We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite little bar in Padre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconuts Bar and Grill

Coconuts Bar and Grill
2301 Laguna Dr, South Padre Island, TX 78957
(956) 761-4218
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Salida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Our favorite little bar in Padre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We have visited Coconuts multiple times in South Padre. It has a nice view and a great atmosphere. It is fun to go there! Plus you can go parasailing or jet skiing right there- or watch as your family does while you have a cold drink.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    16
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cute bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We visited just after the spring breakers. This is a very cute bar. The upper level was closed and was a little disappointed because I am sure the view was amazing. The boat that docks here is pretty and all lit up. The drinks were a little on the expensive side but everything is on the island. The Bartender was so nice and friendly. I think her name was Elizabeth.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“AZ GUYS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

a cozy smaller restaurant, bartenders are super friendly and fast service, every other patron we talked with felt the same as we did -hi lindsey- bill @ jean

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Just a quick drink...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Coconuts has a great location with a terrific bay view. It's very "beach rustic", but was not well visited the day we were there. The place is definitely on island time. Service was slow and matter of fact, but somewhat friendly.

We didn't eat, but prices looked about the same as every other restaurant, but not much in the way of selection. We met the cook, sometimes bouncer. Needless to say, no chefs here!!

Come for the view, have a couple drinks and move on...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comanche
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great best place for Jet Ski Rentals and Bloody Mary's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I couldn't find where to put this for the jet ski rentals. But it was an Awesome Experience!!!! And it is awesome because of KENNY. He is very funny, knowledgeable and makes you feel right at home. He truly made the whole experience Great!!!!!! I would definitely return!!!! Go to coconuts for your jet ski rentals!!!! Meet Kenny he's amazing. The best!!!!
Also, Nita at Coconuts bar makes the best ever Bloody Mary's!!! Again very friendly fun place to hang out and a Great View!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconuts Bar and Grill also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Coconuts Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconuts Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.