We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 11 day stay was the Best!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Copa Inn Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Copa Inn Beach Hotel to your Saves list
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   350 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Discount
Prince Albert
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our 11 day stay was the Best!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Right from the time of booking in December, Gustavio was very helpful along with Monico, Amanda & Brenda who were very helpful ever time we needed help when we arrived. Our February stay was delightful. 4 of us stayed in a suite where we were able to prepare our lunches. There could have been more utensils, but we did bring some of our own. Free Breakfast had an omlette bar and it was so popular we had to wait at least 20 minutes to order, but worth the wait. The breakfast staff were very cheerful. Parking was Free and plenty of.
Alma was the best....she not only put the "H" in "H"appy hour, but also organized "Ruthie" and a Valentine's Day dance. Sure like my 'Sippy' Cup Alma! Good luck at Spring break. Housekeeping were very friendly and did their job. We will not return, but definately recommend to stay. Beaches were long and the sand is like brown flour. Buses are free and take you around the Island. It was windy most of the time, but the sun shone brightly too. Thank you La Copa Inn!

Room Tip: Bring your own cooking utensils if you are staying in a 'suite'....fry pan, pot, etc. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear MaryMerry201,

We are very grateful you have shared your experience with us. We are very happy to know you chose to stay with us during your visit to South Padre Island. Our staff is thrilled you had indeed enjoyed our hotel, the omlette bar, and our amenities which created a fantastic vacation for you.
We were happy to make your day and hope to see you again. Thank you again for your endless gratitude.

Thanks,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    116
    65
    37
    38
See reviews for
126
113
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Parking spots were difficult since we had a person with a wheelchair with us-there were never any accessible spots available.
Room was nice, balconies are very small! We found a raisin on the floor near the couch! Pretty sure that was what it was...
Breakfast was WONDERFUL!
Customer service at the front desk was exemplary!

Room Tip: We were charged for a beach view room, but we would have to lean out and see the beach through the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Trepaa,

We appreciate you choosing La Copa Inn and taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to note that you enjoyed our breakfast and customer service. We are very sorry you found a raisin on the floor and can assure you this will not happen again. Overall, we are glad you had a pleasurable experience at La Copa Inn during your visit to South Padre Island. Come visit us again in the near future.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pillager, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just returned from a week on South Padre Island. La Copa Inn was a wonderful place to stay! We had 24 family members staying there. Everything was great!! The staff was very accommodating! Anything we needed, from an extension cord to a room for a birthday party, one night they even offered the employee breakroom for us to play cards (the other public rooms were full!) The rooms were very nice and always clean. The pool was great and the walkway to the beach was convenient! We would for sure stay there again, and again! Thanks to Brenda, Purvi, Amanda, Danielle and Edwardo and also Jesus!! Very friendly staff!! Also, a big thank you to the breakfast staff, the omelets were wonderful! The free "happy hour" drink tickets were an added bonus! Great value, great location!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear KorlifF,

Thank you for your nice words and taking the time to leave us a review. Our staff will be delighted to hear you found them very accommodating during the birthday party and for your 24 family members. We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast omelets, our pool, and the boardwalk to the beach. We hope to see you back soon for another great time in South Padre Island.

Best,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Outstanding customer service at this hotel made the pre-trip planning and 5 day stay amazing. Loved the fact that la copa does not roll reservation inquiries over to a call center 1/2 way across the country. Numerous employees went above and beyond to answer questions and accommodate our trip needs. Monaco was the man who managed to make our stay seamless and even called the day of our arrival with great news of additional rooms becoming available. Amanda, Rauel, and Gustavo and even the housekeeping staff who serviced room 322 all managed to make our stay superb and managed to make La Copa a cut above the other hotel options we had looked at. The February stay made for some unpredictable weather but the heated pool and hot tub and the spotless pool deck were all very welcoming. The full breakfast buffet was over the top and the ladies were great about trying to keep up with hungry demands of the guests. Very short walkway to the beach was awesome. Great access when compared to the walkways and beach access of other hotels we saw along the shore. Definitely would stay at La Copa again and recommend it to friends. Very grateful to the staff for making South Padre so welcoming.

Room Tip: First floor rooms experience lot of hallway traffic. Pets are allowed for a fee at this hotel. Many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hello TravelShadow,
Thank you very much for staying at La Copa during your visit to South Padre Island, and for sharing your experience with us and other valued Trip Advisor readers. It was a great pleasure for me to read that you loved our hotel and enjoyed your stay. I would also like to thank you for highlighting the overall cleanliness of our rooms, the superb service provided by our staff, and the great breakfast. We are happy, that we contributed to your enjoyable visit to South Padre Island, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upham, North Dakota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Thank you to everyone for a great stay and a clean hotel at South Padre Island. We had lots of family staying at your hotel and all of the staff were very accomadating to all of us. I broke the coffee carafe in our room and they came within seconds to clean it up without making a fuss. Didn't even expect me to pay for it!! Special thanks to Brenda!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hello Julie,
Thank you for your very kind comments and taking the time to review us. It is a great pleasure to read that you and your family had a great time at La Copa during your stay at South Padre Island. Our staff will be happy you noted the cleanliness of our hotel and the excellent service we provided. Once again thank you for choosing La Copa and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Very clean, very comfortable, nice beds.....breakfast was amazing!! The access to the beach is very good....would definately stay here again...although next time I will make sure I have a beach view...not the small view we had if we stretched our neck way out over the balcony!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for choosing La Copa Inn during your visit to South Padre Island, and for taking the time to share with us your very kind feedback regarding your stay. It was a pleasure for me to note that you liked our location, breakfast, bed, and you had a fun time in South Padre Island. We are happy, that our service has contributed to your enjoyable visit to South Padre, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moira NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

MY Wife & I spent presidents week at the La Copa In SPI (both for the 1st time) and had a great time. Though off season the hotel was full and staff did not miss a beat. Free breakfast selection was great and dining area clean. We had a king jacuzzi room which cuts down on room for sitting and relaxing in your room but at SPI & 80 degrees / sunny who wants to be inside! The bed was best hotel bed I ve ever encountered. Fridge & M'wave served the purpose and TV was standard flat screen w /cable. WiFi network is free & available through out the hoetel & pool area, but cuts out w/o notice while using apps. Jacuzzi Tub worked fine and met expectations. Outdoor heated pool & hot tub were excellent and pool area was in good condition! Loaction on the strip is good, plenty of good dining and drinking within a 5 minute walk or use SPI city bus service. 2 minute walk from pool area to the beach via board walk makesw beach access easy! Seriously thinking of a repeat visit in 2/14!

Room Tip: Stay on 2nd - 4th floor. King Jacuzzi room a little small but it still gets a thumbs up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hi Jon, thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your stay with us. We are pleased to hear you and wife had a splendid president’s week and everything meet your expectations. Our staff has enjoyed our company and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Copa Inn Beach Hotel

Address: 350 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Copa Inn Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel South Padre Island, Texas. Our beachside hotel across from Queen Isabella Causeway offers an affordable vacation experience in South Padre Island, with five-star resort amenities. We have Spacious Hotel Rooms all with balconies and most with ocean view. All of our rooms feature Tempur-Pedic® mattresses, HD Flat Screen TV with premium cable channels, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron and iron board, hair dryer and in-room safe. Other conveniences include complimentary High-speed Internet access and local calls. We have guest rooms for every taste, from standard king or queen beds to our three-room family suite. All rooms are nonsmoking. Our hotel offers an outdoor pool surrounded by a sundeck with a spa tub, chaise lounges, gazebos, and a walkway to the beach. Enjoy our Complementary Hot Full Breakfast buffet, featuring delicious "Belgian Waffles" and the most recent addition "Omelet Station." For your convenience we have complementary Wi-Fi High Speed Internet access available through the entire hotel. A staffed activities desk to assist in planning excursions, coordinate sports-equipment rentals, and sell discounted tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Copa Inn Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Padre Island
Best Western La Copa Hotel
South Padre Island La Copa Inn
La Copa Inn Beachfront Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.