We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Copa Inn Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Copa Inn Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   350 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% Discount
Houston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We got into the hotel late at night, so we didn't get the room we asked for the first night. The manager was wonderful when she changed our room and moved us to the second floor and we had a wonderful time in a fantastic room. If you want peace and quite, please don't choose the first floor. Access to the beach was great, we really had an amazing time. Breakfast was delicious, quite busy so it's best to show up very early in the morning or towards closing time. I remember this place a lot...such wonderful memories.

Room Tip: The second floor was the best around the elevator area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    117
    62
    34
    37
See reviews for
110
104
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

A group of us, about 40 people stayed at this hotel and all of us had a wonderful experience. I held my wedding in their reception hall and arrived days before w/family. The rooms were spacious and clean and each one of my family members had something good to say. The manager Eduardo accommodated all of us to the best he could and so did All of the staff. Everyone and everything was just wonderful. Breakfast area was clean and delicious. Our wedding turned out beautiful that we had to have in their reception area at the last second. Never was i told anything was impossible...very pleased and happy i chose this hotel to have my wedding at. My family and i will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hello Arrianne!

We’re extremely pleased to read you had an awesome stay with us during your visit in SPI. We aim to exceed every guest’s expectations and glad our staff was able to do so for you. Thank you for choosing us and writing this thoughtful review. We hope you will choose us again the next time you visit South Padre.

Best regards,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is my 2nd year in a row coming to this hotel. They redecorated the lobby area so it looks much more trendy. Free breakfast was great and on our floor, the 4th floor, so that was nice. Nice staff and very clean hotels. Tons of other families with children too so that is comforting. Access to the beach is still awesome and the location is outstanding. Had fun here with the kids and recommend it to anyone looking for a family oriented place at a great price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I was skeptical about staying at La Copa due to some mixed reviews I had read, but my personal experience was very positive. The staff was courteous, and did everything they could to make our stay comfortable despite some ongoing renovations (which really didn't bother me). We had originally booked a regular room with a jacuzzi, but due to the renovations it was unavailable. We wound up getting upgraded to a room with a beach view and big balcony, which we absolutely loved. Any other little hiccups (hot tub not working properly, vending machines acting funky) were quickly addressed and fixed when reported. We stayed for three nights which got us a 30% discount online, so the nightly rate was excellent for a beachfront hotel. Its not huge or fancy, which is what I like about it, but the rooms are still nice and clean with comfy beds. I stayed there during off-season so it was nice and quiet. My only suggestion would be to have your own water and sodas since the drinks in the vending machines and in the dining area are $2. Overall a great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review! We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed the facilities and were able to relax on your trip in South Padre. Our pool and specular views can easily do that to you! Your feedback truly means a lot to us and has been shared with the entire team. Thank you for selecting us and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogersville, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I actually work for Hotels.com and i went to take my family on vacation and the first time to visit this hotel i didnt tell them who i was but i have tosay i will definitieley go abck, the room was fantastic, the staff and the everyone was very helpful. the breakfast was unbeliveable , i ate til i was stuffed, i have to tell you the omelette station was so great, i ate one every morning and so did my family, The beach access is great , a wooding boardwalk all the way to the beach , the other hotels around you ahd to walk on the sand all the way but its not that far, the walkway i loved, the pool was clean we enjoyed happy hour, I have to say that there isnt enough room for me to write what i loved about this hotel. yes it could use a little updating, but the staff and the respect that we all received from everyone is far more important then the updating, go stay at this hotel and enjoy the great hospitality and this was for the whole island,, Love Love Love

Room Tip: pick a ocean view,, the best way to get up in the morning and ist on the balcony and enjoy the waves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Teri,

Thank you for your awesome review! We’re very pleased you and your family enjoyed your vacation and our amenities. We appreciate you taking the time to write this review and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Checked in and the process was quick and easy! The front desk clerk notified us that we received a complimentary upgrade which was a pleasant surprise. Our room is a little far from the front and parking but our ocean view makes it well worth the extra steps. The AC is hardly cooling the room but its not too bad. We were placed in a hotel room that is very spacious with 2 queen beds and jacuzzi. Tv overlooking the jacuzzi, OMG! Perfect for allowing me to watch the Dallas Cowboys game which my fiancé allowed lol. Beach access is only steps away!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Quite nice! Large rooms and great breakfast ( w/ fresh made omelets). Our experience was very pleasant but that's personal opinion. It's very convenient for beach lovers like us, only a boardwalk way. Beach was clean and water super nice, will come and visit again. The only negative in my opinion was that pool was a bit small and can get crowded.

Room Tip: first floor room balconies are open to all guests, no railing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Copa Inn Beach Hotel

Address: 350 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Copa Inn Beach Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel South Padre Island, Texas. Our beachside hotel across from Queen Isabella Causeway offers an affordable vacation experience in South Padre Island, with five-star resort amenities. We have Spacious Hotel Rooms all with balconies and most with ocean view. All of our rooms feature Tempur-Pedic® mattresses, HD Flat Screen TV with premium cable channels, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron and iron board, hair dryer and in-room safe. Other conveniences include complimentary High-speed Internet access and local calls. We have guest rooms for every taste, from standard king or queen beds to our three-room family suite. All rooms are nonsmoking. Our hotel offers an outdoor pool surrounded by a sundeck with a spa tub, chaise lounges, gazebos, and a walkway to the beach. Enjoy our Complementary Hot Full Breakfast buffet, featuring delicious "Belgian Waffles" and the most recent addition "Omelet Station." For your convenience we have complementary Wi-Fi High Speed Internet access available through the entire hotel. A staffed activities desk to assist in planning excursions, coordinate sports-equipment rentals, and sell discounted tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your La Copa Inn Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Padre Island
Best Western La Copa Hotel
South Padre Island La Copa Inn
La Copa Inn Beachfront Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.