We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Copa Inn Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Copa Inn Beach Hotel to your Saves list
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   350 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Family Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is my 2nd year in a row coming to this hotel. They redecorated the lobby area so it looks much more trendy. Free breakfast was great and on our floor, the 4th floor, so that was nice. Nice staff and very clean hotels. Tons of other families with children too so that is comforting. Access to the beach is still awesome and the location is outstanding. Had fun here with the kids and recommend it to anyone looking for a family oriented place at a great price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2014
Thank you for deciding to stay at with us! We’re delighted that our personalized service and guestrooms truly demonstrate our commitment to our guests. It is rewarding to know that our efforts did not go unnoticed, and in fact, elevated your overall experience. Thank you so much for your wonderful review, and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    124
    67
    41
    40
See reviews for
135
130
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I was skeptical about staying at La Copa due to some mixed reviews I had read, but my personal experience was very positive. The staff was courteous, and did everything they could to make our stay comfortable despite some ongoing renovations (which really didn't bother me). We had originally booked a regular room with a jacuzzi, but due to the renovations it was unavailable. We wound up getting upgraded to a room with a beach view and big balcony, which we absolutely loved. Any other little hiccups (hot tub not working properly, vending machines acting funky) were quickly addressed and fixed when reported. We stayed for three nights which got us a 30% discount online, so the nightly rate was excellent for a beachfront hotel. Its not huge or fancy, which is what I like about it, but the rooms are still nice and clean with comfy beds. I stayed there during off-season so it was nice and quiet. My only suggestion would be to have your own water and sodas since the drinks in the vending machines and in the dining area are $2. Overall a great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review! We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed the facilities and were able to relax on your trip in South Padre. Our pool and specular views can easily do that to you! Your feedback truly means a lot to us and has been shared with the entire team. Thank you for selecting us and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogersville, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I actually work for Hotels.com and i went to take my family on vacation and the first time to visit this hotel i didnt tell them who i was but i have tosay i will definitieley go abck, the room was fantastic, the staff and the everyone was very helpful. the breakfast was unbeliveable , i ate til i was stuffed, i have to tell you the omelette station was so great, i ate one every morning and so did my family, The beach access is great , a wooding boardwalk all the way to the beach , the other hotels around you ahd to walk on the sand all the way but its not that far, the walkway i loved, the pool was clean we enjoyed happy hour, I have to say that there isnt enough room for me to write what i loved about this hotel. yes it could use a little updating, but the staff and the respect that we all received from everyone is far more important then the updating, go stay at this hotel and enjoy the great hospitality and this was for the whole island,, Love Love Love

Room Tip: pick a ocean view,, the best way to get up in the morning and ist on the balcony and enjoy the waves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Teri,

Thank you for your awesome review! We’re very pleased you and your family enjoyed your vacation and our amenities. We appreciate you taking the time to write this review and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Checked in and the process was quick and easy! The front desk clerk notified us that we received a complimentary upgrade which was a pleasant surprise. Our room is a little far from the front and parking but our ocean view makes it well worth the extra steps. The AC is hardly cooling the room but its not too bad. We were placed in a hotel room that is very spacious with 2 queen beds and jacuzzi. Tv overlooking the jacuzzi, OMG! Perfect for allowing me to watch the Dallas Cowboys game which my fiancé allowed lol. Beach access is only steps away!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for the compliments. It is great to hear feedback from our guests and to feel rewarded when we read we are doing a good job. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Quite nice! Large rooms and great breakfast ( w/ fresh made omelets). Our experience was very pleasant but that's personal opinion. It's very convenient for beach lovers like us, only a boardwalk way. Beach was clean and water super nice, will come and visit again. The only negative in my opinion was that pool was a bit small and can get crowded.

Room Tip: first floor room balconies are open to all guests, no railing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Staff is always very friendly and accommodating. Location is great. The rooms are clean and spacious. If there is a problem, the staff is very prompt at taking care of them. We will definitely stay here when we comment back for our next vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for leaving us a kind feedback regarding your stay with us. We appreciate you complementing our hardworking staff who made your stay a memorable one. We’re glad you loved our location and our clean, spacious rooms. We would love to see you back for another awesome time on SPI.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel was "nice". Upon checking in, the help at the desk wasn't really helpful. Nightimes were not good as kiks ran up & down the hallways hollering. Calling the desk didn't help the first time, but when it didn't stop and I called again, they did get it stopped. If you like the continental breakfast, you better get there early if you want fruit because it will be gone & not replaced. Housekeeping may get your room cleaned by the time you are ready to go to dinner. Not enough ladies in the housekeeping department. Overworked!! The rooms were too expensive, but so are all the others in S. Padre.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor, so we didn't have to hear them moving furniture or walking, but that w...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate you choosing us to stay with during your August vacation. We’re sorry about the kids running down the halls but glad it eventually stopped. We’ll also take a closer look at our housekeeping schedule and make sure rooms get serviced on time. Overall, we hope you enjoyed yourself and the island. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we hope to see you again the next time you’re on the island.

Best,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Copa Inn Beach Hotel

Address: 350 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Copa Inn Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel South Padre Island, Texas. Our beachside hotel across from Queen Isabella Causeway offers an affordable vacation experience in South Padre Island, with five-star resort amenities. We have Spacious Hotel Rooms all with balconies and most with ocean view. All of our rooms feature Tempur-Pedic® mattresses, HD Flat Screen TV with premium cable channels, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron and iron board, hair dryer and in-room safe. Other conveniences include complimentary High-speed Internet access and local calls. We have guest rooms for every taste, from standard king or queen beds to our three-room family suite. All rooms are nonsmoking. Our hotel offers an outdoor pool surrounded by a sundeck with a spa tub, chaise lounges, gazebos, and a walkway to the beach. Enjoy our Complementary Hot Full Breakfast buffet, featuring delicious "Belgian Waffles" and the most recent addition "Omelet Station." For your convenience we have complementary Wi-Fi High Speed Internet access available through the entire hotel. A staffed activities desk to assist in planning excursions, coordinate sports-equipment rentals, and sell discounted tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Copa Inn Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Padre Island
Best Western La Copa Hotel
South Padre Island La Copa Inn
La Copa Inn Beachfront Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.