We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do it yourself” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Copa Inn Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Copa Inn Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   350 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Discount
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Do it yourself”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Staff are friendly;rooms are average...kids galore.
Stayed there late Sept., Fri. And Sat..... 4 adults....no restaurant...microwaved food in their "restaurant",,,breakfast buffet style..cereal, fruit, makings for breakfast tacos
I purchased travelzoo vouchers so the cost was minimal .... Had I paid their standard rates I would give it two stars. No one to assist with luggage, very very small balconies on the pool/gulfside, pool was not available for adults due to the number of children.
The one thing that I would rate five star was the bed...memory foam mattresses!

Room Tip: Get a "suite" if you want a decent sized balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barryspi, Owner at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank for your comments. We take your comments constructively and look to improve on the items you mentioned. We have added an omelette station to our complimentary breakfast bar , and are planning to extend our pool deck pending some permitting hurdles. I do hope you will give us a second look in the coming year as we add more improvements to our hotel.
Thank You.
Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    111
    64
    37
    38
See reviews for
123
109
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Hotel staff were extremely friendly and thoughtful. Our room was spacious (2 queens/beach view) and very clean. Plus there is a nice pool area and easy access to the beach. The complimentary breakfast was very good...made to order omlettes! The hotel isn't 5 star but it's really a nice value. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone going to SPI!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hi Jackie! We would like to thank you for selecting La Copa Inn and leaving your well valued review. We are thrilled you had a great experience here and hope to see you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed at the La Copa Inn on the beach in SPI recently. The hotel is right on the beach. Nice pool and hot tub area and a boardwalk to the beach. Our room was clean, nice beds, enjoyed having a small seating area with loveseat and a couple of chairs. Patio had 2 chairs, but small area, best to sit at the pool, as most rooms have a side view. Given option of what floor and requested 4th floor for better viewing. The breakfast was better than average, served eggs, beans, and tortilla's, along with your cereals and fruit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hello Carol! We appreciated you taking the time to leave kind comments and furthermore thank you for choosing La Copa Inn. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your room, pool, and breakfasts. We hope to see you again here and once again thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Thanks to the Promoter of the event and the reason we were in S.Padre...the accommodations were great. You have to love a room that does not have carpet in it (tile), not that it would make any sense being so close to the beach. All balconies are on the N or S sides of the hotel, you can see the beach (leaning out from your balcony) but as far as beach view rooms-none. Memory foam mattresses, wonderfully soft comforter, mini fridge & microwaves, plenty of room and the rooms smell great too! Large baths with large towels. Morning breakfast goes fast, but the homemade waffles (by staff) were great & lg. portions. Tip jar for the breakfast room staff, so leave something for them. Clean, well-staffed, would stay again. DO take a walk down the wooden walkway from the hotel to the beach in the early morning for some great sunrise pictures....

Room Tip: Stay off the first floor, too much traffic, quieter on the third.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We are glad you have enjoyed your stay at La Copa Inn and that the accommodations were as expected. It was a pleasure to our staff to have had you. Thank you again for choosing La Copa Inn and we hope see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Love the beds. They are so comfortable. The hotel was clean and everyone was friendly and helpful. The breakfast area was crowded though. The hotel has a convenient boardwalk to the beach. Great hotel for the price!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Starla33,

Thank you for choosing La Copa and taking the time to share your experience. We are very happy to know you loved our comfortable beds and our friendly staff. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see your again soon.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This hotel is an average stay. The breakfast is average (scrambled eggs, tortillas, waffles, bagels and toast, re-fried beans, apples, oranges, bananas, muffins, juices, and coffee). The hallways are not air-conditioned. My room had two queen beds.The room was big and has beds along with a little sitting area with two chairs and a small sofa). The room itself is fine however, the bathroom is a different story. When I first arrived, the toilet bowl was not as clean as one would expect it to be. If you want maid service, you have to put a little door hanger on your door handle. I thought the bathroom would be cleaned a bit better after the maid had left but when I came back it hadn't changed much. Like I said before, this hotel is average but the only good thing about it is that it is along the beach and has beach access. This is definitely a plus. The hotel also gave us complimentary happy hour (3-6pm) drink passes per person. The choices for this complimentary drink are limited: draft beer, margarita on the rocks, wine, or soft drink. The margarita on the rocks was more water than margarita on the rocks. Also, do not call the front desk and ask for something to be brought to your room. We requested towels to be brought to our room but they were never brought. Your best bet would be to just go to the front and get them yourself. Furthermore, upon arrival we asked the front desk what time breakfast would be served and his answer was "I don't know." But it appears to be 7-10 am. In conclusion, it is an average stay with an average breakfast, alright room, and a big plus is the beach access.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review. We are delighted to note that you had a great stay with us during your visit to South Padre Island. We are glad you found your room comfortable and roomy and had a good breakfast in the morning. We hope you choose us again the next time you visit South Padre Island.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Had a great time in South Padre Island. The hotel is clean and had good beach access. Room is comfortable and roomy. Breakfast was good but they could use a bigger area. Parking lot is a little small, but we never had any problem finding a spot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Copa Inn Beach Hotel

Address: 350 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Copa Inn Beach Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel South Padre Island, Texas. Our beachside hotel across from Queen Isabella Causeway offers an affordable vacation experience in South Padre Island, with five-star resort amenities. We have Spacious Hotel Rooms all with balconies and most with ocean view. All of our rooms feature Tempur-Pedic® mattresses, HD Flat Screen TV with premium cable channels, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron and iron board, hair dryer and in-room safe. Other conveniences include complimentary High-speed Internet access and local calls. We have guest rooms for every taste, from standard king or queen beds to our three-room family suite. All rooms are nonsmoking. Our hotel offers an outdoor pool surrounded by a sundeck with a spa tub, chaise lounges, gazebos, and a walkway to the beach. Enjoy our Complementary Hot Full Breakfast buffet, featuring delicious "Belgian Waffles" and the most recent addition "Omelet Station." For your convenience we have complementary Wi-Fi High Speed Internet access available through the entire hotel. A staffed activities desk to assist in planning excursions, coordinate sports-equipment rentals, and sell discounted tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your La Copa Inn Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Padre Island
Best Western La Copa Hotel
South Padre Island La Copa Inn
La Copa Inn Beachfront Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.