We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfying hotel for two 26 year old females” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6502 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Satisfying hotel for two 26 year old females”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My friend and i stayed here for 4 nights this past week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is only a 3-4 minute walk to the beach. When you get to the beach you can turn left and there is a beach bar called Claytons which plays good music, but caters to a younger crowd. If you turn right it's more quiet, so I thought it was nice that the location of the hotel catered to different groups of people. The previous reviews on the customer service proved wrong for us. Every front desk person we spoke to was courteous and informative. They gave me free Motrin when I had a headache and change when I requested some smaller bills. One night we wanted to hang out in the jacuzzi but it was already closed for the night. I asked if we could use it anyway if we were quiet and we were allowed to do so. I would say the only real complaint we had was that our room smelled kinda mildewy but that may be from all of the wet swim suits and towels. The room was pretty humid and our things never really dried out. Other than that we had a good stay and would stay there again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    53
    31
    7
    7
See reviews for
73
48
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I loved our 2 night stay at this Holiday Inn Express. The front desk staff couldn't have been any nicer and all the staff, although with limited English, were very nice. Nice beds, clean room and just a short walk to the beach. Pool was too cold that's my only complaint. One adult and 3 kids loved it here! Planning another visit soon!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

....even though the place was very clean and the staff was friendly i was very disappointed that there was no view of the beach..the beach is actually about 2 and a half blocks away maybe only partial view if even....

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear ng012582,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. It is good to know that our staff was attentive to your needs. I regret however that you were inconvenienced by our location. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel is, as other reviewers have noted, not on the beach. For my needs, as a place to stay while with a small bird watching group, the location was fine. Room was large, equipped with microwave and refrigerator. Facility seems fairly new and well maintained. Much larger breakfast bar set up with more choices than at many Holiday Inn Express facilities. Front desk staff seemed not to know how to do their jobs: not outgoing/friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear UMworldtravel,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience over the front desk staff. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Well it was me an my kids first time in south padre island ...im 26 single selfmade biz lady with2 young girls! I book to dayz march 9-12' 2013 ummm it was like 455 for two nights on hotels. Com an it was pretty nice annnnd clean ...my room was 201 so i could see my BMW parked right in front of my window nightly! I came from dallas tx ,i drove by myself right though ...10 hr drive not bad,middle of the night strait shot! Overall trip turned out really nice thank god...we was able to do sum water sports considering it was a lil windy for march! Anywho the hotel was nice.
Ummm the beach walk was like they said ..3 min walk to beach front ok granted i was pleasently pleased its wasnt tooooo far ugh!
Free breakfast no waffles but sum new pan cake maker (fancy) !!! No prob with me !!! # enjoy!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Although the rooms were very clean and the breakfast was good. And the older lady doing breakfast was very accomidating, the women at the front desk were very rude. One fat lady did not want to get off her butt to even look to see if there was toothpaste and later on in the afternoon this young lady pretty much yelled at me when I had to go downstairs because I told her nobody was answering my calls! I wouldn't doubt she turned the ringer off (if that is even possible!) There was no manager on duty either! After our stay, I do not think our family will ever stay again! We will be taking our business elsewhere, possibly hilton or anywhere else where respect is shown to the people staying there!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear bed-hog101,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Wisconsin
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

awesome staff!!! clean rooms!!! great location,would go back in a heartbeat!!! OH YEAH-yummy breakfast viddles:) had an issue second night with people slamming doors-2 families going back n forth went to front desk n didn"t hear a thing after that!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island

Address: 6502 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Padre Island's newest and finest hotel, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, invites you to travel Mexico & Texas in ONE VACATION to South Padre. You'll experience the white sand beaches and crystal blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico. As you enter our lobby, you will be immersed in tropical elegance. Check in will be a breeze as you and your family escape into our sea life - a 500 gallon aquarium. All our oversized rooms come with spectacular views of Laguna Madre Bay, Gulf of Mexico or our tropical poolside. If you're here for business, relax - we offer free wireless Internet in all public areas and high speed Internet access in every room as well as a complimentary full service business center. For the ultimate in convenience, all rooms have micro-fridges, coffee makers, dataport speaker phones and state-of-the art on demand movies/music and video games. Thanks to the latest technology, on demand movies can be paused/rewound so you'll never miss an important phone call. We are across the street from the Convention Center and close to championship golf, nightclubs, shopping centers and a variety of eateries. Visit Sea Turtle, Inc. or spend the day at Schlitterbahn Beach Water Park. The beach is just a short walk from your room where you can participate in deep sea fishing, horseback riding, parasailing, jet skiing or a local favorite - barbecuing on the beach. We are the perfect tropical getaway whether you're here for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn South Padre Island
South Padre Island Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.