We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SPI seafood buffet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Louie's Backyard

Louie's Backyard
2305 Laguna Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6952
+1 956-761-6406
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: At Louie's Backyard in South Padre Island, there is no such thing as a boring night. Whether you want to sit and chat with your friends, cheer on your favorite team or cut a rug till the wee hours, we've got you covered!
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“SPI seafood buffet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Louie's is a fun atmosphere, with bayside seating (although they wouldn't seat us out there in case it rained, which it didn't). The seafood was almost all battered and fried: shrimp, scallops, crabcakes, fish. I don't care for fried food, so I partook mainly of shrimp scampi, blackened fish, and crablegs, all of which were tasty. We enjoyed the latter items and used a coupon for a free piece of chocolate cake, which was excellent, but we would not return for the buffet, as it did not include many items we like. The $20.99 price was good, though.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    231
    103
    68
    71
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“YUMMY!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Had the ceviche & the grilled fish taco's which were both wonderful. But decisions, decisions on what to eat & where to sit - dining room, sports bar or on the deck. Great place to dine & watch the sunset or watch a Long Horn Game.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove Ok
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Look out for the cockroaches!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We eat at louies everytime we are at the Island. It has always been very good. Last nite was no exception, the food was good the service was excelent!!! Tonite we ate there again expecting the same. Not so tonite. The service was poor to say the least. The worst was the baby cockroach crawling on the suposidly clean plates at the buffet. I attempted to motion two of the staff to come to the buffet to see the roach they ignored me. I finely had to walk up to one of them and tell them there was a baby cockroach crawling on the plates. She finely came to the buffet and after seeing the thing crawling on the plates removed them. A man came and asked us how we were doing i told him about the baby cockroach, he said he would check it out, he later came back with the explaination that they were over the water, and sometimes things just get through. As we were leaving we saw more cockroaches crawling on the floor near where they were prepareing the food. I am not sure that we will eat there again. Grown cockroaches produce babies, they don't just wonder in!!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Vista, Texas
2 reviews
“Great chow, cheap!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We really like the daily specials at the sports bar. Wonderful fried or grilled fish plus shrimp on Friday. Love the ribs on rib nights. Service is consistently good.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't eat here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Terrible place to enjoy a beautiful view. When the waiter brought my water there was a bee floating in there. When I brought it to his attencion he looked at me like if I put it in there. Very bad start to someone new in town. Menu doesn't have many options to choose from. Price range for a plate was the same price for the buffet, so decided to go with the buffet. You come across the salad first, nothing amazing, just a plain caesar salad. Then you come across the fruit salad, I think it's the only thing I got excited about. Then you have your common choices from a seafood restaurant. But since this place is not really a seafood restaurant it was all cold and disgusting. There is no customer service from the staff. They had mariachi playing and you couldn't even hear them since the upper deck had a live rock playing. Very confusing environment.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louie's Backyard also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Louie's Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louie's Backyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.