We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience at La Copa Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Copa Inn Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Copa Inn Beach Hotel to your Saves list
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   350 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Discount
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience at La Copa Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Our family of 6 stayed at La Copa Inn using Southwest points. We weren't sure what to expect, but were very pleased with our stay. When we arrived, we were able upgrade from a room with 2 queen beds and a pull out sofa bed to a 3 bedroom suit with an ocean view for a reasonable fee. The view was spectacular. And yes, the balcony was not very big, but it was fine for us. Our room was very clean and the mattresses were comfortable. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. The hotel is undergoing some renovations, so it will be even nicer when it is done. The access to the beach is so convenient. The outdoor shower used to rinse off sand from the beach could be updated since it only sprinkled water, but with some effort it did the job. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub. They were clean and well maintained. There is a Cabana that sells drinks and snacks during certain hours of the day. Overall, we had a great stay and would return in the future.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a view, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Susan,

Thank you for sharing your experience! We loved reading your charming complements regarding your stay. It has been a great pleasure accommodating your family of 6. We’re delighted to hear our staff was immaculate, the beach was beautiful, and the hotel amenities keep you very entertained. It truly was an honor to have hosted you during your visit in SPI and we will look forward to the next time.

Best regards,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    122
    67
    39
    40
See reviews for
133
125
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed because we had purchased a deal on the internet. Don't be fooled, it wasn't worth it. The hotel does have good beach access but that's about all. We paid extra for the beach view and balcony. The balcony was so narrow you had to enter one at a time and sit side ways on your chair. It appeared that some renovation was going on while we were there, but this hotel has seen better days.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Hi Carol,

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay. We’re very sorry your stay with us wasn’t everything you expected. We do our utmost to exceed every guest expectations and fulfill their satisfaction. We apologize we couldn’t deliver on that note for you and your spouse. We hope you will at least still consider us for the next time you visit SPI and give us another shot.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We liked that La Copa Inn had very good beach access and they also had an outdoor hot tub next to the pool, it makes cooler seasons of the year more enjoyable. The rooms (especially bathrooms) were a little bit run down, needed some updating. The carpets were dirty, mattresses should have been changed years ago. But overall this is a very good hotel, they serve hot breakfast with customized omelet choice that chefs prepare right in front of you. The hotel staff is very friendly, looks like they are updating the hotel (remodel process was going on in the lobby level. We have seen some couples who were return guests of this hotel and all of them were raving about the service level. We enjoyed our stay and will come back to this hotel again!

Room Tip: higher floors have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at La Copa Inn in South Padre Island. Our staff is pleased to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable. We’re glad you were able to have a good breakfast during your stay. The remodeling is only for the benefit of our guests but are sorry if this caused some inconvenience during your stay. We’re delighted to hear you will return for another adventure so that we have the opportunity to provide you with a flawless stay.

Best regards,
Aaron R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenacres, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Lobby looks nice. We had made reservation through www.expedia.com a room with queen size bed a/c if that's what you want to call it had to drop it down to 70 to get it to be 80 in the room. The bathroom had hair in sink and bath tub the carpet had a nasty odor that was the first room. They moved us two rooms down again bathroom filthy the television did not work push for movies and it mutes it. We were promised exercise room main reason my husband works out everyday we even called the property ahead to make sure it would be available we get there and they told us it no such thing! They said they it was being redone they could have told us that when we called to check on that the day of our reservation the manager could use training who ever owns this chain must not care at all about customer service at all at this rate soon they wont have any maybe spring breakers who don't care because they are either high or drunk. Breakfast If your going to stay at this hotel I think it would be a good idea to bring your own cleaning supplies for three days i kept telling them there was fruit loops under the bed until I took one of the housekeepers in there to show her my self again (poor management) and the owner does not care it is sad we where here for a funeral this was the last thing we needed to bad the star rating doesn't have a zero because that's how I would Rate them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Miranda,

We’re truly appreciative of you taking the time to review our hotel La Copa Inn at South Padre Island. Our La Copa staff offers our most sincere apology for your unpleasant stay with us. The proper management will be notified so that all our guests are provided with the best guest service for an optimum experience with us. We hope that you give us another chance to change your perspective about our hotel by returning for another stay.

Sincerely,
Aaron R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My family stayed here for two days during The Sandcastle Days event, it was a good stay for the price. The lobby was very nice looking and front desk staff was friendly, but once you get to the hallway the carpet smells musty but that is to be expected near the beach. Our room was on the 4th floor with two very FIRM queen beds and the chairs and small couch were good for relaxing. Our balcony had two chairs but was too small and the view was of the other hotel next to us. The pool side was relaxing with an outdoor bar but they had a lot of families with children in the pool. The hotel does have a short board walk to the beach which we really liked. The breakfast omelets were good and waffles were already made but they do need more than one person making omelets for a booked hotel. The parking was not great and walking a long distance to your vehicle was terrible. We would consider staying here again but would like to compare it to other hotels in the island.

Room Tip: Higher floors and away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Andrea,

Our staff at La Copa Inn at South Padre Island thanks you for your thoughtful review about our hotel. We are pleased to hear about your experience and are glad your stay with us was pleasant. The boardwalk, pool, and breakfast are always a guest favorite and we’re happy you enjoyed it as well. We hope to have you back for another adventure!

Thank you,
Aaron R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband, 2 young boys and I planned to stay here three nights but ended up leaving the hotel after one night. We stayed in the suite which had 2 queen beds in one room and a King in the other. Upon entering the hotel, the lobby looks very modern and clean. But once you step into the hallway, the hotel showed severe deterioration. Granted they're in the middle of renovating but they don't tell you that when you're booking online. We had also arrived at 2 am with 2 sleeping kids. We couldn't find a cart anywhere to carry our things up. When we asked the front desk guy, he didn't bother to look for one and told us that we might get one in a little while. So I had to ask him to go find one since we were the only ones checking in at that time. The other employee was on the cell phone talking and laughing. He must have forgotten that he was at work. Our room had a moldy smell and when we looked at the air handler we knew why. It was rusty and moldy.

The next morning we woke up a little late and rushed for breakfast at 9:30 since they were closing at 10. When we got there all of the food was gone and it was limited to soggy eggs, sugary cereals, breads, coffee and juice. I had to stand in line for 20 minutes to get my omelet because there was only one lady cooking for a booked hotel. So I inhaled my breakfast that morning. The breakfast room was in their ballroom which has very old carpet and chairs stacked up for our view. Not a very relaxing experience.

Afterwards, we went to the beach and because it was so windy we ended up at the pool which also needs serious repair. The lion heads used for fountains were all torn off. People were drinking beer from glass bottles with their coolers next to the pool even though it's against the rules. Our 10 yr old saw someone poor beer into the pool as well. The hot tub was cold and full of little children. It also needed repair because a large noise was drowning out the pool music. I told the employee but nothing was ever done to turn it off.

The worst part of this whole experience was around 8:30 at night. We were ready to have some quiet relaxation when suddenly we hear the band from a party in the ballroom 2 floors above us. The floors were shaking. We called the manager several times and he apologized. He said he was going to talk to the band but probably only to satisfy me because he knew darn well he couldn't do anything about the band's noise. I think the owner knows this as well and they don't bother to tell their guests this when they assign those rooms below the reception rooms. Since this party wasn't going to end until midnight we had to leave. They refunded our money for that night, thankfully.

What bothers us the most is the fact that they call this place a "Resort". Resorts charge more than regular hotels because they provide an extra level of care. They are usually aware of keeping their guests satisfied by keeping noises to a minimum, they are attentive and make sure people are following the rules they themselves established. I would not call this a family friendly hotel with late parties going on, couples drinking coolers of beer and rubbing against each other in the pool. I could have gotten this level of service at Motel 6 for one tenth of the price. So we left to go to the trusted Holiday Inn Express down the road. Very disappointed that we had to change hotels in the middle of our stay.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the rooms below the ballroom unless you want your room to shake. They know when they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay with us. I'm very sorry to hear that you had some issues with the services and amenities that our guest room had to offer. We always try to do everything that we can to enhance guest satisfaction, and I apologize that we fell short of our normally high standards. I have notified our staff to ensure we make every effort to make sure that these issues don't persist. We do appreciate your feedback and hope that the next time you're in town you'll stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

What a great value! We had booked a suite thinking it was two full rooms, but it wasn't. They changed our room to Terri double queen rooms at no extra charge. The location is great with private access to the beach. Breakfast is very good, loved the omlet station! We will definitely be staying there again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hello Todd,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We greatly appreciate your feedback and your kind words about our property. It is so great to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience and that our hotel more than exceeded your expectations. Once again we appreciate your kind review and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Until then, take care and safe travels!

Take Care,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Copa Inn Beach Hotel

Address: 350 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Copa Inn Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel South Padre Island, Texas. Our beachside hotel across from Queen Isabella Causeway offers an affordable vacation experience in South Padre Island, with five-star resort amenities. We have Spacious Hotel Rooms all with balconies and most with ocean view. All of our rooms feature Tempur-Pedic® mattresses, HD Flat Screen TV with premium cable channels, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron and iron board, hair dryer and in-room safe. Other conveniences include complimentary High-speed Internet access and local calls. We have guest rooms for every taste, from standard king or queen beds to our three-room family suite. All rooms are nonsmoking. Our hotel offers an outdoor pool surrounded by a sundeck with a spa tub, chaise lounges, gazebos, and a walkway to the beach. Enjoy our Complementary Hot Full Breakfast buffet, featuring delicious "Belgian Waffles" and the most recent addition "Omelet Station." For your convenience we have complementary Wi-Fi High Speed Internet access available through the entire hotel. A staffed activities desk to assist in planning excursions, coordinate sports-equipment rentals, and sell discounted tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Copa Inn Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Padre Island
Best Western La Copa Hotel
South Padre Island La Copa Inn
La Copa Inn Beachfront Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.