nice room and very clean, Turtle place and bird sanctuary right across the street. Would stay again

Room Tip: we were in 311 which faced the bay and was close to elevator and ice machine but not too close. not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central TX
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Have stayed at this Holiday Inn Express before, and have had a positive experience both times. Facility is in good shape overall, fairly updated, clean and welcoming. Only slight issues, such as not enough accomodations for hanging/drying wet clothes in a beach town and at a hotel with a pool, the water tastes poorly and could stand to be filtered (not atypical for a coastal area), fitness room only had a few cardio machines and nautilous machine, and elevators were pretty slow. We love the pool and the staff was very friendly and accomodating. The breakfast area gets very crowded and hard to navigate at times, which seems to be the norm these days at hotels with a free breakfast. The food was not spectacular, but on a par with what you should expect. At the price point at which we booked a suite ($199/night in June), my family and I would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel was fine. The photo on their site was a little deceiving. It's a very long block away from the beach. Not terrible but be prepared on a hot day for a hot walk.

The buffet is included an average at best. Typical hotel buffet fare. Nothing great but nothing terrible.

Room was clean. They put us in a handicapped room for some reason. Not sure why. But room was cleaned and care for every day.

At the right price the hotel is fine. But for the price they ask we would rent a condo somewhere if we go back to South Padre.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Howard G,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. It is nice to know that you noticed the cleanliness of the room. I truly apologize for the not up to par experience you had during you stay with us. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I am glad I was with friends if I was alone I would have left hotel terrible in general. The front desk ladies were rude. The rest of the staff was nice. The rooms were outdated and smelled moldy, someone should check if they are not infested in mold.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIESouthPadreIsland, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Please accept my most sincere apology regarding your disappointing stay. I ask that you allow us to correct the impression you took from our hotel. We instill in all our staff guest love and take your comments very seriously. I see your stay was in March, during certain special events the hotel's wear and tear is unimaginable, however we promise to pay attention to detail and hope that you will revisit us.
Sincerely,
Alma Mcleroy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Loved staying here, clean rooms, awesome staff (especially the sweet ladies who get the hot breakfast ready). Short walk to beach. Pool is nice during the week but gets over crowded on the weekends. Pool has a grill but wasn't able to use it because feasts were being cooked for everyone in the pool whom I suspect were not staying at the hotel. Not the hotels fault but something should be put into place so the ones who are paying to stay here has access to the amenities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIESouthPadreIsland, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for staying at our hotel, Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites and visiting our beautiful South Padre Island. Your kind words will be shared with all the staff as they take an enormous pride in guest satisfaction. I also share with you that we are enforcing wristbands and requiring all guest to register their additional guest in their room so that our staying guest enjoy the exclusive convenience of all the facilities in our hotel.
Happy and Safe Travels,
Alma Mcleroy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island

Address: 6502 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Padre Island's newest and finest hotel, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, invites you to travel Mexico & Texas in ONE VACATION to South Padre. You'll experience the white sand beaches and crystal blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico. As you enter our lobby, you will be immersed in tropical elegance. Check in will be a breeze as you and your family escape into our sea life - a 500 gallon aquarium. All our oversized rooms come with spectacular views of Laguna Madre Bay, Gulf of Mexico or our tropical poolside. If you're here for business, relax - we offer free wireless Internet in all public areas and high speed Internet access in every room as well as a complimentary full service business center. For the ultimate in convenience, all rooms have micro-fridges, coffee makers, dataport speaker phones and state-of-the art on demand movies/music and video games. Thanks to the latest technology, on demand movies can be paused/rewound so you'll never miss an important phone call. We are across the street from the Convention Center and close to championship golf, nightclubs, shopping centers and a variety of eateries. Visit Sea Turtle, Inc. or spend the day at Schlitterbahn Beach Water Park. The beach is just a short walk from your room where you can participate in deep sea fishing, horseback riding, parasailing, jet skiing or a local favorite - barbecuing on the beach. We are the perfect tropical getaway whether you're here for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn South Padre Island
South Padre Island Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.