We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6502 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Evansville, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Holiday Inn Express was very clean. The beds were comfortable. The staff very friendly. Nice variety for breakfast. Had to log in numerous times daily for wifi. Would be nice if the pool was heated during the winter months! Met a lot of nice Winter Texans.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    52
    27
    7
    7
See reviews for
70
47
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

A friend and I flew in for a quick four day kiting excursion and were looking for a good place to stay. We were not looking for super cheap flea bag, but also not looking to spend over $100 per night. This place fit the bill. Very clean rooms, comfortable beds and pillows (both soft and firm provided), plenty of towels, good breakfast served by a pleasant staff, and excellent management. They also had a nice grassy area on the north side of the building to lay out kites to dry. My only negative comment - and they are minimal - is that the hot tub was very hot and the pool was not heated. I typically would not use a hotel hot tub, but we could tell right away that it was clean. It felt great to jump in after a full day on the north/south flats! I would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a very clean comfortable hotel. Staff was awesome, we had a problem with an airline and had to fly into a different airport and our rental car company was not going to be open that late. Calling them at midnite, they said they would be there in 20 minutes. Then for some reason the rental car employee was there. So it was not an issue. Upon arriving the clerk recognized me and wished me better luck in the future. Room was very quiet and cozy, so the little rest we did get was good rest as we had to drive to the other airport to greet our bag.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Holiday Express for 3 nights over the New Year holiday. We found the hotel to be clean, with friendly staff - a special mention should go to the ever helpful maintenance staff who answered any problem we reported with facilities in our room within 10 minutes and to our embarrassment, even though the issues were down to user-operational-error (our incompetance) the staff were polite enough not to mock us...the free hot breakfast was a bonus and the selection was adequate. The swimming pool was clean and looked inviting, even though we did not venture in due to the weather. Parking was easily available, and we were easily able to park in an area where we could observe our vehicle from our room. Whilst the Internet was available free - it did seem a bit temperamental. We did have an issue with room security, where on our final day we realised the lock on the room door had malfunctioned and after cleaning the room had been left unlocked. One other ovsight, on our part, was booking a hotel without a bar over New Years Eve...we had to get supplies in from the nearby Ben's Liquor Store...
We had previously read reviews stating that this hotel was not on the beach - and thought that a 5 minute walk would be ok as we're British...turns out that walking though an area of Condo's isn't actually brilliant and we would also register this as a negative towards this hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in early December. We traveled to SPI for a family get-together and stayed at this hotel because we had previously stayed here and found it to be a great value and very clean.
During all the family activities, the staff was very friendly and helpful in finding activities for everyone to enjoy. Among the 30 family members that stayed here, everyone would comment about how excellent the accommodations were.
Keep up the good work, we will be back. Excellent service, very clean, great decor and great breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here August 8 and 9, 2012. After running into all the other three hotel messes there in South Padre we were very glad to find a hotle that was Clean, had Honest managers.Even though the head manager was sick at home with the flu, when we had a question that couldn't be answered she talked with me on the phone, now that's pleasing your customers.This hotel saved South Padre reputation hotel wise for us and we had a lovely stay there and really enjoyed the beach. When we return this will be our choice of hotel to stay in! Thanks Hoilday inn for the save!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here only because of my husbands corporate discount thru his work and I can tell you we'll never stay here again, we had a HUGE roach in our bathroom, ppl stomping on the floor upstairs constantly, we were even told we couldn't have breakfast one morning because their pancake machine broke down and went over their 9:30 cutoff time... ridiculous.... the price was ONLY comparable with his discount, we won't be staying here again

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear PinkGlamPixie,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I want to assure you that our hotel is proud of its level of service, cleanliness, and quality of its product. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your overall stay with us especially with the room accommodations received and noise levels at the hotel. We will use your comments to improve our efforts.

Once again, many thanks for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island

Address: 6502 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Padre Island's newest and finest hotel, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, invites you to travel Mexico & Texas in ONE VACATION to South Padre. You'll experience the white sand beaches and crystal blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico. As you enter our lobby, you will be immersed in tropical elegance. Check in will be a breeze as you and your family escape into our sea life - a 500 gallon aquarium. All our oversized rooms come with spectacular views of Laguna Madre Bay, Gulf of Mexico or our tropical poolside. If you're here for business, relax - we offer free wireless Internet in all public areas and high speed Internet access in every room as well as a complimentary full service business center. For the ultimate in convenience, all rooms have micro-fridges, coffee makers, dataport speaker phones and state-of-the art on demand movies/music and video games. Thanks to the latest technology, on demand movies can be paused/rewound so you'll never miss an important phone call. We are across the street from the Convention Center and close to championship golf, nightclubs, shopping centers and a variety of eateries. Visit Sea Turtle, Inc. or spend the day at Schlitterbahn Beach Water Park. The beach is just a short walk from your room where you can participate in deep sea fishing, horseback riding, parasailing, jet skiing or a local favorite - barbecuing on the beach. We are the perfect tropical getaway whether you're here for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn South Padre Island
South Padre Island Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.