We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & family friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6502 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location & family friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Pros: Great location, a short walk to the beach / Big, clean pool, not too deep so it's great for kids/ Free breakfast (although not much variety)/ Clean rooms/ Free parking
Cons: Room smelled musty - not much can be done with this because when you come back from the pool or beach, you have wet towels and bathing suits with nowhere to dry them. This hotel would definitely get 5 stars if they had balconies - or even a window that partially opens to air out the room.
The sofa bed was VERY uncomfortable so don't count on your teenage kid being happy about sleeping on it!

Room Tip: Top floor was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIESouthPadreIsland, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for staying at our hotel, Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites and for visiting our beautiful South Padre Island. I am happy you enjoyed the pool area and our breakfast. I am sorry we don't have balconies, and in hopes you will visit us again I'd like to share with you that for drying clothes we have a washer/dryer for the convenience of our guest. I apologize for the uncomfortable accommodations with the sofa bed, they are not as comfortable as our wonderful beds. Wishing you safe and happy travels,

Alma Mcleroy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    59
    32
    8
    7
See reviews for
78
56
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Awesome staff, nice hotel, excellent breakfast. This is a great place to stay for a family vacation on the beach. Very comfortable, clean, staff is super helpful. Easy access to the beach. Feels more like an upscale hotel than an express. The price is great for what you get in my opinion. We will be back for sure!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIESouthPadreIsland, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your enjoyable stay at our hotel, Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites and for visiting our beautiful South Padre Island. We instill in our staff guest love and your feedback is our best reward. Please visit soon and check our priority club reward promotions. Safe Travels,

Alma Mcleroy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

This is the most amazing motel I have ever stayed in! The rooms are beautiful, the location is RIGHT on the beach, the pool is huge, and the food is good! The price tends to be high in the summer & spring break but that is the same with all the other hotels. This is truly amazing and if you want to take a trip to the beach, GO HERE! You won't regret it. Money well spend!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This Holiday Inn Express feels more like an expensive resort than a Holiday Inn. The staff goes above & beyond to meet your needs. The facility is clean and quiet. The breakfast has a reasonable variety for being complementary. The location is on the north end, away from the crowded tourist south end, which was a plus for us. It's only a few minutes drive to where you want to go. Some people complain that it is not on the beach, but the beach is only a short walk and you certainly are not paying exorbitant 'beach front' prices. And, unlike an expensive resort, there are no 'small service charges' for internet, in room coffee, microwave, refrigerator, etc. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This hotel is amazing! We went on our first vacation together to the beach and thoroughly enjoyed every second of it! The staff is wonderful and so attentive. There is a housekeeper there named Carolina who made our stay in the hotel so pleasant. She's incredibly friendly and personable while working very hard to make sure everyone is happy. We will be back to this hotel, without a doubt!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The friendly and proffesional staff made this trip for our family and unforgettable experience in South Padre Island. The hotel was very clean and safe. We were new to the area and do not regret choosing Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in South Padre Island. The staff met and exceeded all our needs and special accomodations. Breakfast was delicious each morning, and their menu was not boring nor the same every morning. One of my family members asked to check in early and they were able to accomodate that request as well. Some of the special needs we asked for and were very pleased with included: late check out, permission to use the breakfast area after hours, pain medicine, pool towels, early check in and a few more... When we return to South Padre Island, we will definetely stay at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 4th floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIESouthPadreIsland, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for staying at our hotel, Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites and visiting our South Padre Island on such a special day. I am very pleased to know that your stay was culminated with enjoyable memories. We instill in our employees guest love which is making sure that your hard earned vacation is fulfilled with family memorable traditions while providing a safe and enjoyable stay. We will be looking forward to your next visit and please check on all our priority club promotions.

Alma Mcleroy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canadá
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Nice room view, clean room, you have to walk to the beach but no big deal, pool was cold, Amazing bed and pillows! breakfast was good, coffee on breakfast was awesome just do not forget to replenish in the evening!

Room Tip: Don forget your priority number!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island

Address: 6502 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Padre Island's newest and finest hotel, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, invites you to travel Mexico & Texas in ONE VACATION to South Padre. You'll experience the white sand beaches and crystal blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico. As you enter our lobby, you will be immersed in tropical elegance. Check in will be a breeze as you and your family escape into our sea life - a 500 gallon aquarium. All our oversized rooms come with spectacular views of Laguna Madre Bay, Gulf of Mexico or our tropical poolside. If you're here for business, relax - we offer free wireless Internet in all public areas and high speed Internet access in every room as well as a complimentary full service business center. For the ultimate in convenience, all rooms have micro-fridges, coffee makers, dataport speaker phones and state-of-the art on demand movies/music and video games. Thanks to the latest technology, on demand movies can be paused/rewound so you'll never miss an important phone call. We are across the street from the Convention Center and close to championship golf, nightclubs, shopping centers and a variety of eateries. Visit Sea Turtle, Inc. or spend the day at Schlitterbahn Beach Water Park. The beach is just a short walk from your room where you can participate in deep sea fishing, horseback riding, parasailing, jet skiing or a local favorite - barbecuing on the beach. We are the perfect tropical getaway whether you're here for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn South Padre Island
South Padre Island Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.