We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, on the beach, will stay here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Copa Inn Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Copa Inn Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   350 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Discount
South Padre Island, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good hotel, on the beach, will stay here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We liked that La Copa Inn had very good beach access and they also had an outdoor hot tub next to the pool, it makes cooler seasons of the year more enjoyable. The rooms (especially bathrooms) were a little bit run down, needed some updating. The carpets were dirty, mattresses should have been changed years ago. But overall this is a very good hotel, they serve hot breakfast with customized omelet choice that chefs prepare right in front of you. The hotel staff is very friendly, looks like they are updating the hotel (remodel process was going on in the lobby level. We have seen some couples who were return guests of this hotel and all of them were raving about the service level. We enjoyed our stay and will come back to this hotel again!

Room Tip: higher floors have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at La Copa Inn in South Padre Island. Our staff is pleased to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable. We’re glad you were able to have a good breakfast during your stay. The remodeling is only for the benefit of our guests but are sorry if this caused some inconvenience during your stay. We’re delighted to hear you will return for another adventure so that we have the opportunity to provide you with a flawless stay.

Best regards,
Aaron R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    102
    54
    30
    34
See reviews for
90
92
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenacres, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Lobby looks nice. We had made reservation through www.expedia.com a room with queen size bed a/c if that's what you want to call it had to drop it down to 70 to get it to be 80 in the room. The bathroom had hair in sink and bath tub the carpet had a nasty odor that was the first room. They moved us two rooms down again bathroom filthy the television did not work push for movies and it mutes it. We were promised exercise room main reason my husband works out everyday we even called the property ahead to make sure it would be available we get there and they told us it no such thing! They said they it was being redone they could have told us that when we called to check on that the day of our reservation the manager could use training who ever owns this chain must not care at all about customer service at all at this rate soon they wont have any maybe spring breakers who don't care because they are either high or drunk. Breakfast If your going to stay at this hotel I think it would be a good idea to bring your own cleaning supplies for three days i kept telling them there was fruit loops under the bed until I took one of the housekeepers in there to show her my self again (poor management) and the owner does not care it is sad we where here for a funeral this was the last thing we needed to bad the star rating doesn't have a zero because that's how I would Rate them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Miranda,

We’re truly appreciative of you taking the time to review our hotel La Copa Inn at South Padre Island. Our La Copa staff offers our most sincere apology for your unpleasant stay with us. The proper management will be notified so that all our guests are provided with the best guest service for an optimum experience with us. We hope that you give us another chance to change your perspective about our hotel by returning for another stay.

Sincerely,
Aaron R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My family stayed here for two days during The Sandcastle Days event, it was a good stay for the price. The lobby was very nice looking and front desk staff was friendly, but once you get to the hallway the carpet smells musty but that is to be expected near the beach. Our room was on the 4th floor with two very FIRM queen beds and the chairs and small couch were good for relaxing. Our balcony had two chairs but was too small and the view was of the other hotel next to us. The pool side was relaxing with an outdoor bar but they had a lot of families with children in the pool. The hotel does have a short board walk to the beach which we really liked. The breakfast omelets were good and waffles were already made but they do need more than one person making omelets for a booked hotel. The parking was not great and walking a long distance to your vehicle was terrible. We would consider staying here again but would like to compare it to other hotels in the island.

Room Tip: Higher floors and away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Andrea,

Our staff at La Copa Inn at South Padre Island thanks you for your thoughtful review about our hotel. We are pleased to hear about your experience and are glad your stay with us was pleasant. The boardwalk, pool, and breakfast are always a guest favorite and we’re happy you enjoyed it as well. We hope to have you back for another adventure!

Thank you,
Aaron R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband, 2 young boys and I planned to stay here three nights but ended up leaving the hotel after one night. We stayed in the suite which had 2 queen beds in one room and a King in the other. Upon entering the hotel, the lobby looks very modern and clean. But once you step into the hallway, the hotel showed severe deterioration. Granted they're in the middle of renovating but they don't tell you that when you're booking online. We had also arrived at 2 am with 2 sleeping kids. We couldn't find a cart anywhere to carry our things up. When we asked the front desk guy, he didn't bother to look for one and told us that we might get one in a little while. So I had to ask him to go find one since we were the only ones checking in at that time. The other employee was on the cell phone talking and laughing. He must have forgotten that he was at work. Our room had a moldy smell and when we looked at the air handler we knew why. It was rusty and moldy.

The next morning we woke up a little late and rushed for breakfast at 9:30 since they were closing at 10. When we got there all of the food was gone and it was limited to soggy eggs, sugary cereals, breads, coffee and juice. I had to stand in line for 20 minutes to get my omelet because there was only one lady cooking for a booked hotel. So I inhaled my breakfast that morning. The breakfast room was in their ballroom which has very old carpet and chairs stacked up for our view. Not a very relaxing experience.

Afterwards, we went to the beach and because it was so windy we ended up at the pool which also needs serious repair. The lion heads used for fountains were all torn off. People were drinking beer from glass bottles with their coolers next to the pool even though it's against the rules. Our 10 yr old saw someone poor beer into the pool as well. The hot tub was cold and full of little children. It also needed repair because a large noise was drowning out the pool music. I told the employee but nothing was ever done to turn it off.

The worst part of this whole experience was around 8:30 at night. We were ready to have some quiet relaxation when suddenly we hear the band from a party in the ballroom 2 floors above us. The floors were shaking. We called the manager several times and he apologized. He said he was going to talk to the band but probably only to satisfy me because he knew darn well he couldn't do anything about the band's noise. I think the owner knows this as well and they don't bother to tell their guests this when they assign those rooms below the reception rooms. Since this party wasn't going to end until midnight we had to leave. They refunded our money for that night, thankfully.

What bothers us the most is the fact that they call this place a "Resort". Resorts charge more than regular hotels because they provide an extra level of care. They are usually aware of keeping their guests satisfied by keeping noises to a minimum, they are attentive and make sure people are following the rules they themselves established. I would not call this a family friendly hotel with late parties going on, couples drinking coolers of beer and rubbing against each other in the pool. I could have gotten this level of service at Motel 6 for one tenth of the price. So we left to go to the trusted Holiday Inn Express down the road. Very disappointed that we had to change hotels in the middle of our stay.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the rooms below the ballroom unless you want your room to shake. They know when they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay with us. I'm very sorry to hear that you had some issues with the services and amenities that our guest room had to offer. We always try to do everything that we can to enhance guest satisfaction, and I apologize that we fell short of our normally high standards. I have notified our staff to ensure we make every effort to make sure that these issues don't persist. We do appreciate your feedback and hope that the next time you're in town you'll stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

What a great value! We had booked a suite thinking it was two full rooms, but it wasn't. They changed our room to Terri double queen rooms at no extra charge. The location is great with private access to the beach. Breakfast is very good, loved the omlet station! We will definitely be staying there again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hello Todd,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We greatly appreciate your feedback and your kind words about our property. It is so great to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience and that our hotel more than exceeded your expectations. Once again we appreciate your kind review and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Until then, take care and safe travels!

Take Care,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

The main reason I chose this hotel was for the location and secondly for the price. We got a second floor beach view with jacuzzi. The room view was amazing. The balcony is small but usable for standing. The beds were above average for comfort. Having two tvs was a nice surprise but the main tv didn't get all the channels and they were staticy even after maintenance looked at it. Having a couch, chairs and a desk was convienent. Overall the hotel was nice. The carpets need to be either deep cleaned or replace. The bathroom was clean but there were stains. The bed sheets felt ok but did not stay on yhe mattress. The free wifi did not always work and would not allow you to stream any content. The free breakfast is about what you would expect for free - good but not great. The outside pool and jacuzzi was always clean but needs to be better maintained. The were pieces broken off of the pool and the jacuzzi made a horribly loud sucking noise. The outdoor showers were 75% broken. The chairs around the pool were very cheaply made out of pvc and the cloth was moldy. You have to make sure to bring your towels down from your room because there are none available poolside.The first floor lobby area was being renovated so it was a mess to get around but it was cleaned up by the weekend. The room service wasnt very good, and didnt give us all the food we ordered. I didnt go back because the language barrier was to much to deal with. By far the best thing was being a short walk to the beach. The hotel staff was always friendly and accomodating. We really did enjoy our time here and would pssibly consider coming back but will check others that are close to the beach first.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Valued guest,

We’re glad you chose to stay at La Copa Inn during your visit to South Padre Island. We always try to have low, affordable rates for our guests to enjoy. It is of great delight you were able to enjoy the beautiful gulf view from your personal balcony. We are glad to let you know we have fixed the WI-FI issues and have taken action on our carpets. Please reconsider staying with us again for an improved experience.

Best regards,
Aaron R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in order to attend the wedding of a friend, who was married at a nearby hotel.

There are pros and cons to the hotel. Overall, we had a good stay, and I'd be happy to stay there again, but it didn't blow me away.

Pros:
* Close to the beach
* Very clean rooms and common areas
* Our room had a (tiny) balcony, even though we didn't upgrade to a room with a view. We could see ocean, but only barely.
* The free breakfast is plentiful and delicious. We missed out on the omelette station, since it's not visible from the buffet area.
* The bed was comfortable but not amazing.
* There was a small sitting area (small couch and two chairs), which was nice.

Cons:
* As others have pointed out, this is an older hotel and could use some updating.
* The whole place is tiled -- which I understand, given the proximity to the beach -- but it makes for a really loud stay. Slamming doors and loud voices echo here, rather than being damped by the carpet. There apparently was at least one large family reunion there when we were, and they were a loud family -- lots of yelling, lots of kids.

We didn't have much interaction with the staff, but they were courteous and helpful when we did encounter them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hello Lisa,

Thank you for your candid comments on your recent stay. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced. We take all concerns seriously and thank you for letting us know about this and will take every con into consideration. It's great to hear that other than that you enjoyed your room and breakfast. I hope that you stay with us again the next time your travels brings you to SPI so we can get another chance to earn 5 stars!

Best Regards,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Copa Inn Beach Hotel

Also Known As:
Best Western South Padre Island
Best Western La Copa Hotel
South Padre Island La Copa Inn
La Copa Inn Beachfront Resort
Address: 350 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Copa Inn Beach Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel South Padre Island, Texas. Our beachside hotel across from Queen Isabella Causeway offers an affordable vacation experience in South Padre Island, with five-star resort amenities. We have Spacious Hotel Rooms all with balconies and most with ocean view. All of our rooms feature Tempur-Pedic® mattresses, HD Flat Screen TV with premium cable channels, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron and iron board, hair dryer and in-room safe. Other conveniences include complimentary High-speed Internet access and local calls. We have guest rooms for every taste, from standard king or queen beds to our three-room family suite. All rooms are nonsmoking. Our hotel offers an outdoor pool surrounded by a sundeck with a spa tub, chaise lounges, gazebos, and a walkway to the beach. Enjoy our Complementary Hot Full Breakfast buffet, featuring delicious "Belgian Waffles" and the most recent addition "Omelet Station." For your convenience we have complementary Wi-Fi High Speed Internet access available through the entire hotel. A staffed activities desk to assist in planning excursions, coordinate sports-equipment rentals, and sell discounted tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your La Copa Inn Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.