We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Copa Inn Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Copa Inn Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   350 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Discount
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“ok but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

the beds were comfy and the beach was nice. their pool was a little small and often crowded. One of the elevators went out when we were leaving and it took us 30minutes to get down. We had sandy sheets one night but for the most part the rooms were kept clean. The pull out sofa was springy and very uncomfortable. The breakfast was good and free which was nice but usually had to wait for a table. The hallways are not air-conditioned and were hot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Hi Sara R,

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay. We’re very sorry your stay with us wasn’t everything you expected. We do our utmost to exceed every guest expectations and fulfill their satisfaction. We apologize we couldn’t deliver on that note for you and your spouse. We hope you will at least still consider us for the next time you visit SPI and give us another shot.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    109
    63
    36
    37
See reviews for
119
106
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were extremely pleased with this hotel. We showed up a day early, (due to my mistake). The front desk offered us a room with a discount. The breakfast was great, really recommend the omelets.
We didn't want room service, but I did stop a maid in the hallway and asked for more towels and trash bags, she brought to our room. Very nice.
There was no excessive noise or remodeling going on. I would recommend to anyone.
Our stay was from June 18-21, 2013

Room Tip: 4th floor has the most outstanding view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Emilie,

Thank you for your awesome review! We’re very pleased you and your family enjoyed your vacation and our amenities. We appreciate you taking the time to write this review and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The pictures posted online present a very nice, clean hotel worthy of the extra money they charge, relative to other hotels. The hotel was undergoing renovations upon our arrival, which is something that should have been communicated prior to our booking. The staff working the front desk was not entirely friendly, like at most other venues. The room we were given had a dirty bathroom with blood on the counter and hair in the shower. When confronted with these issues, the staff up front was uncaring and rude. The manager was already gone for the day and I was informed that I could speak with him the next morning at 8 A.M. Upon arriving at the front dest at 7:59, I was told by the same staff that he sometimes comes in late. An hour later, after discovering that neither of the treadmills in the "work out center" were functional, I was able to greet the manager when he walked through the doors. When I explained the difference between the advertised amenities and the true condition of the hotel, he continued to repeat that, "the renovations are necessary to make the hotel nicer." He was unable to grasp that at the premium they were charging, we expected to have working amenities and premium service. Even the jacuzzi had been taped off for improvements that would not be finished during our stay.

As far as positives of La Copa go, they did have temporpedic mattresses, which was nice, and they're right off the beach. Given the price point of La Copa, it's well worth it to spend a little extra and stay at the local Hilton. Otherwise, save your money and go to somewhere cheap like a motel 6 and get similar service and amenities.

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We’re sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here in mid May following our son's wedding in Brownsville. We were looking for a comfortable and affordable respite and could not have been happier. At $50 a night we were pleasantly surprised to find a large, clean 2 queen bed room with frig and micro wave. We enjoyed a great breakfast with made to order omelets and lots of options if you didn't want to wait in line....great view from the breakfast room! The location on the beach was perfect and seemed to be in the center of everything we wanted to do. We didn't spend anytime at the hotel pool and only visited the bar to collect our one free drink per day, so I can't really comment on this except to say that this was a nice perk to our room! Every person we came in contact with was accommodating especially when we needed to change our reservation and I was only charged an additional $20 over the internet rate! We will definitely return and are telling all our Iowa friends about this wonderful vacation opportunity!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear guest,

We are thankful you took the time to submit a kind review for us and fellow Trip Advisors users. It was an honor to accommodate you as you enjoyed yourself with our amenities. We are thrilled to read you loved everything about our hotel including our huge breakfast, beautiful location, and spacious rooms. Thank you choosing La Copa Inn and we are looking forward to seeing you for another wonderful vacation.

Bests,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This was out third time visiting this property. Our previous visits were pleasant. This time around not so great.
Well, I will start with the "bad" we got a large room facing the pool/ocean on ground floor. One would think good,huh? Well it was VERY loud at night. Like at all hours of the night. Appearantly, the pool is closed at 1000. (haha) BUT guests are allowed to sit around the pool and drink their own liquor.We have two kids and are use to noise. However, this noise could not be drowned out with television and fan on. I mean girls screaming to the point you were concerned for their safety. Oh and on our second night at 4 am, another guest lit a firework and set off the fire alarms. When informing the front desk, I got a oh well attitude-apathetic at best.
The positive is remodel of lobby to include gift shop. The location is great and rooms are huge with microwave and fridge. Breakfast is free and you will wait, ecspecially on weekends.
If you get a good rate, give it a whirl. Just be aware of back rooms toward pool-noisy if that is concerning for you/or you are a light sleeper. For some (young guests) it might be a plus!! Also if problems arise do not expect high level of support from the front desk.
I have always found the prices to be best directly booking on the property website.

Room Tip: For a quieter room steer clear of rooms near the back-pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your continuing patronage and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are disappointed to hear of your experience at our hotel. While the lack of service you experienced is unusual and not the standard of our hotel, there is no excuse for it. We are sorry for the inconvenience and annoyance this incident caused.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Paid high season price for this horrible room. The bed was very good and that's the only good thing we can say. Free drinks were not. They don't even have a real bar. Not very clean and No...nada...zippo extras. In room. Ughhhhhh NEVER AGAIN we asked for a better room, no was the answer. Trashy feeling all around for almost 500 for 2 nights .

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very sad to read about your experience staying with us. All of your concerns will be addressed and we apologize you didn't feel satisfied with your stay. Thank you for informing us of your experience you had at our hotel. We hope to service you in the future and again sorry for the inconveniences.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I'd like to say that I actually stayed here, but this review is of my attempt to both book a room, and then because of an accident on the way there, my frustration in cancelling the room. If you don't want to read a lengthy review, let me just say that this is absolutely the most frustrating hotel experience I've ever had, and it seems that they just don't care.

Because we had dogs with us, we booked by phone, months in advance because their online booking isn't clear about their pet policy. After numerous tries to reach by phone, we finally booked a room for 2 nights. I requested an email confirmation, but never received it. This was my second clue about how they do business. But hope springs eternal, and we proceeded with the trip.

Personal circumstances caused us to cancel our plans, so we started calling them to let them know we had to cancel. This was well before noon. Here's an idea: ANSWER YOUR PHONE, LA COPA!! We called countless times, verified the phone number to make sure we weren't misdialing. This hotel doesn't answer. Finally, at 7pm, someone picked up the phone. She claims that they had 'high call volume'. I'm calling BS on that! They were rude beyond description.
But wait, there's more! At 2am, my phone rings, and it's their night clerk wondering if we are still coming in! What? After the earlier calls, the desk clerk failed to cancel the reservation. Brilliant!! And now this moron is calling me at 2am, and then proceeds to hang up on me when I explained that I had already cancelled. Not an apology, not even a veiled attempt at any level of customer service. So, now that I am awake, I decided to dial him back. That was at 2am on a Sunday morning. I am writing this review 36 hours later, and they still haven't answered their phone, after more than 20 attempts. I dare you-- if you don't believe me, call them. See if they answer. They won't, trust me. They are perfect candidates for Hotel Impossible. This place needs a service makeover.

I wouldn't consider staying here. Camping in a tent on the beach seems like a preferable alternative.

La Copa should be rebranded as La Crappa.

I understand that the GM is someone named Nuvia. Repeated attempts to reach Nuvia have failed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear guest,

We can’t be more ashamed after reading this review. We are extremely sorry you had to deal with any of these inconveniences. We apologize for the telephone complications, however, we do handle a large amount of phone calls throughout the day especially during this time of the year with each call varying in time. Nevertheless, we are working on this to minimize experiences like yours. We are also very sorry for such a late phone call during the night. Our front desk should know better and not have called you so late. We have taken action and can assure you this won’t happen again. We are certain you will have different perception if you had stayed at our hotel with our new beautiful renovations to our hotel that is sure to please any guest.
I hope you at least consider staying with us the next time you visit South Padre Island.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Copa Inn Beach Hotel

Address: 350 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Copa Inn Beach Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel South Padre Island, Texas. Our beachside hotel across from Queen Isabella Causeway offers an affordable vacation experience in South Padre Island, with five-star resort amenities. We have Spacious Hotel Rooms all with balconies and most with ocean view. All of our rooms feature Tempur-Pedic® mattresses, HD Flat Screen TV with premium cable channels, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron and iron board, hair dryer and in-room safe. Other conveniences include complimentary High-speed Internet access and local calls. We have guest rooms for every taste, from standard king or queen beds to our three-room family suite. All rooms are nonsmoking. Our hotel offers an outdoor pool surrounded by a sundeck with a spa tub, chaise lounges, gazebos, and a walkway to the beach. Enjoy our Complementary Hot Full Breakfast buffet, featuring delicious "Belgian Waffles" and the most recent addition "Omelet Station." For your convenience we have complementary Wi-Fi High Speed Internet access available through the entire hotel. A staffed activities desk to assist in planning excursions, coordinate sports-equipment rentals, and sell discounted tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your La Copa Inn Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Padre Island
Best Western La Copa Hotel
South Padre Island La Copa Inn
La Copa Inn Beachfront Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.