We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Copa Inn Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Copa Inn Beach Hotel to your Saves list
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   350 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were able to get the King jacuzzi room for $79 a night. Excellent value on that. We spent a good deal of time in that hot tub. The bed was off the charts comfortable, I think it actually drained our energy it was so good. The pool was OK. It was missing the decorative lion heads for the spouts and was in otherwise OK repair. I would expect with all the money made from spring break they could afford to fix it up a little better. On that note they were in the process of retiling the lobby. Noise was not a problem for us as we were way down the hall by the bar and grill.
Has its own beach access which was nice.
I have to laugh when people complain that a place is doing construction while they are staying there. They have to do it sometime boys and girls! A hotel is like a hospital, it never closes. So while the lobby was torn up I didn't let it distract me from having a great time.

Room Tip: Go in the off season and get the king jacuzzi room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate you for writing us a review. We are especially glad you like your king Jacuzzi room, our beds, and the beach access. Thank you for being very understanding about the renovations that were going on at that time. We would love to see you back here again for another great time. Thank you for choosing La Copa Beach Inn.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    154
    82
    51
    53
See reviews for
186
160
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We went way off-season to this hotel. December. It was not busy and we found the staff to be attentive and helpful. The rooms and common areas were clean. The beach was very accessible.

We had a room that looks over the ocean. It was an off season groupon rate and it was an outstanding view. If the pool area was busy keeping the balcony door open or sitting out there would be noisy. Off season, it was quiet most of the time.

There are a couple great features of this place. First, it has fabulous access to the beach. Second, it has a heated pool. I guess this is important if you travel in the winter. We met a couple snowbirds who stayed there because of this.

The breakfast was good. You could even get your own omlet made to specs. The dining area was not as clean as it could be but it was adequate.

Free Wifi was available. Also there was usually someone around to give tourist advice in the lobby and discount coupons available for nearby restaurants and other activities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing a kindly worded review regarding your off-season La Copa experience. We are pleased to read you enjoyed our breakfast, easy access to beach, and heated pool. We are always happy to read guests who love our amenities. Please come visit us again next winter for another great time.

Bests,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I went to La Copa for a 3-day weekend with my significant other. I am not very happy with this hotel. First of all, they are doing construction in the main lobby. This means we had to drag our luggage over a dirty concrete floor that was only partially tiled. The uneven flooring surface was a disaster waiting to happen. The ceiling was also being stripped of the popcorn and the halls had recently been painted. I think they should have shut down the hotel to do these renovations, since we had to meander around ladders and workers.
Next, the water pressure was so low that the toilet stopped up the first morning of our visit. I'm surprised it even flushed that long. When we went down to tell them it was blocked, they didn't even apologize. The girl just walked over and called a plumber and ignored us. She didn't seem to even care.
The bathroom was not very clean. There was a smear of bright turquoise toothpaste on the white counter.
The balcony was extra tiny. There were two small chairs on it and if you sat down in one of them, your legs would be smashed against the railing. We paid extra to have a balcony view, but if I had known it was so skimpy I would have skipped it. Ask for an "extended balcony" if you want a normal-sized balcony.
Remember to also ask for your happy hour drink coupons. They didn't give us ours and we had to find out in a roundabout way that we needed to go back and ask for them. We skipped the free breakfast and stayed away from the hotel as much as possible.

Room Tip: I'd go with a large room with a tile floor. Those seemed cleaner and you get more space to move...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review it’s greatly appreciated. We are sorry for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us. There is no excuse for the problems you faced and we can assure this these matters will be taken care of. The renovations should be complete within the next few weeks, and we beg that you come and take a look, and perhaps give us one more chance. Again, we deeply apologize for not fulfilling your satisfaction.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTIN
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Unfortunately, the hotel was being updated while we were there. It was loud, dusty, and disruptive. Several days we had to go out a side door and hike to the parking lot. There were very few English speaking employees making it hard to communicate. The channels available on the TV were also about half Spanish and the ones that spoke English we never watch. The beds were hard and uncomfortable. The rooms themselves were nice and clean with refrigerators and microwaves. The bath was clean but outdated and chipped. Our couch was broken/sprung. Every morning breakfast was served up on the 4th floor in the ballroom. Excellent food - especially the made-to-order omelets. Again, most employees were non-English speaking - but they could sure cook!! The pool area was nice, but several of the lights/fountains/fixtures were broken and missing. The hot tub was VERY loud. There is a walkway to the beach from the pool area. This walkway is also a public entrance to the beach so there were always many cars in the parking lot for the non-staying beach goers. This meant many of the guests were parking further off from the hotel entrance (when you could go in the front door because of the remodeling). The ice machines were constantly out of ice or broken.
If you choose to go to another beach, beach access #5 is nice and you can drive out to the beach. Take your chairs, umbrella, and cool box. Free beach assess can also be found off of Gulf Blvd (runs parallel to Padre Blvd.), many with close parking and bathrooms. With your stay, you also get a happy hour drink at their in-house bar/restaurant located at the pool area. When we got our drink the first day, the beer tasted like pickle juice. We told the bar employees and they just smiled and shrugged. We also told the Manager, and the place was closed for the last 3 days of our stay due to mechanical problems - we don't know what that meant... We did wash a small amount of clothes with the washer and dryer on the first floor. It was expensive - $2.00. The dryer was not working well and took 2 times to mostly dry our clothes ($4.00). We stayed here for a week - Saturday to Saturday. The weekdays are quiet with the beach not crowded. The weekends get crazy with lots of partying and loud guests.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a dog, negotiate the extra price they charge you per night. We asked for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Franksie,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast, however, we do apologize that you encountered a sub par level of service. I assure you that superior service by our staff is our goal every day. We do value your feedback as it will help us to better our property for the future. We hope that the next time you're on the island you'll come back and stay with us again!

Thanks,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon
Level Contributor
272 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Check in was slow, several things needing repair in room(phone didn't work, lights out) but when brought to their attention they were speedy to resolve. Same w housekeeping, slow on first day but we let them know when they should do our room and then they were good. Breakfast ok, nice if they would have hard eggs and yogurt. Parking: I have handicap placard and frequently found all space full and several cars w/ o handicap placard. They need to police that better. Pool area nice, great beach access, room spacious.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn on South Padre island. We apologize for the first day inconveniences. Thank you for being understanding. With that said, we are glad you enjoyed our breakfast, pool, your room, and beach. We are delighted you had a good stay with us. Thank you for writing a review and we hope to see you here again.

Bests,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here for four days for my girlfriends birthday and I must say we enjoyed ourselves. The location was good easy access to the beach and the view was great. A huge plus was the celing fan in the room you don't see those in hotels very often. However I didn't receive any happy hour drinks nor was it brought to my attention luckily there's a liquor store in walking distance so we had our own happy hour! It was quite a few kids to be in the middle of the week during the school week but there wasn't a problem.Overall a good stay and I would stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you choosing La Copa Inn for your girlfriend's birthday and taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay with us. We are thrilled you had enjoyed yourself, loved the views, and liked your room. Thank you for your nice comments and we hope to see you back soon.

Bests,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just visited South Padre and stayed at La Copa. The first impression upon entering the lobby was that this place is outdated (don't always go on first impressions).This hotels has excellent access to the beach, the rooms are very nice with up to date furnishings & firm but comfortable queen size beds. The rooms are clean with nice fresh linens & soft towels. There are clean refrigerators & microwave in the rooms. The view from our room was nice we could see the beach. The free breakfast was very nice & plentiful. The only draw backs were that this is not a place you would want to stay if you are not into kids, they were everywhere and small pool! Overall a really nice hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your honest review of your stay at La Copa Beach Inn. Our staff will be happy to note that you enjoyed your room, beds, and our cleanliness atmosphere that contributed to your great stay with us. Thank you for choosing La Copa and we hope to see you back the next time you visit South Padre Island.

Best,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#2 of 33 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 902 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#8 of 33 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 1,072 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#12 of 33 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#1 of 33 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#4 of 33 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 887 reviews
2.1 mi away
Knights Inn South Padre Island
Knights Inn South Padre Island
#14 of 33 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Copa Inn Beach Hotel

Address: 350 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Copa Inn Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel South Padre Island, Texas. Our beachside hotel across from Queen Isabella Causeway offers an affordable vacation experience in South Padre Island, with five-star resort amenities. We have Spacious Hotel Rooms all with balconies and most with ocean view. All of our rooms feature Tempur-Pedic® mattresses, HD Flat Screen TV with premium cable channels, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron and iron board, hair dryer and in-room safe. Other conveniences include complimentary High-speed Internet access and local calls. We have guest rooms for every taste, from standard king or queen beds to our three-room family suite. All rooms are nonsmoking. Our hotel offers an outdoor pool surrounded by a sundeck with a spa tub, chaise lounges, gazebos, and a walkway to the beach. Enjoy our Complementary Hot Full Breakfast buffet, featuring delicious "Belgian Waffles" and the most recent addition "Omelet Station." For your convenience we have complementary Wi-Fi High Speed Internet access available through the entire hotel. A staffed activities desk to assist in planning excursions, coordinate sports-equipment rentals, and sell discounted tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Copa Inn Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Padre Island
Best Western La Copa Hotel
South Padre Island La Copa Inn
La Copa Inn Beachfront Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.