We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and wonderful staff!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Copa Inn Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Copa Inn Beach Hotel to your Saves list
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   350 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Discount
La Jolla
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location and wonderful staff!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

To be honest, we were a little apprehensive about this hotel from its reviews before booking. But let me tell you, this is a great little property on the beach just as you enter South Padre Island from Port Isabel bridge. The rooms are large with really comfy queen beds. We went during the week and it was not crowded at all. The lobby is ultra-modern with great furniture to hang out and the staff is really, truly wonderful. They cleaned our room whenever we wanted to and delivered fresh towels and linens upon request. We had requested a very quiet room so they made sure that it was not on the swimming pool side where people could be out late. Breakfast was nice with fresh hot omelets every day....kudos to ladies who prepared them everyday to perfection!

The manager, Ms. Nubia, is very polite and kind lady who really cares about all guests. She made some changes for us that made our stay very pleasurable. There is shopping and eateries nearby in walking distance. Above all, it has a great beach access and you can rent umbrellas and chairs right at the beach! How cool is that? Water sports are also available and not ultra-expensive. Banana boat ride is $20 per person for 20 min. Para-sailing is $40 for 10min.

We were a family of four and spent most of the time on the beach and enjoyed the island. Will be going back for more fun times;))

Room Tip: 3rd and 4th floors rooms are quieter. Full ocean facing rooms are noisier due to the swimming pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Ben,

Thank you for taking the time to leave awesome feedback regarding your stay with us. We have really enjoyed reading your review as you complement nearly everything about our hotel. We are delighted you loved our new lobby, wonderful staff, large breakfast, and most of all the beach. Thank you for choosing La Copa it was a pleasure having you and your family. We will look forward to the next time.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    122
    67
    39
    40
See reviews for
133
125
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaufman, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Arrived on a Sunday evening about 4:30 pm.. They had some sort of security guard checking parking tags to make sure you were a guest or checking to see if you had reservations.. He didn't not speak English well at all so it was a little hard figuring out what he wanted from us..we gave him our name. They did not have it on the list..Then had to dig through the suburban get in my suit case to find the conformation #...still not on his list...I was annoyed by now, but he let us through.. Walked in through the lobby it was very festive and clean. The lady behind the desk greeted us with a smile and was very friendly. She explained that they have the guard at the gate to keep non guest from using the facilities. I can understand that, but get someone who can communicate better and update your reservation list..What is strange that is the last time we seen him out there. The hotel is older but very clean and cute. All the staff is very friendly. We were gone for 9 hours the first day. When we came back the room still had not been serviced. We blew it off and just asked for clean towels from the maid in the hall. The next day the same thing happened and we did the same thing, but 10 minutes later they knocked on the door wanting to know if we needed service. So we stepped out and let them take care of things. They were really quick and polite. The breakfast buffet was really good also. They can make one good omelet. We will for sure go back to this hotel. The beach access was a big plus also..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Melissa,

We are glad to hear you had a blast staying with us. We are sorry about the hassle from the security guard we should have had your name on the list. Thank you for complementing on our hotel’s cleanliness, our great staff members, and for choosing us to stay with. We hope to see you again for another fun filled stay in SPI.

Best,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel is borderline three stars, but I went with two for the following reasons:
- The room air conditioners do not cool even as well as what you would find in a typical motel. Our room would not get cooler than about 79 degrees despite having it set on 73. We had family on the first floor, and they had the same problem. Their A/C leaked water all over the floor, so they had to move.
- We had four rooms, and they differ widely. One room had newer tile and a leather couch. Our room had old carpet that was fairly typical of Motel 8 quality.
- Upon arrival our room was hot and had an unfresh odor. We found a bit of exrement on the toilet although it was small. The bathtub had hair in it.
- At an average cost of over $200 a night this hotel is not a good value for the amenities and quality.
- It is noisy. We had kids outside our door screaming in the middle of the night and running around. We had to call management because they were waking up our daughter.
- The pool area is too small and crowded. It is only good for small kids.
- The breakfast area was mostly unclean and extremely crowded. Expect to wait a long time for the omelettes.
- There is virtually no water pressure, making it hard to shower.

The staff was helpful and friendly. The location next to the beach is good. The fridge in the room worked okay.

It is a much better value over all to stay in Gulf Shores. The beaches are less crowded and of a higher quality, and the hotel values are much better.

I would value the room at closer to $130/night.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I do apologize that you encountered a sub par level of service. I assure you that superior service by our staff is our goal every day. We do value your feedback as it will help us to better our property for the future. We hope that the next time you're in town you'll come back and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

My complaint isn't as much about the hotel, but the people that stay here. We stayed five nights and every night was full of unruly children running up and down the halls endlessly. The hotel staff does nothing to stop the noise nor do they seem to care that it bothers anyone. Side note - The pool is way too small for a hotel of this size and the air conditioners in the rooms do not work well at all during the heat of the day.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Emily,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent visit. However, we apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We will perform a thorough examination of our air conditioners and make sure there’re all are working. We hope you do at least consider us the next time you’re in town.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The negative: the Internet connection here is frustrating and blows, and its hard to get a phone signal. Ice machine on my floor was broken. No more free drinks, but if you tell the front desk it's still on their website, they will honor it and give u drink coupons.

The good: GREAT location, EXTREMELY close to the beach, it takes 90 seconds to walk from their pool to the beach! The fancier hotels have a 5 min walk! Breakfast is awesome but you have to arrive no later than 9am for a table or you'll have to wait 5-10 mins. Clean rooms. Bed is awesome.

Overall I was recommend this place as long as you are not paying more than $200 a night avg, anything over this amount, I don't see value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your awesome experience regarding your stay with us. We are overjoyed you loved our location, breakfast, and our staff which all contributed to your great vacation on SPI. However, we do apologize about our internet and ice machine. We are currently addressing these inconveniences and will follow up on them. Thank you for choosing La Copa Inn. We hope to see you back in the near future for another great time in SPI.

Best,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The website advertised a free breakfast and happy hour, but they discontinued the happy hour and haven't updated their site. The free breakfast was better than most, with made to order omelettes and waffles cooked by the staff (along with the standard cereal, toast, bagels, etc.). We never had to wait for a table to eat breakfast.

The rooms were clean, but maid service came after we'd come back from Schitterbahn (around 4 PM). The first time they knocked I was in the shower, so my son turned them away. They came back about an hour later and cleaned the room while we were there. The floors in the rooms are tile, so sand was an issue in the sheets, but they changed them daily.

We didn't use the pool, but the boardwalk to the beach was wonderful. Easy access to the beach was excellent. Many hotels in the area didn't have any beach access. The location of the hotel was out of the major traffic areas, so it was easy to come and go. Parking was only in the front of the building and was tight (not a lot of spaces), but we didn't mind walking from the far spaces.

Given the opportunity, we would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

the beds were comfy and the beach was nice. their pool was a little small and often crowded. One of the elevators went out when we were leaving and it took us 30minutes to get down. We had sandy sheets one night but for the most part the rooms were kept clean. The pull out sofa was springy and very uncomfortable. The breakfast was good and free which was nice but usually had to wait for a table. The hallways are not air-conditioned and were hot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Hi Sara R,

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay. We’re very sorry your stay with us wasn’t everything you expected. We do our utmost to exceed every guest expectations and fulfill their satisfaction. We apologize we couldn’t deliver on that note for you and your spouse. We hope you will at least still consider us for the next time you visit SPI and give us another shot.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Copa Inn Beach Hotel

Address: 350 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Copa Inn Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel South Padre Island, Texas. Our beachside hotel across from Queen Isabella Causeway offers an affordable vacation experience in South Padre Island, with five-star resort amenities. We have Spacious Hotel Rooms all with balconies and most with ocean view. All of our rooms feature Tempur-Pedic® mattresses, HD Flat Screen TV with premium cable channels, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron and iron board, hair dryer and in-room safe. Other conveniences include complimentary High-speed Internet access and local calls. We have guest rooms for every taste, from standard king or queen beds to our three-room family suite. All rooms are nonsmoking. Our hotel offers an outdoor pool surrounded by a sundeck with a spa tub, chaise lounges, gazebos, and a walkway to the beach. Enjoy our Complementary Hot Full Breakfast buffet, featuring delicious "Belgian Waffles" and the most recent addition "Omelet Station." For your convenience we have complementary Wi-Fi High Speed Internet access available through the entire hotel. A staffed activities desk to assist in planning excursions, coordinate sports-equipment rentals, and sell discounted tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Copa Inn Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Padre Island
Best Western La Copa Hotel
South Padre Island La Copa Inn
La Copa Inn Beachfront Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.